You crazy fool!

I keep meaning to say, thank you so much to everyone that commented on my giveaway post. It’s so good to get feedback and know what sort of thing people like to see.

Two of the suggestions were more recipes and (very flattering, thank you!) more pictures of me… really?!

So because I’m an obliging kinda gal, both are in this post. Two for the price of one, if you like :-)

First up, my ugly mug:

Yesterday wasn’t just about health food shop greed, I actually bought that lovely top too, from a really nice independent shop. It’s not something I’d normally go for but I love it – and just hope we get some warm enough weather to wear it.

Sorry for the rubbish picture, it took ages just to get that. I officially suck as far as taking pictures of myself goes :-)

And talking about recipes, can I tempt you with some of this?

No?

What about this?

That’s more like it :-)

When I was growing up, my mum, who’s the best cook I know, used to make family roast dinners every week, usually with a seasonal pudding. I remember asking what a bowl of batter was and being told it was potential pudding. It took a good few years before I realised what she meant and stopped asking her to make “potential pudding” :-)

One summer, she made gooseberry fool. Light, fluffy, fruity and delicious. I haven’t had it since, except for a nasty supermarket version, but when my dad said, a few weeks ago, that he had a bushful of gooseberries that needed eating, I knew what I wanted to do with them.

On Sunday, I had the chance to make a fool out of myself… or rather, to make a fool out of them, as I was invited for dinner at my friend’s. There are loads of ways to make gooseberry fool, with whipped cream, custard, yoghurt, or a combination of them all, but this is my version. It’s gluten-free, dairy free and vegan.

Gooseberry fool (serves about 4)

Fruit puree:

500g gooseberries

55g caster sugar*

Custard:

1 can half-fat coconut milk

100ml milk (I used Kara coconut)

40g cornflour

70g caster sugar*

I think this would also be great with any soft summer fruit – strawberries, raspberries and gooseberries with the coconut custard would be amaaazing. But as it’s vegan and delicious, I’m going to ask lovely Katie if she’d like to include it on her round-up of vegan desserts… and while I’m at it, I’m going to submit it to the just-as-lovely Amy’s great Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays too…

Do you get the impression I was quite pleased with this?? :-)

Have you ever had fruit fool? What’s your favourite summer pudding?

*Edit – I meant (and forgot) to use coconut instead of caster sugar for this, so I could include this recipe in another link-up! It’s lovely Ricki’s Wellness Weekends at Diet, Dessert and Dogs. Recipes can’t contain refined sugar – but if you do do the swap, I reckon this would count… :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to You crazy fool!

  1. I’d be pretty pleased with it, too, if I were you–looks gorgeous and delicious. I’ve never had fool before, but have heard good things. It looks like the simple sort of dessert I’d love. I adore your new top! And why are self-portraits so darn tough to do?

    • Thank you! Glad to hear it’s not just me… I got so annoyed trying to get a half-decent one and just gave up!
      And thank you for the compliment too… it’s really simple, if you don’t spill it everywhere like I did… I mean like I didn’t ;-)

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Pfft, ugly mug? I have never seen a mug less ugly. And you really suit that top: it pairs wonderfully with your skin tone.

    I must say I’m not a fan of fools or fruity desserts in general (you know me: chocolate obsessed) aside from banoffee pie, which is more biscuit and creaminess than fruit. I think in the summer I am very boring and tend to go for ice cream or sorbet: those coconut bars look right up my street.

    I also did a happy dance when I saw the PB in Sanisburies. Then I remembered that happy-dancing on a slightly buggered hip isn’t the best of ideas!

    xxx

    • Thank you so much! :-)
      I’m usually all for chocolate but I really liked this… but banoffee pie – now you’re talking… that stuff is the daddy of all puddings!
      Hee hee, I love the sound of your happy dance too :-)

  3. Errign says:

    Self portraits are always quite a pain to take without looking silly…

    I’ve never had fool, but it looks delicious. :)

  4. and this was the best picture of the lot – it was driving me up the wall!
    And thank you, fools aren’t that common for some reason, but it’s lovely :-)

  5. Maria says:

    I am awful at taking pictures of myself- I do not know how other people manage it! Love that top though, so summery :)
    And I used to love gooseberry fool too- we used to have a bush in our garden when I was little. Every summer I would eat them off the bush, and then remember how tart and sour they tasted, and not eat any more that year (until they were cooked in a crumble or something). Genius idea for the coconut custard :)

    • I know – other people do it all the time but I never can! Thank you, hope it gets warm enough to wear it :-)
      That’s what I kept doing too; eating them off the bush and regretting it but crumble sounds delicious too, great idea!

  6. never tried that recipe before! but chocolate pudding is still my fave :)

  7. You’re so cute!!! Seriously, you should post more pics! It’s fun getting to know the “girl behind the blog” :)

  8. I love gooseberries, they always remind me of my grandparents as my grandma grew them in her garden and then made gooseberry wine and delicious crumbles with them! Love that top, you look so pretty in that pic!

    • Yes, me too! Definitely a grandparents-type of fruit :-)
      Crumbles do sound amazing though; Maria said the same… I might have to freeze some for that purpose!
      And thank you so much :-)

  9. Bronagh says:

    That coconut custard sounds amazing! I have a tonne of frozen summer fruits in my freezer that need using up and this be just be the recipe to do it – thanks :)

  10. This looks delicious! I had a ton of goosberries earlier in the summer that I stewed. Next time I get some I will definitely try this out. I love the top too, self portraits are so hard to take!

  11. This looks so lovely and summery!!!

  12. The fool looks lovely. I used to love gooseberries from my Dad’s garden, but I haven’t had them in so long!
    Great self-portrait btw – you did better than I normally do!

  13. Hush with the ‘ugly mug!’ You’re beautiful, you should put more pictures up!

    I have never tried a gooseberry before- in fact, I don’t even know what they look like!

  14. you crazy fool! =) haha too funny! Love how different this is! I’ve never had anything like it! which always has me uber intrigued =)

  15. yum! I want some gooseberry fool! I’ve never had ANY type of ‘fool’ before.. perhaps a half lived life?? -most likely due to my food allergies- But I’ve been seeing it everywhere lately! thanks for the recipe – i’ll hunt for some gooseberries asap!

    • It’s not that common – but so worth trying! I’m sure it would work with other summer fruit, although you might need to adjust the amount of sugar a bit, but I loved the gooseberries… the coconut custard would be good on most puddings too as a dairy-free version I reckon :-)
      Thank you for commenting!

  16. Hi! This looks delicious. I’m a huge fan of Kara coconut milk, and I love the idea of mixing it with normal coconut milk – great idea. All best, Grace

  17. Pingback: Crunch time | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

