Clocking on

One thing about having horses on the weekend the clocks go back is that you don’t get the extra hour’s sleep.

I can imagine their faces if I’d turned up an hour late to give them their breakfasts; whatever the “offical” time was, they wouldn’t be happy. The bright side of that though is that (I’m sounding old now) you get an extra hour in the day, so I’d mucked out, ridden and got back home before 11am.

I couldn’t be bothered to make a proper breakfast before I went so it was porridge when I got back.

Grating the carrot more finely is a winner; not only does it cook more quickly, the texture’s better and it’s sweeter πŸ™‚

Then I went to Tesco. I don’t normally go there but I had a coupon for Β£5 off when you spend Β£40 so it would have been rude not to. I made sure I didn’t buy things just to get to Β£40, went round the shop adding up in my head – but I must have forgotten to take off the multibuy discounts (like buyΒ cauliflower, get broccoli free!) and when I got to the till, it was only Β£37. I had a slight panicked look as I explained to the lady I’d only come for the offer and could sense unrest in the queue… then a lovely old man behind me said I could put my shopping with his to make it up and he’d give me the cash – bless him, what a lovely thing to do πŸ™‚

Then, when I got home, I had a blonde moment.

I’ve had a few but this one was as if it had been soaked in peroxide.

It’s because I’m addicted to this:

In a money-saving frame of mind, I tried to make my own, using this recipe. I was going to add chopped pecans and a drizzle of melted chocolate and it was going to be great.

Unfortunately, just as I drizzled the chocolate on, I realised I hadn’t baked the caramel popcorn yet – and I didn’t think my chcocolate drizzle would be quite as inviting after it had been roasted. Just a thought.

So I just toasted the chopped pecans anyway, stirred them in and left it all to set.

And actually, it was really good. Chewier than the Asda one but just as nice and a fraction of the price. Not healthy in any way of course but you can’t have everything πŸ™‚

I also cooked three helpings of porridge together, to save time in the week, baked this week’s cake for the cafe and made some of my red pepper pesto for my mum and some crispy cashew polenta fingers for this week’s dinners:

And it was still only 4pm!

Black as the ace of spades an hour later of course but, again, ya can’t have everything πŸ™‚

How did you enjoy the extra hour?Β And talking of which, have you heard of the Government’s planΒ to keep it at British Summer Time next year? I think it would be a ridiculous thing to do, as it wouldn’t get light till gone 8am in winter – what’s your view?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Clocking on

  1. Maria says:

    I would much rather it was dark in the mornings and lighter in the evenings- several reasons really- 1 I have to get up anyway, so if it is dark (and in a weeks time it will be back to being dark when I get up) it does not make much difference to me, but in the evening I would rather have it lighter later. 2- road safety- there are several studies that show that when the evenings get darker many more children are injured/ killed, mainly because in the morning they go straight to school/ get dropped off, but in the evenings there is more movement- eg after school clubs, walking to shops and friends houses etc.
    So personally I love it πŸ™‚
    I think Scotland should have it’s own timezone as they are the ones who always stop it going through πŸ™‚

    • That’s really interesting; I didn’t realise studies showed there were more accidents in dark evenings; I’d have assumed dark mornings were more dangerous… makes sense when you put it like that though!
      I hate dark evenings too but I just think it would be so horrible if it was dark till 8am – if we could extend an hour at both ends of the day, that would be best πŸ™‚
      Good idea about Scotland too!

  2. I agree with Maria above, and was also discussing that perhaps Scotland should be a seperate timezone as it is them that it effects the worse. I have to go straight to work in the mornings so don’t get to enjoy the daylight of there is any, whereas in the evening I would!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Maria thinks very selflessly but I am selfish as per usual and don’t want it any darker in the mornings! It’s hard enough not to slip over on patches of ice while trying to run in the daylight. I am a morning person so would much rather have pitch black evenings, thanks very much!

    What a lovely gesture by that man at the tills – nice to know there are some generous people out there aside from bloggers, who are all amazing by default πŸ˜‰

    xxx

    • I know, bless him… I’d have been gutted if he hadn’t done that as the people in the queue definitely wouldn’t have waited!
      And urgh, I reckon we’ll have those pitch-black icy mornings back before too long, not good 😦

  4. I can only imagine how having horses would be like…having your own children?! πŸ™‚ That is so cool though. And all of your food here looks so good~The polenta sounds pretty amaaaazeeeng.

    • Haha, it is kind of like having kids – but at least you can leave them up at the yard and they don’t wake you up in the middle of the night!
      And thank you, I love the polenta fingers, and they’re so good to reheat for a quick dinner πŸ™‚

  5. Hannah says:

    Ahhhhhh! I would give away my shoes for that popcorn and the polenta strips!

  6. I have to admit, if I was being selfish I would rather have the lighter mornings and darker evenings for me! It was a bit weird yesterday when it got so dark earlier but I hate getting up in the dark, saying that I’m usually up so early it makes no difference! That popcorn sounds lush!

    • True; it won’t be long before we’re all getting up in the dark again anyway, uurggh! It’s very strange adapting to leaving work in the dark again too 😦
      And thank you, it was – was being the operative word!

  7. Awww that’s so nice of the man in line to help you reach the amount of the groceries!!!

  8. Ooo, polenta fingers?? I love polenta. I love fingers. Wait, what? Anywho, definitely have to try making those!

  9. The cashew polenta fingers sound really unusual and good!

  10. I like the lighter mornings, but it is a bit depressing when it goes dark at 5pm like it did tonight. In the middle of winter it’s only ever light when I’m sitting at my desk at work 😦 It must be really tiring to get up to see your horse … brrr!

    • I know, it’s horrible being in the office when it’s already dark outside, roll on spring!
      And yep, it definitely can be a bit fresh up the yard in the mornings; it’s been ok so far this year because it’s been so mild – but I’ve got a horrible feeling that won’t last!

  11. I do like the lighter mornings because that is when I tend to go for a run and it’s so scary when it’s quite dark out… but then again I am sad when it gets dark so early! Basically I am just not a fan of winter in any way at all 😦 haha

  12. I love getting an extra hour on the days the clocks change! Although I hate, hate, hate the fact that it gets dark so early. I work at 5 pm every day and it’s so depressing to drive to work in the dark and leave when it’s dark 😦

  13. That popcorn sounds delicious. And how nice of that man to do that at the supermarket for you! πŸ™‚

  14. That popcorn looks seriously amazing. Major drool-age going on here πŸ™‚ x

  15. Errign says:

    Time does change here until next weekend, but I’m looking forward to it. That popcorn sounds pretty amazinggggg.

Thank you for commenting!

