Carrot-fashion

It seems I’m in the grip of a slight obsession recently.

From porridge:

To cake:

And now to cookies:

It’s all about carrot cake. Carroty, spicy, citrus-y, I love it.

So I knew that for this week’s 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies And Sweets…

… there was only one way to go:

Carrot cake cookies:

60g brown sugar

2tbsp rapeseed oil

2tbsp milk

75g brown flour (I used GF brown blend)

15g cornflour

35g sorghum flour

50g carrot, very finely grated (use the tiny holes on the grater)

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp baking powder

Heaped 1/4 tsp ground mixed spice

1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix together the oil, sugar, milk and vanilla till well combined. Sieve the flours, spice and baking powder together and mix really well, then fold in the carrot. Bring together as a ball, wrap and chill for 30-45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 175C. Roll the dough out on a floured surface (and with a floured rolling pin, it’s sticky!) to about 1/8″ thick, cut out shapes and transfer to a lined baking sheet. Bake for seven minutes and leave to cool and harden on the sheet.

I wanted to make dairy-free cut-out cookies, so I took a basic oil-to-dry ingredientsratio from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar as a basis to work from. And although they weren’t specifically aimed at being healthy; they’re relatively low in fat, with wholemeal flour, and they’re vegan – and there’s vegetables involved…!

and they were great. Not quite as crispy as I’d hoped; they were fairly soft, but the thinner you roll them, the crispier thay’ll be. I’d have added some lemon zest if I had any but as I didn’t…

I mixed icing sugar enough with lemon juice to make a paste and drizzled it over – perfect.

And talking of carrot cakes, my mum loved hers yesterday. Owing to misinformation on the internet, we got there to find the film we wanted to see had started an hour before and the next one wasn’t for two hours – so we went back to hers and ate ratatouille in front of a film called Deja Vu – brilliant, if you haven’t seen it. So not quite what we’d imagined but all good anyway 🙂

Hope you like the Christmas cookies series – check out brilliant organiser Brenda’s blog for lots more delicious baking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Carrot-fashion

  1. Maria says:

    I love those cookies-I love carrot cake too! My cookies were quite soft too- more cakey, but then that was good as they were even more like carrot cake!

  2. I love all things carrot cake and those cookies look delicious! I just have to calculate the US equivilents. I also love horses! I have never actually ridden a horse but my husband and I are moving to New Mexico sometime in the next year and I hope to learn then. Love your blog! I will return!

    • Thank you so much! If I work out the quantities in cups, I’ll email you, they’re delicious!
      And wow, I hope you get the chance, you’ll love it… look forward to hearing about the move on your blog 🙂

  3. Your cookies sound great! I love carrot cake and I’m sure I would love these cookies too!!

  4. Nothing related to carrot cake could possibly be bad 🙂 Love!

  5. lindsay says:

    now we jusr need carrot raisin muffins and we’ll be set. Is that next?

  6. i must make something carroty soon/! i’m craving them in something sweet now!

  7. Those are great ways to incorporate carrots into your diet though!

  8. Those cookies look lovely, like you say I can imagine them being delicious with lemon zest in a well!

  9. Ahhh this makes me SO excited for holiday baking!! 🙂

  10. They sound great!! I love carrot-anything when it comes to baking..so this is perfect! I love the lemon icing, too. Kind of makes my think of these shortbread cookies my mom used to make with lemon icing. That stuff is delicious!

  11. Oooo these sound amazing…yum!

  12. Carrot cake cookies sound amazing, what a great idea! 🙂

  13. Errign says:

    I want these like whoa. These sound SO good.

  14. Hannah says:

    Oh, how fantastic! I never really make carrot-anything in terms of sweets, but these look wonderful! And safe for all my allergy-having family 🙂

  15. I love carrot cake! Although I still haven’t tried carrot cake porridge – I need to do that asap.
    The cookies sound really good – I love reading about your baking – it always sounds so yummy 🙂

  16. YUM. to all of the creations above!
    And these are chock full of carrots. Not like my meals, which have been consisting of white chocolate as of late. I can’t get enough, it’s getting a little ridiculous haha. Teach me your carrot ways.. I need a veg back in my life!

    • Thank you! It was quite good timing that I got into all this just as we got to carrot season 🙂
      And hee hee, maybe start with the porridge; so easy but so good! Although I agree with you on the white chocolate; I’m quite happy to stuff in quite a bit of that quite frequently too 😉

  17. Carrots are among my favorite vegetables 🙂 They are so good for you, and of course add tons of flavor to dishes! Lovin this recipe

  18. Pingback: Guest Post: Eating Like a Horse « Celery and Cupcakes

  19. Pingback: Mrs Beet-on | Eating like a horse

  20. Patricia Case says:

    HOW DO YOU MAKE YOUR CARROT PORRIDGE?

  21. Pingback: A bit different | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

