Slightly irritating

There’s been a few slightly irritating moments this week.

First up, I was late for work by over an hour on Monday. I left the house at the normal time, but when I tried to move my car, it made a hideous screeching noise. A helpful bloke walking past said: “I wouldn’t drive that if I were you!”

Thanks mate, the car’s impression of a pterodactyl had kind of got me thinking along the same lines.

Luckily, a nice local mechanic came out and performed a major mechanical miracle drove it, the noise stopped and he said a bit of metal had got caught in the brake discs and fallen out. I got to work at gone 10am – but better late than never, as I told the boss.

Secondly, having trumpeted cockily about my self-mending tumble dryer, I put some work clothes in last night and… it’s self-broken again. Hmmph.

Apart from that, it’s been howling a gale all week, with the entertaining addition of pouring horizontal rain yesterday. All is good.

๐Ÿ™‚

But at least it’s Wednesday, which means not only is the work week more than half done it’s…….

WIAW party time! Thank you to Jenn ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast was standard:

Strawberries, blueberries, yoghurt, granola and flax/berry/cocoa seed mix. If there’s such a thing as a superfood bowl, I think this was pretty close!

Lunch came from a combination of the remains of a carton of egg whites, begging to be used, and a lack of motivation to make anything more ambitious:

2tbsp egg whites cooked in a smoking hot omelette pan makes a brilliant crepe. Easy done and filled with whatever you fancy – and delicious…

Dinner was made quickly because I didn’t get in till 8pm. I left the yard pretty sharpish as I realised it was getting dark and although my lights were still on my bike from last winterย – I’ve since got a new bike. Oops.

But at least I didn’t see many cars. So, luckily unsquashed, I sat down to more crispy cashew polenta fingers with pesto, coleslaw and vegetables. Still loving that pesto ๐Ÿ™‚

There have also been the last couple of plums from the tree inย theย garden I share with my neighbours. Funnily enough, I didn’t go on holiday at the end of August this year and also this year the tree didn’t get stripped of fruit. I would never begin to suggest, of course, that my neighbours swiped the lot last year – it must just beย coincidentalย that the evil plum thieves/mystery plum blight chose not to strike again. Weird ๐Ÿ™‚

And talking of plums, the final irritating thing was that I took some into work for everyone, the Friday before last. When I looked in my work bag this Monday… I found an overlooked plum squashed at the bottom. It wasn’t nice ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy WIAW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Slightly irritating

  1. Ty says:

    Mmm that cashew polenta thing looks amazing!

    And sorry about your car. O.O Car troubles are definitely one of the most irritating things I can think of.

  2. What a fantastic idea to use egg whites as crepes! I’m definitely going to try that one of these days! Sorry about your car & dryer —- what a pain in the butt!

  3. ooooh! i love the idea of a superfood bowl! and i agree with Ty – the polenta sounds delish!

  4. How come it always seems something’s seriously wrong with a car, bike..basically anything UNTIL a mechanic comes along and seems to simply look at it and magically it’s all better. It makes me feel dumb every single time. Sorry to hear about the issue, though. Those are never fun!

    • I know; I felt so blonde! You’re right though, it’s the same with everything, Dave had colic once and looked like he was dying but as soon as the vet came out (on a Sunday night) he was fine ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. BrocStar says:

    We share a plum tree with our neighbors,as well, but ours are more purple. Love them!

  6. Sorry about all your little irritations! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But there are only two more days! You can
    make it!!

    And I love that I am not the only one who only has motivation to make eggs for a meal from time to time! (or for me, on a consistent basis)

  7. Sorry about your car…hopefully everything work out for ya.

    Your eats look super good ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. That dinner sounds absolutely delish! Glad your car was ok and that you didn’t get squished on your bike!

  9. I love the look of those cashew fingers…yum! Sorry about the car trouble!

  10. Aw haha! This is the best post ever! We all have those days now and then- it stinks when it’s happening, but it’s funny when you look back ๐Ÿ™‚
    I still need to try those polenta fingers..

  11. And now it’s Thursday, so things are even better! Sorry about the car and dryer issues. Haha, Car and Driver is a magazine. Okay, I’m too easily entertained. Had some corn-based stuff for lunch, would have been MUCH better coated in cashew!

  12. Maria says:

    Oh no about the plum! I had that with a banana onces, yuck!

  13. I love your idea for the crepes – I must try that sometime!
    And those cashew polenta fingers look so yummy, especially with the pesto ๐Ÿ˜€

    โค โค

  14. Errign says:

    Sorry about the slightly irritating moments. I’ve had plenty of those this week too. Yummy eats though ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Pingback: Good thins come to she who waits | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

