Red sky at night

I drove home yesterday into a stunning sunset.

With tiny feathery clouds, each outlined in a different colour, it looked lovely. I thought a picture of it would be perfect to post, along the lines of red sky at night, shepherds’ delight, lots of trumpeting about the gorgeous hot weather (28C in Kent by the end of this week!) etc

But my phone decided that would be a good moment to run out of battery. A slight spanner in the works :-)

So I’ll have to use this picture instead:

Not quite as beautiful as the sunset, possibly… but I was chuffed that my new blender/food processor arrived! I’d had enough of things like this:

And this:

So the blender has been relegated to the cupboard under the stairs. That’ll larn it :-)

The new one’s a Jamie Oliver one that was reduced by loads on Amazon… it had brilliant reviews and is really compact, which is handy when you’ve got about 18×30 inches of work surface to play with :-)

I used it first on the apples off the tree that had fallen or were partly eaten, to make apple sauce. Apart from the pain in the backside it is to peel and chop the apples, the real ballache is standing there stirring constantly while they stew… so I roasted them. They still needed peeling and chopping, but then I just chucked them all into the oven at 180C for 30-40 minutes, let them cool and food-processed away:

It made the creamiest, smoothest apple puree ever.

If I thought it was hard to resist the last lot, I stand corrected. This was much harder. I’m impressed with the food processor (it also came with the blender jug and lots of interesting blade-type equipment) and now I want to see what else it can do. Consider yourself permanently relegated, blender :-)

On a different note though, I got a letter from my credit card company as well today, saying this:

It looks slightly alarming. but when you cast your eyes to the left, you see this:

Yep, I have failed to make the minimum payment. On my £0.00 balance. Hmmm….

At least it made me smile, as does the beautiful weather :-) What’s made you smile today? Has the sun been out for you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Red sky at night

  1. hahaha thats a scary but funny letter! And I’m glad you got a new food processor!

  2. Maria says:

    Oh banks are so annoying!
    Yay for the new blender and I love your idea of how to make it- much much easier!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Long may the warm weather stay!

    Yikes, your statement scared me initially. Thank goodness it was okay in the end!

    And I now covet that blender/processor. You’ve lured me over to Amazon to find it…

    xxx

    • It’s great isn’t it – suncream on in October! And the letter scared me too; I thought they’d still downgrade my credit rating or something so rang them and all ok :-)
      Sent you the link to blender!

  4. It was a really gorgeous sun set wasn’t it, this Indian summer is lovely! Hope you enjoy your new food processor, I’ll be taking a leaf from your book and making roasted apple sauce as I have some bramleys coming in my veg box this week, yum!

  5. Shannon says:

    I love watching the sunset and sunrise! Its so pretty! :) The apple puree looks delish!

  6. Leigh says:

    Oh the weather is so beautiful – it’s made me so so happy today, I wish it could stay forever!
    The apple puree looks amazing, I’ve got some apples to use up so I think I’ll try that out!

  7. I really want a food processor, but I haven’t got a lot of work space in my kitchen (read: virtually none!) This one sounds like a good option.

  8. Haha, I get student loan “bills” like that once a month…haven’t they figured out I’ve paid it all off yet?? And yay for new kitchen toys :D I would love a good food processor. My magic bullet is fantastic, but I am definitely limited in what I can do with it.

  9. Sunsets make every day a little happier :) Unfortunately, it’s rained everyday for the past two weeks here in Columbus!

  10. Oh dear! I hope your new blender is much more kinder to you!

  11. Yay for new blenders! My old one was really crappy, so I love my new one :) No more chunks of the blade falling off into my drinks!

  12. oh my.. that truly is some quality blender failing.. i esp. like the green one! it makes me feel less annoyed about my cling film-wrapped-blending-container make-shift-i’m too cheap to buy a new one-kitchen lifestyle…
    also, go you for paying off the 2p! …how do bills like that even happen?? :)

    • I know, mad! I didn’t actually pay it, I rang to say it was only 2p and they let me off :-)
      And yep, the old blender did fail – a lot… and that sounds like my kitchen lifestyle but I splashed out this time!

  13. Pingback: Delayed | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: TGIT | Eating like a horse

  15. Pingback: Football, fruit and firewalking | Eating like a horse

  16. Pingback: Feeling fruity – banoffee bonanza | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

