Honey Monster

I’ve said before that my mum is, in my opinion, one of the best cooks ever. When we were growing up, she not only made and decorated beautiful birthday cakes every year, she regularly baked loads of other stuff.

It’s a real idyllic childhood memory; coming back from a long day to my mum’s shortbread, flapjacks or cakes. Baking with her was something we did a lot, which, I think, is why I still love it now.

One of her all-time classics was honey cookies. Soft and chewy and delicious, I suddenly remembered them the other day – and thought they’d be perfect for this:

This week’s contribution to 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies and Sweets – check out the other delicious ideas!

My mum’s honey cookies: (makes 20 small ones)

40z plain flour, sieved (I used the Doves Farm gluten-free plain blend)

2oz butter, at room temperature

2oz brown sugar

1 egg yolk

1tbsp honey

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp vanilla

Pinch salt

Cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy. Add the egg yolk, mixed with the vanilla, very gradually (it has to be gradual or the mixture might curdle)

Mix half the sieved flour and the salt in with a wooden spoon to a soft paste, then add the rest of the flour and mix well. Bring together in a ball and chill for an hour.

Preheat oven to 180C and form the dough into balls. Flatten slightly and bake for 12-14 minutes, till  just browning round the outside. It’s important to bake them in the middle of the oven because, as you’ll know if you’ve ever fallen asleep on the beach, burnt bottoms ain’t good 🙂

They’ll still be soft when you take them out but will firm up as they cool.

I’d  never tried making these gluten-free but they were great; soft, chewy and delicious? Yep to all three! It’s weird because I’m not a huge fan of honey and never have been but these are brilliant. They took me straight back to our old house in St John’s Park, a good few years ago 🙂

They weren’t quite as good as my mum’s used to be – but of course they were never going to be 🙂

Did you used to bake at home? What’s a taste that takes you back straight away?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Honey Monster

  1. Ty says:

    I have a memory of baking chocolate chip cookies with my mom a few times, but she was never really a cook or baker.

    Starbucks coffee reminds me of her and blue cheese dressing reminds me of my dad.

  2. The cookies sound delicious…I might have to try them!

  3. I am a major major fan of honey, so I bet these are amazing!!! 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    Yum they look lovely. 🙂 My mum used to make the most amazing oat cookies- I think she soaked the oats in milk first, before they were added to the cookie mix, and they were sooooo good.

  5. Errign says:

    These sounds especially delicious! I love baking and cooking at home, because you can be so experimental!

  6. Kita says:

    Ive never had a honey cookie but I think its awesome that you are sharing your moms recipe with us and I bet she does make the worlds best cookie. 🙂

  7. laurie says:

    This looks like a great recipe!

  8. They look like perfect little cookies! My Mam is a brilliant baker and cake maker, she makes a lot of pies, quiches and scones as well as a great chocolate cake 🙂

  9. I never baked with my mom when I was younger, but certain things that she did bake do bring back memories of having it! These cookies look delicious 🙂

  10. I’ve never tried honey cookies before. I bet they are amazing!

  11. Those honey cookies look tasty!

  12. Honey is such a great flavor. Those cookies must have been so good.

  13. Pingback: Not quite – but nearly | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

