Everlasting cookies?

A friend of mine said something on Twitter today about the possibility of “everlasting cookies”.

I’m sure 99.9% of those reading this (and that) would have realised that the link below his comment would lead to a screen of dense computerbabble. I of course, was one of those and didn’t feel a slight intrigue and a momentary (unfulfilled) expectation of monumental chocolate-chip deliciousness. Of course no one would be that stupid *ahem*.

These aren’t everlasting:

I’ve got conclusive proof of that in that I had a boxful on Sunday and one solitary one left now. They’re my contribution to:

This week’s 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies and Sweets, hosted by Brenda.

To be fair, this is a bit of a cheat as recipes go. I enjoyed the quinoa ones so much when  I first made them (and every time since!) that when I remembered how good some GF oat and honey cookies I had a few months ago were…. well it ain’t exactly rocket science to convert the original recipe to this:

50g rice flour

30g oats

20g brown sugar

3tbsp runny honey

2tbsp cashew butter

25g butter, softened

¼ tsp vanilla

¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda.

Preheat oven to 180C. Whisk the butter, peanut butter, honey, sugar and vanilla together till well mixed. Add the flour, oats and bicarbonate of soda and mix till well combined.

Drop spoonfuls on a lined sheet and bake for 10 minutes till golden.

Leave to cool on the sheet, then do this:

I know the saying is “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” but although the quinoa ones weren’t broke by a long chalk, these were delicious too. They came out slightly softer than the others so I think I’d increase cooking time by a minute next time (sounds stupid but those extra 60 seconds make all the difference!) and also, oats and honey are cheaper than quinoa flakes and maple syrup, respectively, so they even fit with the budget challenge.

Plus, they’re quick and easy to make and I like them 🙂

Sadly, I can’t make everlasting cookies. But I can make cookies that look like dinosaurs’ feet. Computerspeak can’t do that, can it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Everlasting cookies?

  1. Haha – I love the shape of that cookie.
    Everlasting cookies would be amazing – can he do ones that have no calories too 😉

  2. Maria says:

    They sound so yummy 🙂 And love the shapes too!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Um, I had to read this post twice before I ‘got’ the joke about the cookies. I was thinking of baked goods too *blushes*.

    I am with Sarah – let’s have everlasting calorie-free cookies for all!

    xxx

  4. Hannah says:

    Disregarding the fact that it gives me the collywobbles to think we can legitimately be discussing Christmas, I will say that these sound amazing! I prefer my chocolate straight-up and my cookies otherly flavoured, so yum!

  5. Alexandra says:

    Funky shaped cookies are the best!! These look delish 🙂
    I wish cookies were everlasting…that and peanut butter jars haha

  6. Honey always makes for such tasty cookies.

  7. They sound really delicious, I can imagine the cashew butter in them being amazing!

  8. They look really good. Can’t quite think about Christmas baking yet. Soon.

  9. These look lovely- shame that they don’t last forever though 🙂

  10. Haha, I would love a box of everlasting cookies! 🙂
    Thanks for this recipe, they look soo good!

  11. Everlasting? Not a good idea with delicious cookies like this!

  12. sue says:

    OH those look so good!

  13. I want a dinosaur foot cookie!!! 🙂

  14. It’s so weird, cookie just seem to magically vanish. Weird! Where could they have gone? Into my stomach, perhaps?

    I think I must make your delicious looking cookies, and see how long they last. For scientific purposes, of course. 😉

  15. Louanne says:

    Yeah – another gluten-free dessert! Your cookies look and sound amazing – especially love the dinosaur foot cookie 🙂

  16. amy41143 says:

    I love this – it really does look like a dinosaur foot! I love when my baked goods come out of the oven looking a little crazy, it gives it a “home-made” feel!

  17. Pingback: Green-fingered | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

