One good turn…

Something weird happened to me this afternoon.

I was driving along when I saw a Shetland pony loose at the end of a drive. I turned round, got out and managed to lead it back in by its mane. The gate wouldn’t shut so I posted it into a handy pen.

But as it didn’t look like it was supposed to be in there, I went to the house to tell them.

I could hear loads of dogs barking when I knocked and when the door opened, about six leapt out – and one of them bit my leg! Seriously, it sank its teeth in big time. The bloke hadn’t really noticed but I just sort of gasped “it bit me!” with tears in my eyes – and he wasn’t that bothered! I started telling him what I’d done and he was justΒ  casually saying: “Oh, I can’t have shut the gate properly” and “It’s a Jack Russell, you see”. I felt like saying I didn’t give a toss what breed it was, or why the gate had been left open πŸ™‚

In the end, he just sort of said: “sorry about that – er, thanks” – and I drove off – that’s what you get for doing a good turn!

I was so shocked, I had to share that… but this post is actually about jumping onΒ a bandwagon, a bit late even for me :

There is some sense in it though, as I get paid on the 14th. I’m always really budget-conscious and write down, to the Β£5, how much I’ve got but I’ve spent a lot this week (exciting reason to come!) so I need to rein it in a bit more than usual.

I’m lucky in that, through work, I can buy Asda and Sainsbury’s gift cards for 5% off, espeically as there are two Sainsbury’s petrol stations between me and work and petrol’s my biggest weekly expense.

There’s also an Asda within metres of work so I get bits every day, saving the need to do a big shop. But I’m going to make rules πŸ™‚

– No chocolate, biscuits or similar to be bought. I’ve got plenty of chocolate here and I can make my own (healthier) biscuits, especially with the 12 weeks challenge.

– No out-of-season fruit or posh new-to-me vegetables. It’s going to be about seasonal savings, taking advantage of the apple tree in my garden and my dad’s home-grown carrots, cabbage, leeks etc.

– No expensive “I might use them one day” ingredients. There’s too much hiding in the cupboards that I’m going to use first, like this:

– Make a load of my own burgers, like these, to freeze, rather than buying Beanys from Holland&Barrett (not least because being tempted into there means spending a lot!)

Plus making more use of the Poundland/99p Store near work for stuff like shampoo, cleaning products. I got two huge bottles of washing-up liquid for 99p at the start of the summer and the first one’s not finished yet, result.

I’m also just going to be sensible. No random cooking equipment that I don’t really need, for example. Not that I’m ever tempted by that… πŸ™‚

Thanks Laura for the challenge! I’ll update more as I go along… what are your best budgeting tips? And have you ever randomly been savaged by a Jack Russell while trying to do someone a good turn?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to One good turn…

  1. You’re such a good person, that little story made me smile πŸ™‚
    That’s awesome that you’re doing the budget challenge! I’m awful at budgeting, but I can’t really commit to that, I have too many things to worry about with school already!

    • Thank you! And I’m usually good at keeping an eye on my money but food shopping is my real weakness… I agree with you though, it’s a nightmare to plan for with everything else going on with the time it takes to make absolutely everything from scratch!

  2. Emma says:

    Omg!! That’s terrible! Stupid owner!! Did you go and get a tetanus jab? Xxx

  3. I don’t like buying a lot of “might use them someday” items, like arborio rice. I still have that bag from the ffwD assignment weeks ago!

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Ouch! That’s a really nasty bite…some dog owners just have no conception of how dangerous their animals can be. I’ve been knocked over by enough of them running to know that…what an absolute idiot.

    Emma’s right about the tetanus jab – presumably you’ve had one before?

    Hope you’re okay! I’d still be pretty shaken up after such a shock *hugs*

    xxx

    • He just seemed so not with the plot at all! I bet being knocked over is horrible too; especially when they come out of nowhere – not good.. and yes, I have and all good but thank you very much πŸ™‚

  5. That’s terrible! I can’t believe that the bloke was so not bothered, people like that shouldn’t be allowed to own animals, it makes me think that thing about having a licence to own pets should be brought in, what if you had been a small child! Ok rant over πŸ˜‰ Thanks for joining in with the budget challenge! I’ll link you up on this weeks round up post, good luck!

  6. Your bite looks really sore. I hate it when dog owners have no control over there their pets- I can’t believe his lack of concern either.

  7. Oh my gosh! That’s awful! How rude of him!! I hope your leg feels better!!!

    And I should totally jump on the budget bandwagon. My food budget is out of control! haha

  8. Oh, poor you – your leg looks really sore. I can’t believe that the owner was so not bothered by the fact that his dog bit you!
    I think all your budget challenge rules are great. I’m making lots of use of free windfall fruit from my family’s gardens at the moment πŸ™‚

  9. Is it weird if I say I totally saw a smiley face on your wound when I first looked at it?!
    Good luck with the budget challenge, I should really do this too…. especially the buying of ingredients that I might use “some day” πŸ˜‰

  10. Not a Jack Russell, but I did get surprisingly bit by a Corgi, and the owner was just as obnoxiously nonchalant about it. Excuse me, but do something about your dog if it bites people, that is NOT okay. I like the budget challenge idea! Frozen food=big savings. One bag of frozen spinach=.88, one bag of fresh spinach with MUCH less spinach in it=3.28 (USD). Same health factor. And dry beans/lentils! You get SO MUCH food for so little.

    • I’d heard that Corgis can be snappy but can’t believe there are two owners that unbothered when the dog bites somene – you’re right it is not ok at all!
      And I might have to get on the frozen spinach, thanks πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: TGIT | Eating like a horse

  12. Pingback: Dirty cash | Eating like a horse

  13. Pingback: Updates | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

