Buttered up

It usually takes me under 45 minutes to get to work. I’m lucky because I live right out in the sticks, it’s country roads almost all the way to the motorway and, at the other end, there’s hardly ever any traffic in the town I work in.

A few weeks ago, Kent Highway Services decided to close one lane of the motorway where I leave it. There are only two lanes there so that’s made it slightly more entertaining. Today though, they decided to close the other lane.

I’d be the first to admit that sitting in near-stationary traffic for the best part of an hour is an overrated pasttime, especially when the Czech lorry driver next to you is blasting out some really nasty music, but at least I had a parcel to open, which had arrived as I left the house. And not just any parcel….

I thought I’d been supremely organised by ordering some more coconut butter before I finished the other jar but I managedย to underestimateย not only how long it takes to ship things from America but alsoย how much of this stuff I get through and I’ve been without it for AGES. A WEEK at least…

It has been a tough time for me but thanks to the love and support from family and friends peanut and almond butter, I’ve got through it. Just.

I could write books on how mouthtinglingly delicious this stuff is – but it’s also got amazing superelectromagnetic powers. I don’t know whether it’s the jar or the butter itself, but whenever you try to put the lid back on, this force irresistibly drags your finger into the jar and round (clockwise, usually), then an equally strong repellent force pushes your finger back into your mouth. And it’s too strong to resist; I’ve tried.

The last bit’s a lie of course – I haven’t tried.

Fresh strawberries with warm melty coconut butter on top…?

…traffic jam? What traffic jam??

What’s brightened up your day today – tell me, and brighten mine up even more ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Buttered up

  1. Maria says:

    That sounds like a fab combo ๐Ÿ™‚ I have some coconut butter- its Biona stuff. Is it like that or better?
    Body pump brightened my day, coz I love it and I missed it!

    • I don’t think Biona makes coconut butter – you’ve probably got the oil. That’s made by pressing it out of the coconut, whereas the butter is made by grindng it, the same as peanut butter, and it’s to die for! You can make your own in a food processor by just chucking in a whole bag of unsweetened dessicated coconut and letting it blend for 10-15 minutes, scraping every now and then – it’s amazing!
      I need to try body pump too; there aren’t any classes near me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    What brightened my day = breakfast cookie with chocolate coconut almond butter and new books to read. ๐Ÿ™‚ Might have to try the coconut butter I have with some berries – sounds like a nice combination!

  3. that looks….absolutely…amazing. i’ve been dying to try coconut butter, but for some reason i haven’t seen it in the stores. what brightened up my day? seeing an old friend that i grew up with, who has the exact same humor that i do. i can’t stop smiling!

  4. I’m pretty obbessed with my coconut butter too, I like melting in on top of a smoothie so it goes cold and forms a ‘shell’ so good! My big bowl of carob ice cream with colourful little choc covered sunflower seeds brightened my day!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Mmm, I have never tried coconut butter because I know how expensive it is and that a jar would undoubtedly last me less than a week.

    Ugh, traffic jams are the worst. And when I try to weave through them on my bike I get a lot of Czech lorry drivers suddenly changing lanes and trying to knock me off the road through being bitter, twisted and disgruntled it seems ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xxx

    • That’s the only problem! But because iHerb does that cheap shipping if you only get a light package, I go with it ๐Ÿ™‚ It does take some serious self-control, the only saving grace is that once it’s solidified again, you can’t just keep scooping it out, otherwise it’d last me no time at all!
      And yeah – know what you mean about cycling in it and nightmare lorry drivers… I saw a pair racing each other along the motorway the other day – not good!

  6. I live in the middle of nowhere (and thus commute to work on rural roads) too! Ordering staples in the mail is definitely key to errand running! I haven’t tried coconut butter yet, but I have been using coconut non-fat cooking spray, which I adore.

    • I’d love to try that spray too, sounds great! Loving the rural roads although they’re not so much fun in winter when you can’t get through the snow – at least that’s a good excuse for not going to work though… ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for the comment!

  7. I’ve yet to try coconut butter. I am beyond lucky with my non-commute. I live about 9 blocks from my office. My only traffic hold up is if I get stuck at a light.

  8. Hahaha! Wow, I’ve never had coconut butter, but all my nut butter jars have the same magnetic force! I try to close the lid and somehow my finger gets covered in the deliciousness and I’m forced to lick it off ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Such a cute post ๐Ÿ™‚ Us food bloggers get excited about the best things!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Haha I hate it when I run out of something and have to wait to get more! Coconut butter is so good, but I always forget that I have it! I use my other nut butters way more often. ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. I could never forget I’ve got this! It’s got to be my favourite of them all ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

