So much to do…

… so little time. Story of my life πŸ™‚

Lots to get into this post today, including the winner of my giveaway! First, you’ll have to suffer through some rambles though (sorry).

A quick re-cap of yesterday, Body Pump in the morning which, for the first time, hardly left me with any achingness! Peversely, I’m almost disappointed because my mind’s telling me it’s because I didn’t work my muscles hard enough… but logically, I hope it’s because the classes are having some effect. Whichever, it’s good to be able to walk down the stais without feeling about 85 πŸ™‚

I spent the evening at an open-air concert, held about 10 minutes’ walk from where I live:

It was such a beautiful English summer evening, the music was great and it was raising lots of money for Macmillan Cancer Support, which is brilliant.

Sadly, like most English summer evenings, it got so cold later on so we didn’t stay for all of it, but the chilled-out feeling of sitting in late sun with nothing to do and lovely music in the background was perfect. The large Pimm’s in hand and savoury Munchy Seeds waiting in the picnic bag helped too πŸ™‚

Today, I’ve been getting organised for going back to work, in theory.

InΒ  practice, I’ve ridden Dave, and my friend’s horse, and just generally faffed about. But the thought was there…

I finally got round to making some more apple puree too. It’s so useful and such a good way of using up bruised apples. I freeze it andΒ just defrost enough to make granola, or in baking,Β and although it takes ages to make, it’s really easy.

You just peel, core and dice as many apples as you want and put them with aΒ tiny bit of water, only a couple of teaspoons,Β in a large pan over a low heat. Keep stirring (trust me, you DO not want to have to wash burnt apple off the pan!) till they soften.

I wield my potato-masher once they’re soft enough, then my hand blender when they’re completely cooked:

Perfect. I’ll just have to freeze it pretty quick so I don’t eat the lot πŸ™‚

But talking of granola, and on to the last thing I need toΒ mention today……….. the winner!

And it is *drumroll*

For some reason, I can’t do screen grabs on this laptop, no idea why not. So please excuse the rubbish pictures of the screen. And number 33 is….

The lovely Kate, from What Kate is Cooking – congratulations! Send me an email with your details and I’ll get the loot sent to you asap – and don’t forget to say how you’d like your granola!

Now I do need to get organised – back to work tomorrow… not great, this having to earn a living lark πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to So much to do…

  1. Maria says:

    That picnic concert sounds just lovely- the one I went to the other week was perfect- such an English thing too!
    Congrats to Kate too πŸ™‚

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Picnic concerts are so representative of the English summer πŸ™‚

    Those apples look like they would make an ideal crumble filling. Mmm…crumble.

    Oh, and congratulations Kate!

    xxx

  3. Oooh I’ve been wanting to use applesauce in some recipes for applesauce for a while now but wondered how you make it. It’s so easy, I’ll definitely be doing that soon! I agree with jess aboce, I bet it’d be delish with some cinnamon in a crumble, mmmm. The picnic looks wonderful, a glass of pimms and munchy seeds sounds like heaven to me!

  4. I love picnics in the park!!! πŸ™‚

    Yay for Kate winning the giveaway!

  5. I love picnics in the park in the summer! πŸ™‚

  6. The picnic concert sounds fabulous, I love things like that in the summer!

  7. Ohh, jealous of both that beautiful-looking outdoor concert AND a day spent lazing around with horses πŸ™‚

    And congrats to your giveaway winner!

  8. Congrats to Kate! πŸ™‚
    That concert looks like so much fun! I love outdoor events in the summer, especially when the money goes to a good cause πŸ™‚
    And that apple puree… yum! It looks like applesauce! πŸ™‚
    Have a wonderful week!

    ❀ ❀

  9. Sounds like an amazing English evening haha πŸ™‚

  10. sophia says:

    I used to make apple butter…takes some time but totally worth it…and then with that, I made double-apple cake. πŸ™‚

  11. AHHH! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I’m so excited! Off to send you an e-mail right now πŸ™‚

    Applesauce is the best way to use up bruised apples! Also, I’ve discovered that if I accidentally buy an apple that I don’t care for (like Gala, whoops!) then they taste good when it’s pureed with cinnamon!

    • Wooop! Got your email and will get organised to send as soon as possible!

      And that’s exactly what I was thinking the other day – I had nasty bruised ones and horrible Golden Delicious and it all tastes exactly the same – weird πŸ™‚

  12. That concert looks like a lot of fun! Summer is not complete without an outside show. I look forward to seeing a Shakespeare play in the park every year.

    I have three or four mushy apples so I guess it’s time to make applesauce! With loads of cinnamon, of course.

    • That sounds great; they do lots of them in Kent but it’s such a gamble with the weather!
      And cinnamon’s the only thing I left out… but I add it when I use it later – perfect πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

