Is that…?

There was something in the sky when I woke up this morning and I don’t know what it was.

It was brightish, roundish and yellowish and I was sure I’d seen it somewhere before, I just can’t quite remember when or where….

🙂

Ok, it wasn’t scorchio… and it did pour down later, as I’d left Dave without a rug (again) and left my bike outside – but the sun was out, kind of, which was a definite improvement on yesterday.

I celebrated with a sunshine smoothie for breakfast:

Frozen mango, banana, Kara coconut milk, xanthan gum and plain soya yoghurt, topped with home-made granola… yum.

I then got on my bike and went to ride Dave – and to see my dad, to wish him happy Father’s Day.

When I was little, he always maintained he “didn’t believe in” Father’s Day and that it was a “load of rubbish”. But one year, when I was about 12, that he said, a bit wistfully, “It’s Father’s Day today…”  🙂

I bought him this card, which he found very entertaining:

Last year, I made him fudge, which he loves. But as that was full-on butter, sugar, condensed milk, etc – and he ate the lot in one afternoon – and he’s now on a bit of a health kick, I was a bit stumped.

So I made him this instead:

After our healthy breakfast conversation, in March, I thought he’d appreciate one! I made a batch of granola, using almond oil instead of the almond butter and about 1/8tsp almond extract.

He did say “this looks like what I bought to feed my mouse when I was a lad” but he was really chuffed 🙂

My dad’s not one to show emotion, or to feel comfortable when other people do, so I couldn’t tell him he’s the best – but I mean it. And I think he knows. Happy Father’s Day Dad xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Is that…?

  1. BAHAHA i know right?!?! finally some sun today!

  2. It was pouring down here first thing and I got SOAKED waiting for my race to start, but nice and sunny now 🙂

    The granola looks yummy – a great present!

  3. Maria says:

    Ah what a lovely post 🙂
    My Dad is a bit like that too- he does not really go for fathers day, but I got him some beer and gave him some cupcakes which I had made and he was really touched. 🙂
    And hooray for the sun, that tropical smoothie looks amazing

  4. Aww that’s cute! I wish I lived near my dad so I could make him some goodies!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Your Dad and I sound so alike! I’m afraid I was naughty and bought him sweeties (choccie raisins, allsorts and fudge, his favourites!) but he doesn’t get many ‘treat’ foods nowadays and they did seem to cheer him up as he’s been feeling rather down recently.

    It’s been pouring all week-end here! I wish we could have had some of your sunshine 😉

    xxx

    • Bless him, and at least chcolate raisins have got a healthy centre (that’s what I tell myself when I eat them every night!)
      Glad they did cheer him up and the sunshine didn’t last long – maybe it’s on its way!

  6. vivoir says:

    oo i like! i make granola with coconut oil, never with almond oil… a new idea!

  7. Allison says:

    What a sweet gift! Looks yummy 🙂

  8. It was awful on Saturday, but Sunday remained dry with a little bit of sun! I want summer to arrive NOW!

  9. Great card, I got my Dad a similar one too!

  10. Anna says:

    The mouse comment is exactly something my dad would say, haha. But he’s not one for expressing emotions either, so it’s nice when you can tell your dad is secretly happy with something. I would be over the moon with granola, but I recognise I’m not completely normal in that respect…

  11. Exactly – you know when they think it, even when they don’t show it!
    And me too, I’d love it 🙂
    Thank you for the comment!

Thank you for commenting!

