Disgusted

Like many other people, I spent last night glued to the television, watching in horror as rioting spread across London and elsewhere in the country.

The horrific scenes have been plastered across every newspaper since. Armed thugs, wantonly setting cars, homes and businesses on fire, grabbing armsful of whatever they can carry as they loot indiscriminately.

This is not in protest against the death of Mark Duggan; it is nothing to do with Government cuts.

These people are committing these despicable acts because they want to create havoc. Some bloke on the BBC was saying last night “these young people feel they have no stake in society”, a somewhat confused woman caught on film said she was “taking our taxes back”.

I’m not denying there are reasons behind and triggers for these atrocities but in my opinion, nothing, nothing begins remotely to excuse or justify behaviour like this.

It’s frightening to think that this is happening;  it’s very sad to know this many people are capable of this behaviour. But although there has been more rioting tonight in other cities, it does seem to be much less severe than it has been.

Please let this be the end of it.

But this is the spirit of London people determined to sort things out:

People were turning out in their hundreds today to clean up the carnage. And surely this many good people will beat the few who are ruining lives. My thoughts are with everyone affected.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Disgusted

  1. I’m so sorry 😦 I’ve been thinking about you and all the other UK bloggers!

  2. omg im SO HAPPY! ive been over here freaking out.. but go london people! love the cleaning! it will all get sorted out soon

  3. Wow..I hate to say it but I haven’t heard anything about this havoc. I’m so sorry it’s rough over there. 😦 But it’s good everyone’s banding together to help!

  4. It’s so unjustifiable, I heard some youngsters saying they wanted respect, way to earn it! I can’t get my head around it, it’s awful. I feel so so sorry for the business owners that will have lost everything.

  5. It’s times like this that any good acts should be commended more than the bad ones. it’s terrible to hear about this and the businesses and lives affected because of it! XO

    • There was one store that’s been in the same family for five generations and it was burnt to the ground – so sad. But so lovely to see all those people come out to help; they’re the real British people 🙂

  6. Meg says:

    So terrifying and sad. Prayers ❤

  7. I just heard about this- that is insane!! I hope everything gets better soon 😦

  8. Freya says:

    Well said. I think the whole thing is just horrible – I’ve heard them saying it’s cos they’re poor – so WHY are they destroying small, family owned businesses on their own streets, and keeping in touch via Blackberries!!?? How do they afford them, if they’re SO poor that they just HAVE to loot. It’s horrific.

    • Thank you and you’re right; it’s nothing to do with being poor. There was another kid on video saying he needed to steal, while brandishing his iPhone! It is horrific and there’s no excuse for it.

  9. That’s the positive of any tragedy–you see the worst, but you also see the best. There will always be goodness, hope and repair. Thinking of you in the UK and wishing the best!

  10. ~Jessica~ says:

    You have such a way with words: I can see why you’re in the field you’re in (what a horribly phrased sentence, but you get my drift!)

    Freya has a great point as well: if this is all about some kind of Robin Hood mentality, then where are these vile people getting the money for Blackberries and the like? I know I can’t afford one of those!

    xxx

    • Thank you 🙂
      Definitely; it’s nothing to do with that at all, they’re just getting in on the act. I’ve heard them on the radio just saying it’s “showing the rich people we can do what we like”. Nasty, nasty stuff.

  11. Very well put, I’m just so pleased that the communities are coming together to clean up, that shows the true British spirit!

Thank you for commenting!

