The totally tropical taste

I’ve discovered an actual scientific fact.

If you do Body Pump between 10 and 11am one morning, your muscles only get stiff between 6 and 9am the next day.

I know because when I woke up at 6am today and staggered downstairs (TMI but my bathroom’s downstairs and I needed to go to it!) I realised, in my half-asleep state, that my legs didn’t hurt at all.

When I got up three hours later, that wasn’t the case. Ow.

It’s so worth it though. I went again yesterday and I LOVE it! Apart from the killer lunges, maybe πŸ™‚

But on to today, and the post title… If you’ve got the Lilt Ladies in your head now, I’m sorry.

But the combination of mango and coconut means I had to useΒ it πŸ™‚

Although I’ve been unable to tear myself away from fruit/yoghurt/granola for weekday breakfasts lately, when it comes to weekends, I’ve been on a bit of a pancake roll. See what I did there?!

I keep being struck by new versions. Having made and loved banana/oat, raspberry/almond, peach/almond and raspberry/oat…. I remembered some mango I bought when it was on offer and froze.

Mango/coconut pancakes? With raspberry/coconut sauce??

Please, if that’s all right πŸ™‚

Obligatory process-of-cooking picture:

Take:

3tbsp dessicated coconut, ground finer in a mill or food processor

80g mango, blended in a food processor till smooth

2tbsp egg white

1/4tsp baking powder

Sauce:

40g raspberries

Splash of water

Sprinkle of sugar

About 1/2 tsp cornflour, dissolved in 1tsp water

1tsp coconut butter

Mix all the pancake ingredients together and cook on a well-sprayed skillet or pan, over a low heat, till browned on each side.

Meanwhile, heat the raspberries, water and sugar together over a very low heat, stirring to break up the raspberries. Once they’ve all broken up, add the cornflour mixture and keep stirring till it thickens.

Take off the heat and – this is the best bit – add the coconut butter and mix, then gloop it over the pancakes.

I don’t like to blow my own trumpet but mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm πŸ™‚

If you don’t want the sauce thick, don’t add the cornflour but I loved it because it was sludgy and lovely.

Very, very nice.

The rest of the day, cycling, visit to Tesco, riding Dave, out for dinner at my friend’s later… pales into significance πŸ™‚

What’s your favourite type of pancake?

Hope you’re having a great weekend – and don’t forget about my giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The totally tropical taste

  1. Yum yum! They look delicious! I especially love mango and coconut with overnight oats, so perfect πŸ™‚ My fave pancakes have to be my blueberry and carob, so tasty

  2. The sauce looks amazing! My goal for this week is to eat pancakes for breakfast, because I’ve never eaten them as a meal apart from on pancake day!

  3. Pancakes look good! I’m not a pancake expert, so traditional lemon and honey sounds good to me.
    DOMS are funny – I can be fine when I get to work. I’ll get up from my desk to make a cup of tea an hour later and be unable to walk!

  4. Little Bookworm says:

    Pancakes look great. Love that raspberry sauce as well. I generally just cook frozen raspberries down a bit, but like the idea of adding cornflour and coconut butter. πŸ™‚

  5. Tiff says:

    Yummy! I wish I’d had that for breakfast!

  6. Maria says:

    Yum that looks amazing πŸ™‚
    And yes that is so true about the body pump- mine is 7.15-8.15pm thursday, and some of me aches a little on friday morning, but by the evening I will be getting very stiff! And yeah those lunges are just evil.

  7. Bronagh says:

    Pancakes seem to be everywhere in blogland at the moment and these look some of the most delicious! I haven’t had any for aaaages but now I’m determined to sneak them into atleast one of my meals this week πŸ™‚

  8. I love pancakes. The mango and coconut combo sounds fab!

  9. Mmmm, pancakes! I love mango/coconut combos–so these sound great! My current fave is probably buckwheat pancakes, but I have a lot of fresh blueberries to use and am thinking of doing some blueberry pancakes for dinner. Who doesn’t love pancakes for dinner?

  10. Greetings. This is my first time on your blog, but you have a terrific one. I am always on the look out for new blogs, new ideas. I especially appreciate all the details you do, so many photos makes it seem like anyone can replicate the recipe!

    I am asking, would you please consider posting a few of your favorite recipes on erecipecards.com
    http://erecipecards.com/

    It is a tool for bloggers to see and to be seen. Your posts would fit in perfectly.

    in addition, all photos, recipe titles as well as your blog name would link directly back to your blog. Thus giving you new attention and potentially new readers.

    Or, if you just want to take a look at a lot of fellow food bloggers all in one place. A great learning experience to get ideas about how to establish your own blogging voice!

    Please take a look. If you have any ideas or questions, please do not hesitate to write

    Dave
    http://erecipecards.com/
    Contact@eRecipeCards.com

  11. Pingback: Pretty Pancakes « Beans Books and Cookies

  12. Pingback: Shrove Tuesday | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

