Back on track

I feel like I should really change the name of this blog.

All I’ve been posting about lately is cake and cookies… and they’re not considered traditional essentials for an equine diet πŸ™‚

To get back on track, something that was considered a horse food staple for a long time is oats.

Nowadays, most people use mixes rather than straight foods – and I wouldn’t feed oats to Dave as they have what’s known as a heating, ie high-energy-giving effect. And he doesn’t need that.

So I have to eat them instead *sigh*

And I’ve been eating free ones lately, thanks to lovely Maria. who’d been emailed by Delicious Alchemy, a company that makes wheat and gluten-free products. The company wants its rice porridge and pure oats accepted on the list of NHS prescription foods, so they sent an email asking for coeliacs to test them. Maria, bless her, knows that’s me so she forwarded me the email – and I got free porridge!

And they’ve been perfect with another food definitely known as being a horses’ favourite:

I’d forgotten how good carrot cake is until I had some last week and when I got back from the fete at silly o’clock the other night, I suddenly wanted carrot cake porridge.

I used the required 40g oats (I think they have to prove you’ve eaten enough for the study to “count”) and grated a small carrot. I brought the water to the boil with the carrot in it and let it cook a couple of minutes, then added the oats, a pinch of mixed spice and a slurp each of lemon juice and maple syrup… and topped with vanilla Munchy Seeds.

So thick you could slice it, perfect.Β But did it taste like carrot cake?

It wasn’t a million miles away! And possibly even better, given that you don’t usually eat carrot cake warm and by the heaped spoonful πŸ™‚

I only realised today when I checked the terms that you’re supposed to eat it every day for seven days and I hadn’t had porridge today… which means I had to have it again tonight. It’s a hard life.

It suited perfectly as I’ve got to go out any minute and a quick dinner was the order of the day.

And talking of the day, it’s been beautiful.

After a cold start, it suddenly out of nowhere got absolutely roasting, cloudless sky, bright sun, perfect πŸ™‚

Dave wasn’t so keen:

He really feels the heat so I didn’t ride for too long but he was dripping with sweat. To be fair, I looked similar, just in a slightly less-hairy, fewer legs kind of way… πŸ™‚

Happy Saturday! Is it hot where you are? And breakfast for dinner? Or for lunch? What do you reckon?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Back on track

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    I trialled the rice porridge and loved it! I have written a post but I’m not sure if D.A like it…it’s been ages and they still haven’t got back to me, as they asked to pre-approve it. I can understand why no-one would want to be featured on my blog though.

    It was quite warm today, but the power of the sun was offset by a really chilly breeze. Breakfast for every meal, I say!

    xxx

    • Yep, breakfast all the way! And that %*”$ ing WIND – We’ve had it all summer and it’s HORRIBLE!
      I wonder why they asked to approve it… weird but if I made any product I’d want it reviewed on your blog because you do such good reviews πŸ™‚

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    I know what you mean about oats and horses. Not really a good mix. πŸ˜› Love that carrot cake porridge though – haven’t had that in ages! Great photo of Dave too – looks like he’s enjoying the sunshine. πŸ™‚

  3. Yess!! It’s so hot here. Poor CoCo’s sweating just standing in the field!

  4. How lucky!

    And that is a really interesting take on carrot cake! I might have to try it myself πŸ™‚

  5. The carrot cake porridge looks delicious! It’s something that I’ve always wanted to try, but haven’t got round to it yet.

  6. Hannah says:

    Carrots n’ oats–sounds to me like you are definitely getting back on (a delicious) track of eating like a horse! πŸ˜€
    Breakfast for any meal sounds good to me!

  7. Maria says:

    Yay glad that you got them! And that they are good! πŸ™‚ Carrot cake porridge sounds lovely πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Passing the buck(wheat) | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

