First frost

I suppose it’s lucky to get to November 15 without any frost but still. There it was this morning, all twinkly and innocent – and cold as feck.

Ransacking the car in an unsuccessful search for an ice scraper, giving up and using a rubbish CD case…. Urrgh.

But on that wintry note, I was handed this award by lovely Jess.

She said she was looking forward to my ranting about the dreaded nasty cold stuff, which I’m hoping won’t fall this winter. I’m all for the power of denial but if it does happen, it’s a guarantee that I’ll be whinging about it frequently 🙂

For the award, you have to reveal seven random things about yourself, thank the person who gave it to you (thank you very much Jess!) then nominate more people. So first things first:

1) I tend to ramble on a lot in writing. For proof, see below.

2) I was the lead singer in a band for about a year. It was called Bullshed (don’t ask) and we even recorded a song which went on iTunes (again, least said, soonest mended). I think the reason for our split would be described as “artistic differences”, ie three 40+ men who liked playing loud rock – and me. I still love singing though and have to be prised away from the microphone if there’s karaoke on offer.

3) When I was little, I was on the front page of the Observer (national Sunday paper). I’d qualified for some big chess tournament at the Barbican in London and had won the first game. It was just after Christmas which is, as I now know, the slowest of slow news weeks and the Observer, bless it, decided to use four pictures on the front (they weren’t to know at the time that I’d lose all my other games). Please pretend you can’t see the woolly snowflake jumper or the fact I was a hideous small child and just find it entertaining that my opponent, who I played against in a few tournaments at the time, was forever known in my family as Left Ear.

4) And as a child, I had some weird food habits. I had sandwiches without butter, I had cereal without milk and I distinctly remember satsumas on (dry) toast and potato sandwiches. Of course not much has changed; I still don’t have butter on bread or milk on cereal but I can confirm that the potato sandwiches/satsumas on toast are things of the past.

5) Jordan once crashed a picture of me. While I was working a Saturday shift for a Sunday paper, one December, I was sent to interview celebrities arriving at some comedy awards ceremony. The only problem was, I’m not really up on celeb gossip and don’t watch much TV so I made an arse of myself by saying to Harry Hill: “What’s with the teddy?!” He looked at me as if to say: “Do your research, you cretin” and walked off. Davina McCall did say she liked my coat though, which can be seen behind said pouty model, as the reporters were placed opposite all the photographers. She was far too grand to talk to us though and what I remember most is how fecking COLD it was 🙂

A reporter should always have a pen poised 🙂

6) I got targeted by scammers last year. They took out six mobile contracts with my name and address, meaning I got sent six phones in about three days. They’d hoped to pick them up before I got them but obviously didn’t realise I’m really good friends with the people at the Post Office – and by the time they tried to get the parcels, I’d got the phones, rung the companies concerned and sent them back. It ended up with a high-speed (on foot) chase through the village involving the postmistress and one of the scammers, who sped off in a waiting car (with fake plates). Because I live in an area covered by one of our papers, I wrote a story – and the editor not only insisted on a picture, he put it on the front. Thanks.

7) I’m knackered and this post’s so long, I’m going to leave it there – that’s a random fact about me innit?

So I now tag:

Sarah, Liz, Errign, Hannah and Shannon.

Thanks again Jess!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to First frost

  1. Thank you!!!! I can’t wait to fill this out!

    And I had no idea you’d had so many brushes with fame! 😉

  2. You are a singer too! Yes! I love meeting other singing food bloggers. Now that’s a specialty, isn’t it?

  3. Maria says:

    Wow what interesting facts! Being a journalist sounds very exciting, as does the chase for the scammers!
    Love that coat colour too.

  4. Your job sounds so interesting and so much fun. How lucky to meet all of those people in the public eye too…very exciting!

  5. Love all these random facts! Can’t believe they tried scamming you! I now what you mean about the cold and I love that you use the word feck, me too!

  6. Aw, thanks so much for tagging me with this award! 🙂 Thats so sweet! 🙂
    Loved all the random facts!

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    *snarl* the evil frost can naff off as far as I’m concerned 😉

    You’re random facts are so interesting! I wish I could even understand Chess, let alone play it to that level. And I used to eat potato sandwiches sometimes when I was little too! People eat chip sarnies all the time, so it’s not that strange (although I must admit the satsuma combination is certainly original!) In the photo of you and Jordan, you look better than she does. I mean that: she looks so plastic and artificial, compared to your natural beauty, quietly shining through in the background.

    The scammers episode sounds awful! Although the chase sounds very cool – I imagine it like a non-voilent episode of Midsomer Murders 😉

    I should thank you for producing such an amazing response to the award!

    xxx

    • Thank you; I don’t really play chess any more but I used to be right on it! I suppose chip sandwiches and potato sandwiches aren’t that different – but neither would appeal to me now (and yes, that satsuma thing was weird, I think I only did it the once but I have got a clear memory of it!)
      And thank you so much for the lovely compliment 🙂 xx

  8. This is such a fun award! Even though I was not tagged, I think I may copy it on my blog soon 🙂 Loved your random facts, it’s great getting to know the person behind the blog better

  9. Great facts – I love those photos of you on the front of the newspaper and the story about the scammers is brilliant 🙂
    Thanks for tagging me – I’ve got my thinking hat on to think of some interesting facts about me.

  10. Hannah says:

    Holy smokes, who knew you were such a celebrity?! Sports star (Chess is a sport, right?), entertainment star, solver of crimes…. I’m in awe. And hey, potato sandwich is just like the now-popular potato pizza, right? You were onto something 😛

    Thank you for the tagging! You’ve reminded me that I was awarded three awards/memes like this in January/February… oops! Let’s see if I remember this one once I’m home and not pulling 14 hour work days at this conference! 🙂

    • Haha, I like that definitetion; I’ll count myself as an athlete from now on! And I didn’t really solve the crime… but we can brush over that bit 🙂
      That’s a pleasure, look forward to yours 🙂

  11. lindsay says:

    i always love hearing random facts about people. It really helps me see so much more, even the funny little things. hehe.
    Love the chess picture!

  12. Errign says:

    Ooooh fun! I will definitely have to think up some fun facts since yours are probably the best I’ve seen! haha

  13. Ballin’ snowflake jumper. And I love “left ear,” that’s pretty much hilarious. Feeling you on the cold…I had to use a rewards card (like, the credit card-like cards you get for some stores) to scrape my windshield the other morning. Frost on hands? Not fun.

    • Haha thank you, I think my mum knitted it 😉
      And urggh, I hate windscreen-scraping and frosty hands are so not fun – my all-time favourite winter job at the yard has to be breaking the ice in the horses’ water troughs by hand and lifting out the ice – so, so painful!

  14. Pingback: More About Me… | Errign's Adventures

Thank you for commenting!

