Body Pumpin’

I was going to write a post yesterday saying how beautiful days like that make you feel really glad to be alive. I would have qualified that by saying I’d have felt slightly gladder to be alive if that fecking wind had dropped πŸ™‚

But still, it was gorgeous. I cycled miles, gave Dave a bath, enjoyed the feeling of not having to rush and just appreciated everything.

I also cleaned my fridge. Not what I’d planned on a day off, not particularly rock ‘n’ roll. But still. It looks good πŸ™‚

I also got round to making a version of Katie’s cookie pie:

It’s a colleague’s birthday on Monday and I was wondering about making this so I did a test run. I think KatieΒ should haveΒ included a disclaimer on the recipe, something along the lines of: “uncontrollable cravings to eat the lot in one go will result” or perhaps: “licking blender blades could result in serious injury” πŸ™‚

Katie, you’re a genius. This is not just good; it’s out-of-this-world good. Make it.

Then the weather today was slightly different, along the lines of pouring rain and howling wind. As this put paid to our plans to going to the Kent County Show, I went for something different – my first Body Pump class! I’ve been meaning to go for ages but finally got my arse in the door this morning.

I’d been worried that I might just be incapable and end up falling in a knackered heap ten minutes in but the instructor was lovely; advising me what weights to use and checking I was all right – and it was great!

She only gave me small weights and I think I’ll up them next time for some of the tracks because they didn’t feel too taxing – the lunges though, definitely were, I’ll feel that tomorrow!

I stopped at Waitrose on the way home looking for one thing in particular…. and found itΒ Β  πŸ™‚

I haven’t had spaghetti squash for ages; so glad it’s back in stock. I know what dinner tonight’s going to be…

Then, when I got home, there was a parcel waiting:

It was a huge box of goodies, sent by Freya, from Brit Chick Runs. She’d organised the giveaway off her own bat, just to raise money for the Brooke Hospital for Animals. It was such a generous offer (and the goodies looked so great!) I entered but never thought I’d win… so chuffed because I’d never won anything before!

There was a huge selection and the only dilemma was picking what to have first πŸ™‚

In the end, I went for the Keerunch chocolate brownie crunch bar, with one of the Yogi Aztec spiced teas. The bar was delicious and the tea was out of this world. I’ve never been into herbal tea but with one mugful, I’m a convert. The cinnamon-y blend is amaaaaazing.

Thank you so much Freya! She sent me a lovely note in the parcel saying she’s well on the way, on her Just Giving page, to reaching her Β£350 target for the charity, which is brilliant and all down to her generosity. She also highly recommends the Montezuma Lordy Lord chocolate so I’ll make sure I investigate that later…. πŸ™‚

The rest of the day looks like not being very busy, if the weather stays like this! I will go to see my friend and goddaughter later, and cross my fingers the rain stops later so I can ride.

Hope everyone’s having a great weekend and hopefully better weather! Any other Body Pumpers? If I was managing the weights fairly easily, should I go up for next time or stick like that for a couple more times…?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Body Pumpin’

  1. Awwwwww!! So excited you made it!
    And Freya is SUCH a sweetheart… as are YOU! πŸ™‚

  2. Freya says:

    YAAY I’m so glad it arrived!! & that you love everything πŸ˜€ I had to stand in line at the post office for a full 25mins to get it posted :p so worth it though! Enjoy it all πŸ™‚

  3. Maria says:

    Yay for trying body pump! I think they always recommend having light weights for the first time, just so you get the hang of the moves and stuff. Hopefully when you go back next time the instructor will say to you stuff like “if you found this track too easy last time then add this much here” and stuff like that. It is hard to judge though so might take you a few weeks to get to the right weight- ideally by the end of the track you should feel like you could not do another rep- but when you pick up a bar once it can feel light- (eg I only have 5kg on my shoulders bar, which feels very light, but by the end of that track the idea of pushing anything higher than that above my head seems impossible! So I reckon go heavier, but a little heavier. Stuff like squats, lunges, you can go much heavier, but the arm stuff (and the back track as it can take a while to get the technique just right and not be snapped by the bar when you bring it back down again) would need lighter weights anyway. πŸ™‚
    Also depends what sort of weights you have, but our ones stay on the bar without clips, so for some tracks we add on heavier for the start (eg heavier for the rows in the back track) and then during the rest you can tip them off. So you could put extra on the outside of the clips and if it is too hard then tip them off?

    • Thank you so much! I’m definitely going again, the only problem was it wasn’t the usual instructor apparently, so I’ll have to get there early next time!
      Good thinking too, the bars had clips but if you can put weights on outside them, that sounds perfect, thank you!

    • ~Jessica~ says:

      What Maria said! I’d be particularly careful with the back track, as that’s the most ‘risky’ in terms of increasing weight due to the potential of overbalancing in the clean and press (which I have done way back in my BP past when I thought just whacking on some extra 2.5kgs wouldn’t make much difference).

      We have a lot in common in terms of our love of both spaghhetti squash and that tea.

      xxx

      • Thank you – I did feel the bar digging in my shoulders on the back track too so I’d be wary of adding more!
        And thank you for letting me know the squash was back, very much appreciated and I should’ve linked to you! Definitely a favourite and I love that tea… great minds, obviously πŸ™‚

  4. I got a spaghetti squash for the first time and loved it! And that cookie pie looks amazing πŸ™‚ Yey for Body Pump too, I think Maria’s covered everything in her comment, just enjoy it!

    • They’re so good, especially with baked beans… or is that just weird πŸ˜‰
      The cookie pie too but so addictive, seriously! And thank you, I did really enjoy it and will be going again (once I stop aching!)

  5. I’m dying to go to BodyPump – I’m even considering switching gyms to do it … but I’m not sure if that’s a bit extreme. My housemate went for the first time a couple of weeks ago and thought it was quite easy … until the next day when she couldn’t walk πŸ˜‰
    I have some Lordy Lordy chocolate to try as well – I can’t wait to crack it open. It looks like you got a fantastic haul from Freya.

    • Could you just try one class at another gym without changing memberships? I’m not a member of this one, you can just go in for classes… and yep, bum is aching now!
      Bless Freya, it was such a great parcel πŸ™‚

  6. I love Body Pump! I try to go 2-3 times a day for a full body blast. I even dragged Michael to it the other day and he’s the type to lift weights out on the floor…of course thinking body pump wouldn’t be worth it…but he was soooo sore the next day! Success πŸ™‚

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    That cookie pie does sound (and look) amazing. Maybe my next baking project? Congrats on winning Freya’s giveaway as well – that parcel looks great! πŸ™‚

  8. Isn’t Katie’s cookie pie the best?! I need to make another one! πŸ™‚
    I just bought a spaghetti squash too, and it’s definitely on the menu for dinner tonight. πŸ™‚
    And that package from Freya looks great! Congrats on winning!
    Have a wonderful rest of the weekend! πŸ˜€

    ❀ ❀

    • Amazing, can’t believe I waited so long – and I’ve already made another one for my friend’s birthday tomorrow πŸ™‚
      Thank you, hope you’re having a brilliant one too!

  9. I love when I can manage to clean out the fridge. I always seem to run out of room for the big things like watermelon! Looks like the deep dish cookie pie turned out great. πŸ™‚

  10. Your fridge is soooo clean! Do you want to come clean out mine?! Since I live with my family, it’s always packed to the brim and disorganized!

Thank you for commenting!

