Back to normality

Thank you so much for all the lovely comments on my last post; I’m feeling much better – and might even brave the chocolate soon πŸ™‚

But before I felt good enough for chocolate, I did feel good enough for these:

They announced on Radio 1 earlier that it was 90 sleeps till Christmas. I really, really don’t want to think about that yet, as it was still summer this time last week (have the seasons ever changed this quickly – shorts to scarves within four days?!)

But when it comes to this…

… I couldn’t resist πŸ™‚ 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies (and sweets) is hosted this year by Brenda, of Meal Planning Magic and it means lots of delicious biscuits and treats from now, every Thursday (or Friday in my case; late again!) until Christmas. How can that be anything but good?

Crunchy coconut biscuits:

75g polenta

25g oats, ground into flour

50g butter, in cubes

75g icing sugar

25g dessicated coconut, ground to a crumby texture

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp baking powder

Put everything but the egg yolk into a food processor and mix till it looks like fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the yolk till well mixed, then form a dough, wrap in cling film and chill for half an hour.

Preheat oven to 180C and roll dough out on a floured surface. Cut out cookies (I made 25), space out on a lined sheetΒ and bake for 8 minutes, until golden. They’ll be really fragile when they first come out, so leave on the baking sheet till they’re cool and crispy.

I like crunchy, crispy, crumbly biscuits – and these were all three. and coconut, which is always good! They were light – and addictive. Not many left….

They aren’t particularly Christmassy, I have to admit… I was going to use my star-shaped cutter, which would have made all the difference – but I couldn’t find it πŸ™‚

So I did this:

Sorted; how Christmassy can you get?!

What’s your favourite Christmassy treat – or don’t you want to think about it yet? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back to normality

  1. Maria says:

    Love the bauble! πŸ™‚ Our decorations are up in the attic so I would have had no hope of Christmassing them up! πŸ™‚ Yes it is soooooo cold now! Last Saturday when my friend visited we were both boiling, all the windows were open and it was ice water all around! Today when my parents came around it was coffee/ tea, slippers on and hoping for the heating! πŸ™‚
    I love so many Christmas things- christmas cake with marzipan, gingerbread houses, cinnamon spiced nuts. Yum πŸ™‚

  2. Haha, yes the thought of Christmas is starting to pop into my head! I love gingerbread cookies and putting sweet mince meat in my oats with soya cream, so good! Plus at Christmas I feel I can justify crumbling cookies on top of my smoothies as well πŸ™‚

  3. Delicious! I love the sound of having coconut in them!

  4. Ohhh coconut biscuits?? That sounds yummy!

  5. Yum! One of my favorite parts about the holidays is def the baking! I love trying lost of new recipes πŸ™‚

  6. Delicious! I’m so glad that other people are getting excited for Christmas early this year. I was ready by the start of September!

  7. Pingback: P-p-p pick up – some porridge! | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

