Leftovers

Brrrrr! Autumn’s definitely here. It’s been really nice and sunny but that ever-present fecking cold wind is still, well, present… plus it’s getting proper parky at night πŸ™‚

But there are good things about autumn, like these:

Cox apples, straight off the tree; ya can’t argue with that.

One was part of the party…

It’s WIAW time πŸ™‚

Breakfast:

Jilly Goolden, that posh wine-tasting bird off the telly, would no doubt describe this breakfast as a mellow and full-bodied 2011 summer vintage bowl, withΒ a cheekyΒ accent of autumnal flavour.

It had blackberries in it πŸ™‚

Loving the fact you can just pick ’em and take ’em home for free, which is more than can be said from the blueberries, which are definitely not in season any more and so not cheap. Hmmph.

Lunch was different from normal:

If I hadn’t had pizza for years, I hadn’t had cold pizza for even longer. Technically, I didn’t yesterday either because I re-heated it in the microwave. But you get my gist.

Along with the normal unphotographed lunch staples of yoghurt and salt and vinegar rice cakes. Some things don’t change πŸ™‚

Dinner was more crispy polenta fingers:

This time with peanut flour instead of cashew butter. And I can confirm that they do get really nice and crispy under the grill if you leave them long enough. Clearly I was far too greedy before.

There was also some roasted red pepper.Β They looked and smelt so good when I was making more pesto the other night that I had to have some more onΒ its own. Sadly, I failed to realise that what looked like a lot raw looked like a lot less cooked πŸ™‚

And the other polenta fingers will be perfect for lunch tomorrow, I reckon. I’m not sure why it’s taken this long to cotton on to taking leftovers to work the next day but still. Got there eventually!

Do you take leftovers for lunch – or is it sandwiches all the way? Thank you Jenn for WIAW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Leftovers

  1. Pizza for lunch? That’s my kinda meal :D! x

  2. Okay, I really need to make those polenta fingers! I find myself drooling each time you post a picture of them πŸ˜‰
    I take leftovers whenever I have them – they’re a nice break from sandwiches πŸ™‚
    Oh and I’m loving fresh apples off the trees too! As a matter of fact, I just got finished with one… so juicy and sweet and all around amazing πŸ˜€

    ❀ ❀

  3. Maria says:

    Yum fresh apples off the tree are so good πŸ™‚
    I take leftovers sometimes, but normally I have a sandwich at the moment.

  4. Leigh says:

    I like leftovers, sarnies don’t always fill me up that much.
    I am in serious mourning over the end of berry season, although apple season is quite exciting – I got a bunch of cox apples yesterday too πŸ™‚

  5. I love leftovers – they always taste better for a night in the fridge for some reason! I usually eat mine for tea again the next day rather than for lunch though, such a time saver on some nights πŸ™‚

  6. I’m a salad girl for lunch, but I do occasionally use leftovers in them. I really like cold cooked veggies, which is a bit weird, but makes a perfect lunch for me. I love autumn fruits – I need to get some blackberries before they’re gone!

  7. I’m straight up leftovers on lettuce for lunch at work every day. And I love it, ’cause I adore my own leftovers while disliking restaurant leftovers (I usually don’t bother to bring food home, I know I won’t eat it). Someday the things I do might make sense…but probably not. And I’ll take autumn apples, but yup, can pass on the rest.

  8. Ha! I love the description of your brekkie! Leftovers are the best, they always taste way better and are such a time saver too.

  9. I’m ify on leftovers. I can’t decide whether I like them or not, but it is always a bit of a toss up.
    I like the looks of your breakfast though, nothing like berries and yogurt!

  10. Errign says:

    I bought corn grits today to make my own polenta. I’m rather excited!

  11. I love leftovers for lunch.. but I rarely save any for leftovers πŸ˜‰ So it’s usually sandwiches!

  12. Yummm!! I want to try making those polenta fingers! That sounds awesome!

  13. cottercrunch says:

    leftovers are my favorite for lunch! i purposely make more at dinner for that reason. Love it. Call me crazy!

Thank you for commenting!

