Just a quick one

For various reasons, the post I’ve got almost ready to go can’t be published yet 😦

Instead though, I want to post this picture:

It says on my about page that I love football but I’ve never mentioned my team; it just doesn’t seem to fit with my usual rambles πŸ™‚

Also, even to people who follow English football, League One (aka division three) ain’t that impressive. But I’ve supported Charlton Athletic through their rise to the Premiership, their seven-year stay there – and then two relegations in three years. Thanks Ian Dowie/Les Redd, owe you one.

But Chris Powell, who played at left back for us during three different spells, is Charlton to the core so I was chuffed when he took over at the beginning of this year. He might have taken a while to find his feet but he’s come good now – 11 played so far this season, eight wins, three draws, five points clear at the top – come on you Addicks πŸ™‚

Hopefully back on track tomorrow with a recipe involving this!

Do you like football?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Just a quick one

  1. ive never heard of them!!! im not a huge fan but if i had to choosee.. gO CHELSEA!

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’m clueless when it comes to football but my Dad avidly follows Norwich City (his home team) and also roots for the local teams to us: Newcastle and Sunderland. Really, he just loves it when the ‘big’ clubs such as Man U and Chelsea get a whooping πŸ˜‰

    xxx

  3. BrocStar says:

    I know nothing about football. We lived in New England when I was about age 10 and the New England Patriots won the US Superbowl. I took it upon myself to “love” the Patriots after we moved away and my dad would always yell at me to come watch when they were on…. but I always thought it was boring.

  4. Maria says:

    I do like football- we always used to go to Watford when we were younger, and I still see them occasionally now. Andy’s family supports Southampton so I also go and see them too. I do get very annoyed with the premiership though- all these players being paid so much, refusing to play (shocking), and the England team at the moment annoy me as I do not think many of them actually feel pride in playing for their country, I think they would rather play for their clubs and earn more money.

    • That drives me mad too; I’ve lost interest in the national team a bit lately for that very reason; they seem so out of touch with reality and the way half of them behave is appalling… and Tevez was beyond a joke refusing to play!

  5. Shannon says:

    I like watching football, but I dont know much about all the teams πŸ™‚ Cant wait for the recipe!

  6. I’m from the North East so you can’t really avoid footy! I’m a Newcastle fan of course πŸ™‚

  7. I love a bit of footie. By default I have to support MANU- my boyfriends favourite team.

  8. Hmm, I’m intrigued by your mystery food item. And I follow U.S. football, but that isn’t quuiiiite the same thing. At all.

Thank you for commenting!

