Slightly Awol

I don’t think I’ve ever been this long without posting!

But dry your eyes, put the handkerchiefs away… I’m back 🙂

As a quick recap, my best friend’s husband was away on Tuesday and Wednesday so I stayed with her. Because with our different commitments, we don’t see that much of each other in the week, so it was great to be able to have a proper catch-up – even though we did that a bit much and went to bed at silly o’clock on Tuesday – and even later on Wednesday 🙂

So I was knackered, and got back from work really late on Thursday. Then my old schoolfriend, who moved nearby recently, invited me for dinner last night, which was also a great night. I was going to give it a miss because I was shattered after work but I was so glad I went. It was another late one though so breakfast today was also late…

It included this:

I couldn’t not get pineapple flavour cream cheese. Once I’d checked it wasn’t some weird sweet/savoury combo thang, I got stuck in.

French toast (GF bread, 1tbsp each egg white and milk, jam and the cream cheese) with strawberries. And the cream cheese was delicious – like eating cheesecake out of a tub. Which can’t be a bad thing.

And because that amount of strawberries is never enough…

I can’t not have some fruit or other for breakfast – or coconut butter, clearly.

It was a good thing it was so late too, as I went to help my friend at a show and, having thought we’d be back at about 3pm, didn’t take any lunch. We got back at about 6pm, by which time I was starving and freezing. The forecast was “showers” which apparently meant “downpours, always just as you’re outside” 😦

So the plan for the rest of the weekend is… not a lot, except of sleep! And catching up on other blogs too as I haven’t read any this week.

Did anyone else get soaked today? Have you ever tried flavoured cream cheese? I’m definitely liking that innovation 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Slightly Awol

  1. I haven’t tried flavored cream cheese but I’ve only ever seen strawberry flavored before..never pineapple! that’s pretty coold

  2. Jessica says:

    Errr pineapple flavoured cream cheese? Sounds amazing! I bet it’s so good on a toasted bagel! I’ve never had a flavoured cream cheese but have seen that they have load in the US. Clearly we are finally catching on!

    It’s raining all the time here too. Hopefully it’ll go soon!

  3. I’ve never seen flavoured cream cheese before – sounds interesting.

    Amazingly it didn’t rain here today and we had some sun! It’s pretty cold though – I’m still wearing my spring jacket.

  4. vivoir says:

    i’ve tried the usual herb one’s but nope, never the fruity type. always associated it more with cottage cheese i guess- i used to also get plain cottage cheese, then hand-blender it with some cooked chicken or prawns. makes a pate without any of the usual rubbish in it! 🙂

  5. I’ve tried pumpkin cream cheese- it’s SO good! I’ve also had honey nut and hazelnut. I love pineapple, but for some reason I don’t think I would like it in cream cheese!

  6. That cream cheese sounds good, I’ve often had cottage cheese with pineapple in the past, yum! I did get a little wet in town yesterday, where is the summer?!

    • I know! Not impressed at all. My dad said this bloke who’s got the year’s weather right so far said June would be a washout – but that August would be roasting so fingers crossed 🙂

  7. Maria says:

    I used to love pineapple cream cheese when I was younger. I think morrisons used to do one with mango and peach, or maybe that was cottage cheese? Anyway, fruit and soft cheese are a good combo.
    I got soaked on Saturday but luckily only for a couple of mins as it tipped right at the end of my run!

Thank you for commenting!

