Delayed

This is the post that was meant to go up yesterday – so if you can cast yourself back 24 hours and imagine it was, that’d be great πŸ™‚

I’ve had a guest this weekend:

That picture’s rubbish but she won’t keep still long enough for a better one – and I love the way her tail’s a blur because it was wagging too fast πŸ™‚

Cindy belongs to my friends who have gone away for the weekend, so I’ve been dogsitting. We’ve been making the most of the gorgeous weather by going for walks and on that note,Β I had the weird experience of having to ride first thing this morning to beat the heat – on October 2. Mental – but in a great way πŸ™‚

I’ve been having some suitably summery food, like this breakfast:

I can’t believe I hadn’t had overnight oats before! This had vanilla yoghurt, blueberries, flax seed and water – and was delicious πŸ™‚

I also had this:

I had almost a whole big pot of plain soya yoghurt than needed a job, I had some strawberries taking up space in the freezer, it was roasting hot; had to be done really πŸ™‚

And the bonus of this recipe is, it’s actually two for the price of one:

430g plain soya yoghurt

200g frozen strawberries

3-4tbsp coconut syrup (or agave/honey etc)

200ml coconut milk (from a carton – I used Kara)

Blend everything together till well mixed and foamy. First major job for Jamie – and he did me proud πŸ™‚

If you stop at that point and pour it into glasses, you’ve got yourself a lovely, foamy and dairy-free milkshake. Of course I had to test it and it was really refreshing…

But if you want the whole shabang, pour it into a plastic box:

Trying to be clever with the sunlight coming through a randomly-reflowering orchid is optional:

But I liked it πŸ™‚

Of course if you’ve got an ice cream maker, it would just be a case of letting it do its thang. But as I haven’t, I just froze it in the box, taking it out every 40mins-1 hour and beating the daylight out of the ice crystals. At first, I just used a fork but then I got the hand blender on the case, with much better results.

It takes hours to freeze completely (hence the lateness of this post!) but it’s worth the wait – and it’s definitely worth using the hand blender while it’s frezing for full-on creaminess factor.

Ideally, I’d have a sprig of mint or something to put on top – and I’d be a better photographer but still. It tasted good πŸ™‚

Trust me to wait till OctoberΒ to postΒ a summery recipe but what’s a girl to do – it was 29.9C (85.5F) in Gravesend yesterday, 40 minutes’ drive from me – the hottest October day on record. Woop…!

And as this is gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan and free from other nasties, I’m linking up to Ricki’s latest Wellness Weekend at Diet, Dessert and Dogs – can’t wait to see what else is on offer!

Question of the day – frozen yoghurt or ice cream? Or milkshakes, of couse… πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Delayed

  1. I love frozen yoghurt, but I also love Booja Booja dairy free ice cream. It’s so rich and creamy you really cannot tell the difference.

  2. Ricki says:

    Looks fantastic! I love frozen yogurt, ice cream, etc. and the strawberry addition would make it totally delicious. Thanks for submitting to Wellness Weekend! πŸ™‚

  3. Welcome to the wonderfula world of overnight oats! Also this looks really delicious – I much prefere frozen yoghurt over ice cream. Especially really tart froyo.

  4. jenandberries says:

    Your breakfast sounds frikkin divine! I honestly love them both but ice cream wins if we’re counting gelato here! Sounds like a fab weekend πŸ™‚

  5. BrocStar says:

    I prefer frozen yogurt… I like the tartness.
    And I don’t have the patience to make my own w/o an ice cream maker (Which I don’t have.) More power to you!

  6. That looks gorgeous! Before I was vegan I made some frozen strawberry greek yoghurt, it didn’t turn out that lovely texture you have there (it had to be cut like a slab!) but it was fab. I’ve always meant to try making some with soya yoghurt and I may just have to give it a try now!

  7. So.. I eat my smoothies out of large tupperwear ALL the time πŸ™‚

  8. I love frozen treats, so that looks fantatic to me!
    Cute dog πŸ™‚

  9. mmmmm!! Fro-yo rocks my world even though it gives me a bad stomach. πŸ™‚ with strawberries and granola on the top! mmmmmm!

  10. Errign says:

    Overall, definitely real ice cream, homemade, but self serve fro yo is pretty great!

  11. I like frozen yogurt AND ice cream! Both are awesome πŸ™‚

  12. Adorable house guest! And can you send some of that record heat (and ice cream) my way please?

  13. Pingback: #Fail | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: Summer breeze… | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

