A pizza the action

Sorry. But I’ve written at least one post without a rubbish pun for the title this week – there weren’t going to be two πŸ™‚

I got a text from Dave’s new owner last night, saying he was happy and settling in so all good on that front – and thank you for all the lovely comments yesterday!

I got the text just as I was making something deeeeelicious….. something I haven’t had for *casts mind back* years, not since I was diagnosed coeliac:

It’s not that I haven’t been able to buy or make GF pizza, just that I was never the biggest lover of it, even when I could have it. But as I’d been given the Fria ones to try… I did!

And in keeping with the fact the Fria products are dairy-free and almost all of them vegan, so’s this.

I used my red pepper and almond pesto because I thought it would have more flavour than tomato puree. I used three peppers this time, 3tsp ground almonds, 3/4 tsp garlic, 2tbsp nutritional yeast but only 2tsp olive oil and it was great – half the amount made from that was enough because these bases aren’t huge.

I then chopped mushrooms and courgette and layered them on, then poured glooped some vegan cheezy sauce on the top and baked for 10 minutes at 200C. I half thought about putting some real cheese on top but thought I could always add it afterwards if needed.

Cooked:

And served with normal accompaniments. Is it weird to eat steamed veg with pizza? Maybe. Does that worry me? Nope πŸ™‚

I loved the cruchy/soft/chewy/pizzainess (that’s a word, really) of the base and I’m glad I didn’t add real cheese because it didn’t need it.

It might even possiblynearlymaybe have convinced me to try a few more different pizzas – and there were two bases in the packet so that’s definitely a possibility πŸ™‚

And as far as pizzas go, this has got to be a healthy one, asΒ  well as being free from just about anything that could cause problems.

Speaking of which, my sister and six-year-old nephew Isaac were staying with my mum and dad this weekend. When I got round there yesterday, Isaac and my mum had been baking. Isaac said proudly, straight away: “Do you want a gingerbread man? They’re good for you!”

My mum had used the GF plain flour, telling Isaac it was “Auntie Eleanor’s special flour” – so he was right; although they didn’t contain some miraculous Elixir of Life, they were better for me in particular than they would have been made with normal flour. That makes them practically health food – so I had two πŸ™‚

Healthy gingerbread men and healthy pizza?! It must be time for some chocolate…

What’s your favourite pizza topping?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A pizza the action

  1. I love roated veggies on my pizza – yum! This looks delicious and I don’t think that I would miss the cheese.
    I’m glad Dave is settling into his new home πŸ™‚

  2. Alex G says:

    Ha – yours is far more adventurous than my effort! What’s that interesting looking carrot / red cabbage coleslaw-ish thing?

  3. I don’t eat pizza that often, I can’t stomach the grease – but I would if it was like this! My ideal pizza would be super-thin crispy crust loaded up with globs of really good tomato sauce and lots of roasted veggies, herbs and sometimes a hint of chopped nuts πŸ™‚

  4. Pizza’s not my all time favorite..but when I do eat it, I like banana peppers, mushrooms, black olives…basically every veggie. πŸ˜›

  5. Is that the same pesto that you sent me?? It looks like it!!! I used mine for pizza and it was SO good!!

    • Kind of… it was my home-made version of it because I was getting through so much of the other stuff! Try the home made version though; it’s not the same but really good… I bet the Waitrose one would be brilliant on pizza too πŸ™‚

  6. I love peppers on my pizza! Though, like you, I’m not the biggesttt pizza fan. I am gluten sensitive, and since discovering this, I have not had a slice of pizza. There are just so many other things to eat, why spend the effort to make special pizza?

  7. That looks great! I haven’t had pizza in far too long. I still love my socca pizzas and for toppings it has to be roasted veg and hummus, yum!

  8. ~Jessica~ says:

    Please come and make me a pizza…although I’m afraid I’ll eat the whole thing at once and not two slices πŸ˜‰

    Using pesto is such a clever idea!

    xxx

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I much preferred the pesto to tomato puree; more flavour to it, I reckon. And I’d be happy to make you one, the added bonus is, it’s so healthy, eating the whole thing wouldn’t do anyone any harm, extra bonus πŸ™‚

  9. Maria says:

    Love the title- I aspire to be as pun-tastic as you πŸ™‚
    I love love love caramelised onions, spinach, roasted peppers and goats cheese on a pizza. Something about all those flavours together are so good. πŸ™‚

  10. That pizza looks delicious. I love roasted veggies or figs with goat’s cheese…yum!

  11. Definitely deserves some chocolate πŸ™‚ And there is NOTHING wrong a good pun or two (or at least there better not be, or I’m in trouble!). Yummm, pizza. I love broccoli on pizza. Yup. And olives, and roasted red pepper.

  12. Yay for pizzas! I just made one today πŸ™‚ My favorite pizza topping is as much cheese as possible, but I’m also a huge fan of fresh or dried fruit on top.

  13. mmmm nothing is better than some homemade pizza πŸ™‚ my favorite topping is probably mushrooms or basil!

  14. Errign says:

    I love pizza. I’m a big fan of pretty much any topping except meat, because I just think it’s gross on pizza. Once and awhile I’ll have a pepperoni slice or something, but that’s it.

    Aw, healthy gingerbread men – win!

    • Yep, definitely agree! I’m not a vegetarian but much prefer meatless pizzas…
      and it’s a shame they weren’t that healthy – but definitely better for me than normal ones, so I think that counts πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Leftovers | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

