Summer? Where?

Presenting, English summer weather:

Dave wasn’t impressed either.

When I rode earlier, I didn’t think it would rain so I didn’t put his rug on. Oops.

But I’m sure it would have made him better to know that while he was getting wet, I had a lovely afternoon πŸ™‚

I spent it in the pub for a friend’s birthday. There was a jazz band playing and although I’m not a jazz fan at all, they were great – I’d have been tempted to throw a few shapes if there had been a dance floor. Luckily for the other customers, there wasn’t.

Anyway, Dave was happy once he got his rug on and his nose in his tea:

Then I got my nose in my tea,Β which included carrot and swede mash:

I’d been wanting to make some ever since the “liking it rough” incident πŸ™‚

I just took 100g each of carrot and swede, cubed them and boiled till soft, then mashed them with a bit of margarine. If I’d been able to find my potato masher, no doubt I’d have done a better job – but it was great anyway.

I also made yet another cake:

But as it’s a new recipe and I want to see what people think, I’ll share it tomorrow. Unless it turns out minging, of course, in which case I won’t πŸ™‚

And as this post’s talking about English summers, I’m going to ask a very English question: what’s the weather like where you are?!

(Heating and big jumpers on in Kent, in case you wanted more details…!)

Have a great week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer? Where?

  1. Aww, Dave the horse looks so cute all covered up in a rug!

    I guess we were lucky – when I was in Oxford for a school trip back in May, we had beautiful, sunny weather for the entire two weeks! We were told that was mighty rare πŸ˜›

    • Thank you! He was much happier than when I’d left him with no clothes on… πŸ™‚
      And you were lucky – May was gorgeous, apart from the cold wind, but it’s been downhill from there…
      Thank you for the comment!

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    The weather has been strange where I am: very hot and sunny this morning then it dropped about eight degrees and became all rainy and miserable in the afternoon. Typically mercurial British weather.

    Poor Dave…he does look much happier in the second picture though!

    Thanks for baring with me on the review: I have a few cuts to make (darn thing was 1200 words long initially! Thankfully it’s a much better length now) and should be able to get it to you tomorrow πŸ™‚

    xxx

  3. Dave is so cute!! I don’t think Tonto liked today’s weather either. It was hot and buggy 😦 Which unfortunately also describes the weather here the last few weeks. I don’t like the hot, I don’t like the cold…. I just can’t be happy, can I? πŸ˜‰

    That cake looks deeeeelicious! And so does the swede mash. I need to try that!

    Have a wonderful week! ❀ ❀

  4. It’s HOT here!! I’m jealous of your cool weather. I’m sure CoCo would love for it to be cool enough to wear her blanket..but she gets so sweaty just standing out in the feild.

  5. The weather in California has been back and forth. Some days are gloomy (we call it June gloom). Other days, like today, are sunshiney with a cool breeze!

  6. I agree, this weather is so horrible. I’m really longing for some sunshine and have my fingers crossed it will be nice next month for my little holiday down south!

  7. This weather is annoying. I’m actually dressed for winter today-how depressing! 😦

  8. Little Bookworm says:

    I know what you mean about our lovely summer weather at the moment. Where has summer gone? Dave looks happy to have his rug on though. Looking forward to the cake recipe! πŸ™‚

  9. Maria says:

    Yup tipped it down yesterday here too! BUt sunny now πŸ™‚

  10. Maria says:

    Rained all day in London… Started the minute I walked out of my door for my run (typical). Cake looks yummy πŸ™‚ Hope thats reflected in the taste.

Thank you for commenting!

