WIAW – the poorly edition

It’s that time again!

But as I’ve been feeling rough as sandpaper, it’s actually What I Eat When I’m Feeling S**t. Which rhymes. If you’ve got a stereotypically-bad Italian accent ๐Ÿ™‚

I know why I felt ill; it was because of the supplements the therapist told me to take. She told me to take one more every night till I was at the full dose and although she warned me that some people have to take it muchย more slowly, being me, I ploughed on regardless.

I felt a bit rubbish Saturday evening, very rubbish on Sunday and hideous on Monday – I don’t know if I’ve ever felt that ill; banging headache, soย weak I could barely walk, feeling sick all the time – it wasn’t good, especially because I’m editing this week.

I had this for breakfast on Monday, thanks to the last of the very late fruit on my dad’s raspberry bush:

And felt sick. So Tuesday’s breakfast was plainer:

Good old carrot cake porridge; it made me feel much better. I hadn’t been able to get hold of the nutritionist on Monday but as I couldn’t risk feeling like that again on a deadline Tuesday, I just stopped taking them, which she said yesterday was the right thing to do. Apparently the reason I felt so ill was because the supplements are doing their job and kicking out “nasties”, which were then wandering around making me feel cack ๐Ÿ™‚

I could only just about stomach these for lunch on Monday:

And for dinner, I didn’t want anything but this:

It was weird because just after I’d eaten that (and was feeling too sick to eat anything else) I read Jemma’s post on wanting soup when you’re ill and Jessica’s comment that she only used to want Heinz tomato, which is what I had. Great minds ๐Ÿ™‚

I also had a few of these:

Digestive biscuits are obviously plain enough not to cause sickness and they were comforting, weirdly.

The main evidence I wasn’t myself though was that I couldn’t finish a cup of tea or coffee at work, I didn’t want vegetables – and I couldn’t bear the thought of chocolate or nut butter. Mad. Even yesterday, when I felt better, I couldn’t want chocolate, however hard I tried! Teacher’s note for tonight, must try harder ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve still got a banging headache, so I’m going to wait till I feel completely better before I start the supplements again – and this time I’m taking it VERY slowly.

What’s your staple food for when you feel ill? And What Did You Eat Wednesday? Thank you to Jenn for hosting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WIAW – the poorly edition

  1. Aw you poor thing! Feel better! I don’t know about something that’s supposed to make you “healthier” making you feel sick! That seems backwards! I hope you get feeling back to normal soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Maria says:

    Oh poor you, hope you start feeling better soon. If I feel ill with a cold or something, then I love soup and hot tea and things, but if I feel sick then only dry toast. And no fruit or veggies, or nut butter, or chocolate- they all make me feel like they would make me feel worse for some reason.

  3. Oh no that sounds awful, sounds like your body was ‘detoxing’ the nasties too quickly. I know that when I don’t fancy food, especially nut butter there’s something seriously wrong! Hope your feeling a lot better!

  4. Leigh says:

    I hope you start to feel better soon, hopefully you’ll bounce back quickly once your body is used to the herbs! I love heinz tomato soup too, I was so cold and down the other day I had some and felt great! It’s magical.

  5. Sorry you are ill. I hope the soup helped lots. Digestive biscuits are also a great one as they are really plain and shouldn’t unsettle your tummy too much.

  6. I’m sorry you’re feeling poorly, but it looks like you had some nice food to comfort you. Digestives are always a good choice – carbs for energy, but not strong tasting.
    You’ve inspired me to have carrot cake porridge for breakfast tomorrow – it looks delicious.

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    Great minds indeed ๐Ÿ™‚ I really don’t think anything can top Heinz COT soup for its warming, thick, stomach coating qualiity. It’s like a hug in a bowl. I’ve tried to recreate it with soya cream before, but sadly it’s just not the same.

    Rich Tea biccies were another sickie food of choice when I was little. Not dunked in the soup though…

    Be careful with those herbs! They sound a bit dodgy to me, but I am biased as I’ve had horrible stomach problems from taking things ‘herbalists’ have prescribed. They’ve also affected my manic cycles quite badly…promise to take things slower if you have to keep taking them, pretty please?

    Sorry, now I sound like a nagging granny…

    โค

    xxx

    • Hee hee, it is a hug in a bowl and I don’t think anything could quite recreate it!
      Thank you so much, I will be careful and take it really slow as not feeling 100% even now… and you don’t sound like a nagger at all; I really appreciate you being concerned ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yuuuuck, not sure I’d be as brave as you to return to the supplements. My sick food is saltine crackers, some sort of basic soup and Vernor’s gingerale. Yup, has to be the specific brand. Hope you’re back to feeling like yourself SOON!

Thank you for commenting!

