Bargain-hunting

Ooh, I’ve had some bargains today!

I love feeling I’ve saved myself some cashish – and I did ๐Ÿ™‚

I love days off too. Although I set the alarm this morning, it was for 8.15am, over two hours later than on a normal Monday, and it was so I could go and ride which, weighing everything up, is preferable to going to work.

I rode Dave (or rather the foot-perfect, well-behaved horse left in his place by the alien bodysnatchers) with Rosemary, who keeps her horse next door, then went round to hers for a cup of tea. My first bargain (or rather freebie) of the day was thanks to her groaning plum tree – she begged me to take them, so what’s a girl to do??

Now I’ve just got to decide what to do with them. Hmm, plum pancakes? Watch this space ๐Ÿ™‚

After lunch, I drove to Maidstone, where I haven’t been for ages and where I scored my second bargain:

These had been marked down from ยฃ2.29 to 99p but as I got to the checkout with one box, she asked whether I wanted both for 99p… I thought long and hard but in the end accepted ๐Ÿ™‚

It wasn’t great however that I’d found a brilliant independent health food shop, where I ended up buying lots of other loot:

Those coconut milk ice creams look amazing! They’re the sort of thing I’d jealously drooled over on American blogs, but now Kara has started making them… they’re dairy-free andย gluten-free, with a nice short ingredients list… and given my newfound love of ice cream and oldfound love of coconut – it’s a winner all round.

I was really impressed with the shop, which had so much I’ve only seen on the internet. I managed to resist the call of the rainforest nuts and chocolate spread and went for stuff like the quinoa flakes, which I’ve wanted to try for ages. The soya banana yoghurt looks great too.

And having spent money in a health food shop, on healthy stuff, I thought it only fair to go in the unhealthy “traditional sweet shop” opposite – and buy this:

Since I was given the amazing Simply Ice Cream sample a while ago, I’ve had a bit of a thing for honeycomb (not sure where their extra ‘e’ came from)… to misquote the Hollies song, It ain’t healthy… but I love itย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Last port of call was Sainsbury’s where I got some reduced-price sparkly writing icing for my goddaughter’s birthday cake – and was really impressed by some new additions.

They had Meridian almond and cashew butter – never seen the cashew in a supermarket – plus Skippy peanut butter AND Peanut Butter &ย Co smooth and chunky, as well as their own brand chocolate chip pbย – could it be Dark Chocolate Dreams next?!

Butย I couldn’t write a post on bargains without a picture of my ultimate, all-time, amazing find. Guess how much I paid for this table and chairs:

Give up?

The (pine) table and (four) chairs, found on eBay, for the total sum of……… ยฃ1.25. Yes, the decimal point’s in the right place. Love it, especially as the bloke didn’t even take my money in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

Are you a bargain-hunter? Do you feel especially pleased with yourself when you score an even better bargain than you first thought? What’s been your ultimate one?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bargain-hunting

  1. Maria says:

    I love to get some bargains!
    My local Sainsbury’s has had meridian almond and cashew stuff for ages (and I found their new pb with choc chips), but sadly no PB&co, ah well I can but dream! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I must say I am excited about those Kara mini milk things- I love Kara coconut milk so much, and I used to love mini milks, so it seems a genius combo to me!

    • I meant to link to you – I saw it mentioned on your blog first! I don’t usually go to this one but maybe it’s a new thing… fingers crossed, especially for the DCD ๐Ÿ™‚
      And I know – I (still) love a good Mini Millk too and I’m hoping these are the coconut version!

  2. Nicole says:

    I soooooo love plums! Not sure about recipes, I always just eat them straight…with a little juice dribbling down my chin, of course! And I’m curious, how exactly do you eat the honeycomb? Just straight? Or do you do something to it? Never seen it used before! Very curious!

    • Me too, I was just popping them in because they’re so small and sweet – and there was definitely some juice on the chin!
      And I haven’t bought any like this for years but just as it is is delicious…! It’s amazing with chocolate too; I used mini honeycomb chips in a chocolate recipe the other day and it was heaven ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Fantastic bargains – I’m particularly impressed by the beany burgers – I bought some the other day for ยฃ2.50-odd!

  4. All those plums looks amazing! I love perfectly ripe plums, yummy.
    Great bargains, I do love a good bargain but am often too lazy to scout them out. Those coconut ice creams look yummy, like coconut sun lollies!

  5. I love bargain hunting but I go an spoil it by buying expensive stuff as well! I feel it all balances out in the end ๐Ÿ˜‰ I will be tracking down those ice creams they sound perfect!

  6. I’m most definitely a bargain hunter! I love a good bargain! Love all of your foody buys too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    All those bargains sound amazing! Never knew Sainsburys made their own peanut butter especially with chocolate chips in it! Might have to make almond butter butter with chocolate chips in it.

  8. I am a crazy bargain hunter! My friends tease me, but I LOVE finding a good deal ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

