What’s orange and sounds like a parrot?

Give up?

A carrot 🙂

Sorry, my sense of humour is, er, interesting. I blame my dad.

Anyway.

I’ve been a day ahead of myself so that irritating-beyond-belief Rebecca Black song has been going round and round my head since last night.

But at least it is now Friday, which is always good. It’s always better when it’s the Friday before a bank holiday weekend and it’s better still when it’s the Friday before a bank holiday weekend before the rest of the week off 🙂

It’s been a bit of a flat-out week; I saw my brother on Monday before he left (drinking on school nights isn’t as much of a good idea as it used to be), then I had to make another cake for the cafe on Wednesday after work.

Then, yesterday, a lady at work was saying her daughter’s recently become vegan and she was desperately looking for a birthday cake for her, so I said I’d do one.

Her mum Maria said carrot cake (there was some relevance to the post title…!) was her favourite so I made the same one as before. I wanted a creamy filling but of course cream cheese was out. And because I reckon coconut and carrot are a match made in heaven, I went for:

Coconut oil “buttercream”. I looked at a few different recipes and in the end just used 2tbsp coconut oil, heated gently with 4tbsp coconut milk, a squeeze of lemon juice and 130g sieved icing sugar.

Stirring, bring to the boil then let simmer for 4-5 minutes. Take off the heat and leave to cool.

The one thing I didn’t realise was how long it would take to set so I had to leave it in the fridge overnight and fill the cake in the morning. It’s lovely though, really creamy but light and with a great texture.

The topping’s just sieved icing sugar and enough lemon juice to make a paste. Maria was over the moon and I just hope the birthday girl is too 🙂

And talking of carrots, does anyone remember this one:

That was the weirdest and most entertaining vegetable of last year but I got a better one yesterday, when I went on the scrump to my dad’s garden.

It was seriously like some sort of octopus, in a root-vegetable stylee. I don’t know how it grew that many legs, and intertwined them that much, while still growing.

Sadly though, my bike bags were so stuffed with scrumped veg, I couldn’t zip them up and I found when I got home that the most mental carrot had fallen out. It was hilarious this morning, on my way to the yard, to see random tiny carrots and runner beans dotted about in the grass verges… and then I saw a big old pile of orange mashup. Poor carrot.

I would have stopped to take a picture but it’s a main-ish road, there are lots of cars passing and I didn’t think bending down apparently taking pictures of the tarmac was necessarily a good idea. And telling the boss you’re going to be late because you’ve been carted off by the men in white coats isn’t something I’d fancy doing either… 🙂

I did get this one though, which kind of made up for it:

You’ve got to love home-grown veg! Has anyone else seen any mad ones this year? And do you secretly like really rubbish jokes?! What’s your favourite… hit me with it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What’s orange and sounds like a parrot?

  1. Maria says:

    Love those carrots! I liked my heart shaped potato that I dug up! More fun I say.

  2. Wow those carrots are freaky! I love veg like that! That coconut icing sounds wonderful, I can imagine that cake tasting amazing 🙂

  3. Leigh says:

    Hahaha I laughed out loud at that bottom carrot. I told your carrot joke in work today, everyone loved it 🙂

  4. Those carrots are amazing! That first one actually made me splutter on my drink haha
    The cake looks amazing too, i never used to like carrot cake because of the cream cheese icing but i reckon coconut would be delicious with it!

  5. Haha, I love your sense of humor!! 😀

    That cake looks fabulous!! And hahaha I love those carrots!! I haven’t grown my own carrots before, but now I want to just to see what shape they grow 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  6. Hannah says:

    Ahh, you’ve got a garden of lil veggie people! How cute is that?!

  7. I love cheesy jokes, and yes, my dad is also to blame 😀 And I LOVE your funky veggies! The soil around here is rock hard, so root veggies tend to actually grow like they’re supposed to (they do have any other option), which means no weird mutants. Boo.

    K, y’all ready for this?…

    Helium walks into a bar. The bartender says, “I’m sorry, we don’t serve noble gases here.” The helium does not react.

  8. Hahaha those are slightly creepy vegetables!!! haha I’ve had some weird looking veggies come out of my garden, but none quite as weird as those!

  9. Mad aren’t they?! I’m just waiting for the squash – they went mental last year!

Thank you for commenting!

