Goodbye

To misquote the Two Ronnies, it’s not goodbye from me – but it is goodbye from him:

Dave went to a new home today.

It took about a year of agonising but I know it was the right decision. He’s gone to a brilliant home with a lovely girl who’s so excited to have him and I think she’s going to have a lot of fun with him.

It didn’t stop me having a few tears as the trailer left the yard though. I’ve had him for nearly five years and in that time he’s done so much for me.

That picture, from my About page, was us at the Internations at Towerlands in 2009. I was absolutely terrified by the size of the jumps – and he just took me round, bless him.

This was our first proper show. I was so pleased there that only five others got through to the second round, because I knew that meant we’d get placed – but we won!

I’m never going to stop riding, and not just because I’d have to change the name of this blog! For now, my friend’s got two horses and is short on time so I’ll help her with them.

I know it was the right decision but it was very strange to see him go without me – and  sad…

Have you ever made a decision that’s felt really hard even though you know it’s the right one?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Goodbye

  1. oh no!! while that is very hard, it seems like the right decision exactly!!

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    This was such a lovely tribute: I had tears in my eyes!

    Even though it’s not quite the same as Dave will be happy in his new home, this reminds me a lot of losing Minnie. Your selflessness in doing what’s best for Dave is so touching – would you be able to visit him at all perhaps?

    *hugs*

    xxx

    • thank you so much xx
      Yes, they’ve already said they’ll keep in touch and it’s not a million miles away so hopefully I’ll see him, but I know he’ll be happy, bless him.
      And losing Minnie like that must have been so horrible, I think people without animals sometimes don’t realise how much they’re one of the family x

  3. Maria says:

    This reminds me of the end of Toy story 3- the toys are moving on to make other children happy,and for you it is the same for Dave- he will make another girl happy. Does not make the decision easy though.

  4. BrocStar says:

    It’s much easier to let something go when you know it is going to a good home!
    Last week I sold my motorcycle. I’ve been riding for 3 years, and for the first 2 years my bike was a huge part of my identity. I rode it everywhere, in every weather. It was what I was known for, and I felt naked if I was out somewhere and not carrying a helmet with me. But at this point in my life, it wasn’t something I could hold on to anymore, so I sold it. I had the same feelings of sadness as the new owner rode it away, but I also knew it was going to somebody who would really enjoy it. That helped. 🙂

  5. Dave is beautiful. He is going to be so loved by an additional person in his life 🙂 *hugs* Must’ve been hard x

  6. That must of been a very tough decision! At least you know that you know that he is going to a good home though, even how upset you must be.

  7. Oh, I’m so sorry you’ve had to sell him 😥 I spent so, so long agonising over selling Chika (in the end, I just couldn’t!)
    I reckon you’ve done the right thing, and if he’s happy in his new home, that’s all that matters! Hope you’re ok 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m really glad you were able to keep Chika; it’s not an easy decision to make but brilliant she’s still there… and thank you – definitely the right move because he’s happy 🙂

  8. uppy says:

    It’s a real shame but he has given you some good days and also he’s going at an age when he can have a productive new life and that’s good. The optimistic buzz of knowing that at some point you’ll get another one with endless possibilities is what its all about x

  9. I feel your pain. While I haven’t had to sell CoCo..I cry at the mere thought of doing so. Not looking forward to graduate school just for that reason. 😦 But at least you know Dave is going to a very good home!

  10. I’m sorry that you’ve had to say goodbye to Dave, but I’m sure that you’ve made the right decision and I’m sure that he’ll have a great time at his new home!

  11. wow! you look amazing going over those jumps! my dad works with horses and i’m used to watching horses move – so elegant 🙂 I’m moving soon – i love where i am but it’s goming to be for the best because i get to be with phil!

  12. That’s really said, my friend has ponies for her kids and they had to sell them as the kids got better. It was very sad but they knew it was for the best and that the ponies went to a great homw where they’d be much loved. I hope you enjoy spending time with your friends horses 🙂

  13. Awww I’m so sorry!! But I’m sure you did make the right decision. It sounds like he’s going to a wonderful home! 🙂 And you can probably still visit him if you really want to see him 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  14. im so sorry!!
    im sure you will be able to visit him again and you made the right decision.
    it’ll all be okay 🙂

  15. Ohh, this post is so lovely but sad. It’s hard to do the right thing sometimes, especially with pets. You know they’ll be happier elsewhere, but they’re still your pet! Dave is gorgeous–that second jump photo is stunning. Just make sure you keep riding! I haven’t found a way to ride since I lost my horse, and I miss it so much! Life feels like it’s missing something without horses in it.

    • Definitely; I think it’s because they’re so much more than pets; you build up a real relationship so it’s strange when that’s not there… horrible that you can’t do it now but hopefully in the future?
      And thank you, he’s definitely a stunner!

  16. pbbrittany says:

    oh I’m so sorry to hear that! That’s gotta be so rough 😦 I’m sure you made the right decision, just remember that.

Thank you for commenting!

