Magic and flying

Yep, that’s been me recently; Harry Potter one day, Tom Cruise aka Maverick the next. Wrong sex, clearly, but ya get my drift :-)

On Friday night, my friend and I went to a “magic night”. I’d been given free tickets by the hotel manager, who I get on really well with, and had been told it was a dinner with a magician around. I only got scared when the manager texted on Friday saying there was a “surprise” for me. Gulp.

When we got there, the magician said: “And there’s someone from the press present!” which made me huddle down a bit but then he left us to dinner, coming round and doing some magic to each individual table. I know you can explain card tricks with good sleight of hand but how did he get the one with my writing on it into a sealed envelope, in a zipped wallet compartment, in his inside pocket?! Weird.

The dinner was great, not least because it included this:

That’ll be the gluten-free banoffee pie I was promised. Seriously, GF or not, it was the best banoffee pie I’ve ever tasted. It might look small but mmmmmmm… so filling and so good :-)

Then, after dinner, the magician did a show. He started by saying: “I told you we had a special guest but as she was late, I’m not going to embarrass her.” I barely had time to breathe out before he added: “I’m going to pick on the lady on table six instead.”

A ha ha ha.

Thankfully, it wasn’t being sawed in half, as one of my colleagues had suggested; I just had to go up and help him pick names for one trick. Phew. It was a great night, always good to do something a bit different.

And yesterday’s activities were also somewhat unusual, involving this:

Long story, but I went for a trip in that tiny plane!

It never fails to astound me how amazing flying is. Just seeing the countryside from 2,500 feet is such an experience.

It was a beautiful sunny day too and the views were out of this world. Beautiful English countryside, just getting touched with autumn colours… and the clouds! How weird are they?!

I couldn’t do them justice, expecially when the sun was catching them as it went down… beautiful.

Although they look stunning from one side, going through the middle of one scared the living bejaysus out of me :-)

Gorgeous…

But the most impressive bit?

Check this out:

I flew the plane! Just ignore that “oh sh*t I’m in control of this thing but I’m trying to smile” face and pretend I look cool. That’d be great :-)

That’s a slight over-statement regarding that picture because it’s dual control and I just had my hands on the steering thing… but later, I was steering to a compass, keeping the altitude and everything – and even doing some banking! Not too steeply though because that scared the bejaysus out of me too :-)

It was a brilliant day. And as I was so flat out, and got back so late last night, I’m going to spend today basking in this gorgeous autumn sunshine and doing not a lot. Hope everyone’s having a great and sunny weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Magic and flying

  1. Glad you enjoyed your pie and didn’t get too embarrassed in the magic show! That flight look great! I had a flying lesson once and it was amazing :-)

  2. I LOVEEE banoffeee pie!! what gorgeous pics!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Looks like the perfect size for a banoffee pie – the vegan one I tried recently was a bit bigger than that, and my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach (story of my life).

    Amazing shots from the plane too – I’m not quite sure I’d be brave enough to do that!

    xxx

    • It was good really because if it had been bigger I’d still have eaten it all and felt sick – I’ve definitely got the eyes bigger than stomach thing too!
      And it was weird how non-scary most of the actual flying was… just the cloud and the being in control threw me :-)

  4. Shannon says:

    Thats soo awesome that you got to fly the plane! :D

  5. Maria says:

    Yum banoffee pie is always good- although I like less (well no) cream and more ban and offeee! :)
    That plane is tiny! You are right it is amazing to be up and see the world like that, and despite loving holidays I do love how gentle the english countryside is :)

    • This one was unusual because the toffee layer was on its own and the banana mixed into the cream which was delicious; I usually like the cream bit the least but it was delicious!
      And that’s it perfectly; I love seeing other places but the English countryside is just beautiful :-)

  6. The flight looks amazing and the views are absolutely beautiful! Magic sounds like a lot of fun too – I’m glad you didn’t get sawn in half :-)

  7. Ahhh! How exciting and scary at the same time :) I’m scared of flying, but I’d love to overcome my fear one day and have a trip in a plane like that. The views are incredible!

    • If you ever get a chance it would be brilliant! Because you’re so much lower than in big planes, the views are better and weirdly, the bloke I was with is scared of flying in big planes… so you might be ok!

  8. Seriously?! You flew the plane!! That’s awesome!

  9. Errign says:

    Glad you didn’t get embarrassed by the magician – I would have hated that!

    Whoa, flying? So cool!

  10. AH banoffee pie is one of my favorite things EVER. ever ever ever. My mouth is watering right now! And what an awesome flight! You lucky girl you ;)

  11. Oh my gosh, how awesome that you got to fly a plane! And I just have to say, I love that you said “scared the bejaysus out of me”…haven’t heard anyone say that in a while! hahaha!

    Love the aerial shots! I’ve only flown a handful of times, but I’m with you, it’s just….amazing! The world looks so different from that perspective!

    Oh, and I’m glad you didn’t get sawwed in half! ;)

  12. It’s one of my dreams to learn how to fly- that must have been an amazing experience!

  13. Wow, that looks like a truly amazing day!! Magic show, banoffee pie (which I really must try sometime!), gorgeous views (with gorgeous pictures!!), and flying a plane… it must have been incredible! So glad you had a good time! :)
    <3 <3

  14. FUN to all of it! Especially the flying, but I love magic shows–I’m with ya, I know there’s a skill/logical reasoning behind it, but I’m still in awe at how some of it is done!

  15. Pingback: From hangover to banoffee | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

