Karma and chocolate

You know that, when you do nice things for other people, nice things are supposed to happen to you?

It’s true!

My neighbour asked the other day whether she might be able to use my wireless broadband signal. She really needed it for work but because they live in an old post office, where the telephone exchange used to be, they can’t get it, for some reason. She said her engineer had found a strong signal, which they assumed was mine. She said she wouldn’t ask unless she really needed it and she offered to contribute to the cost.

Of course I said not to worry about money, as I pay for it anyway and it’s not like it would cost me more, but that I’d never been able to get it to work. I spent about an hour on the phone to my provider the other week, and even he couldn’t understand why it would only connect through the cable. I assumed it was my slightly budget laptop and that I just wouldn’t be able to get wireless.

I told her the password anyway but then, when I saw her at the weekend, she said it worked. I thought it was worth my trying mine again – and that worked too!

She was still offering to pay but I said that if she hadn’t asked, I wouldn’t have it either so it’s a win-win 🙂

And if that wasn’t enough, when I saw her today, she gave me this:

A lovely thank you card and, in the parcel, this:

What a lovely thing to do, especially as she knows about my coeliac disease (and that I’m not averse to chocolate) so she made sure I could have it 🙂

Mmmm chocolate…

And speaking of which, go on, tell me your favourite type of chocolate ever!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Karma and chocolate

  1. Maria says:

    Aw that is very sweet of her 🙂
    Oh fave chocolate is so hard, at the mo it is dark chocolate with mint (green and blacks).
    🙂

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Favourite type of chocolate ever – Lindt 90%! 😀 Sweet of your neighbour to give you the chocolate and card!

  3. Aww, that was so sweet of you to allow her to use your internet and just as sweet for her to get you the chocolate. Love it! 🙂

  4. That’s so lovely! So so difficult to choose my fave choc! Lindt with sea salt has to be up there, I also love The Raw Choc companies Dark and Concious chocolates raw orange 🙂

  5. Hmmmm! Lindt dark chocolate with sea salt, RAWR dark chocolate, Vivani chilli chocolate and Conscious raw chocolate…yum!

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    Karma indeed! And you’re such a nice person anyway that I’m sure many more wonderful things will happen for you in the future. I must admit to being a bit possessive of my wireless signal…I’m not sure I would have been so generous! Then again, my life does revolve around blogging and blog reading so I’m always paranoid about losing my internet signal. Lord help me if I had to live in the ‘real’ world for more than an hour 😉

    Chocolate = Lindt 99%. It’s like crack. Failing that, the 90% is rather good too: both have to be dunked in tea with rice milk for maximum enjoyment though. I don’t understand how people can keep chocolate in the fridge…that Kinnerton’s is great for baking though: my Mum always used it over and above dairy chocolate when she used to bake muffins for charity bake sales etc.

    xxx

    • Thank you so much! I’d really struggle without it too and very glad I can use the wireless now!
      And I’m SO glad you agree – we had the “chocolate in fridges” argument at work the other day; I just don’t get it. You’re right, it has to be melty and definitely with tea! And me too; I always choose Kinnerton for baking, it’s delicious 🙂

  7. I’m not sure that I can choose my favourite chocolate ever – I really like the high-cocoa content stuff like Lindt 90%. I even like 100% cocoa bars – they are intense though!!

  8. How sweet- literally 🙂

    I don’t really eat a lot of plain chocolate, so I don’t know what kind is my favorite! I like anything with toffee in it 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

