A fete worse than death

Ok, it wasn’t that bad… but I couldn’t resist.

This is Timmy. Looks cute, doesn’t he?

Don’t be fooled.

Like any other little pony, he can be (and usually is) a right pain in the arse.

He’s perfected, for example, the art of darting in under the other horses’ noses, picking up their feed buckets and doing a runner.

We don’t always see eye to eye – but I’d promised to help my friend with him, at her sister’s kids’ school fete yesterday,Β because the other lady had dropped out

And he was a star. He loved having a job, he loved all the attention he got and, apart from boggling slightly when he passed the bouncy castle, he didn’t put a foot wrong.

You could tell, by his swagger back out into the field to tell the big boys what he’d been doing, that he loved it. You just couldn’t say the same about me and my friend – we were knackered!

It felt like we’d walked miles by the time we got back to the yard at 5pm and we’d had nothing to eat since breakfast.

It was lucky I’d been well fuelled with not only a bowl of raspberries and yoghurt, but also an amazing breakfast sandwich – aΒ butternut pitta, filled with the maple almond butter Liz sent me and sliced banana, toasted in one of my amazing toaster bags – you need to get these, even if you’re not coeliac – toasted sandwiches without a sandwich toaster?!

But I really didn’t eat enough yesterday because my stomach was saying firmly it wanted lunch when I got home at 5.30pm, so lunch it had.

But then, of course, I wasn’t hungry for dinner before I went out for a friend’s birthday.

This is what I wore:

I clearly haven’t mastered the art of taking pictures of myself yet πŸ™‚

But I had to take one of those jeans, they’re Victoria Beckham ones, reduced from about Β£250 to Β£50 – score!

It was a good night but I was too tired when I got in at nearly 1am to have anything to eat…

I made up for it this morning with something I haven’t had for ages… pancakes!

Not wanting to waste the raspberries, I incorporated them, using a version of my peach pancakes:

They looked so pretty in the pan, I couldn’t resist a picture πŸ™‚

I used:

80g raspberries

3tbsp almond meal/flour

2tbsp egg white

1/4tsp baking powder

Mixed well and cooked over a really low heat. They didn’t look quite as pretty once they were cooked…

But they tasted amazing! The tart raspberries went perfectly with the almond meal and the coconut butter on top was the finishing touch… πŸ™‚

I then cycled to the yard, rode Dave, had a violent internal argument about whether I could be bothered to cycle to the village to get a few bits I needed, finally persuaded myself to do it.

It was funny though, the way my thoughts were going “I’ll boil if I do” then “don’t be so bloody lazy”! In the end, I think the fact of having to go home, get off the bike and into the car and drive to the village seemed more of an effort – so one sort of laziness beat the other πŸ™‚

And I felt better for it but am now planning to spend the rest of the day doing… not a lot. Hope everyone’s had a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A fete worse than death

  1. Haha – this post made me laugh πŸ™‚ The pony does look really cute, but he definitely has a glint in his eye!
    I love the jeans – well done on getting them so cheap … I love it when that happens!

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Love it – you know how much I adore a good pun.

    And I don’t think I’ve ever seen a full-length picture of you: you look beautiful, better than Mrs Beckham herself in my book (plus, you haven’t got a pout cemented on! Naw, I love VB too, but just emphasisng that you look great) Do you have endless legs πŸ˜‰ Actually, if you don’t mind me asking, how tall are you? I’d give you a good 5ins on me from the looks of that pic.

    Small ponies really are little buggers aren’t they? A bit like terriers…I used to work at a kids’ farm and it was always the Shetlands that would pull and tug at you all the time (plus they liked to bite the kiddiewinks when they tried to feed them!) I do love small horses though, because their personailites remind me a bit of me: stubborn and bumptious πŸ˜›

    xxx

    • Thank you so much, lovely thing to say! I’m 5’7″ but have got my heels on in that pic, so probably 5’9″ or 10″ – think the angle makes me look taller too πŸ™‚
      And you’re right; they’re so irritating but you’ve got to love the ponies’ spirits – most of the time anyway!

  3. Zoe says:

    Those pancakes sound amazing, I might have to make some pancakes with raspberries and peaches. πŸ™‚ The Victoria Beckham jeans look stunning on you – great find!

  4. People think I’m so strange for not being a fan of miniature horses. I’ve actually had some pretty bad experiences with them being so mean! And whenever I tell people that they’re like “Awwwe, but they’re so cute!!” but in my experience, the smaller the horse, the bossier they are. He is a cutie, though!

  5. That little pony is so cute, he does look mischievous though! Those jeans look amazing on you!

  6. Maria says:

    Love that pic of you- yes I cannot do it either! Not full length photos anyway!
    And those pancakes- genius! And I want some toasted bags! (Because the toaster at work is so manky!!! Protect me from the germs!)
    πŸ™‚

    • Glad it’s not just me – I can’t really even do head pictures! And I hadn’t thought of that aspect but the bags are so good… you can get them in supermarkets πŸ™‚

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    Timmy looks so cute but I know what you mean about not being fooled. πŸ™‚ Those pancakes look great too! I tried to make raspberry pancakes once, maybe should try them again.

  8. Timmy looks adorable even if he is a little bit troublesome lol!

  9. Errign says:

    I really like those jeans and now I really want both raspberries and pancakes!

  10. Oh, I like your top! And self-pictures are impossible, I don’t know how some people get such good ones! If only ponies were as nice as sweet as they look…Glad Timmy behaved for you πŸ™‚

    • I know! Other people’s look great but this was the best of a few I tried before I gave up!
      And thank you, the top was handed down by a friend of mine, so a bargain outfit all round πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Cor blimey Guv’nor | Eating like a horse

  12. Pingback: Ow! | Eating like a horse

  13. Pingback: The totally tropical taste | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: Relay and raspberries | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

