Slightly indulgent

As Nietzsche once said, “any day is made better if there’s a big chunk of cake involved.”

That particular quote has been mistranslated in the past, I believe, but that’s definitely what he meant to say 🙂

And to be fair, if you offered Friedrich a piece of this, I’d like to think he wouldn’t turn it down…

It was a friend’s birthday at work today and, for once, I’d got organised enough to make the cake at the weekend, instead of having to do it at silly o’clock last night. I wanted something a bit different and as I’ve had success with ground almonds and whipped egg whites before, I went down that route…

225g hazelnuts, ground

150g caster sugar

4 eggs, separated

1 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 180C and grease and line two loose-bottomed sandwich tins.

If the hazelnuts still have skins on, toast them at 160C for 10-15 minutes, taking care they don’t burn, then, when cool, rub off the skins with a tea towel. Then grind to a fine powder. Mix in the baking powder and set aside.

Whisk the egg whites in a large bowl to stiff peaks. In a separate bowl, whisk yolks and sugar till they’re pale and creamy. Fold the whites in three goes into the yolks, then fold in the nuts and baking powder. Divide between the two tins, level the tops and bake for 20 minutes, until the cakes are starting to come away from the edges. Leave to cool in the tins.

I iced them with Alisa’s whipped berry topping, which is definitely up there for the “best filling/icing ever” award, according to the judging panel (me) 🙂

I tried to be all creative and make the top look like a rose… but we’ve all got to be rubbish at some things… 🙂

I also forgot to get pictures of it sliced but it went pretty quickly! I loved the fact I overheard one girl from advertising, who’s recently been diagnosed lactose intolerant, saying she couldn’t have any – and telling her she could; she was so pleased. I also love cakes like these, that aren’t defined by the allergens they don’t contain – it’s gluten and dairy-free and has no “bad” fat in it but it’s still one that anyone would make that wasn’t fussed about any of that, and still enjoy it.

I also loved the fact it tasted great! The sponge was really light and (sorry) moist and such a lovely hazelnut flavour, which went perfectly with the raspberry/coconut icing. And it did make today (when two front page stories fell through, a couple of hours before deadline!) a bit better. 🙂

I’ve submitted it to this week’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free – and if you haven’t seen Amy’s blog, it’s great 🙂

I also want to say thank you to Jemma, for organising her bloggers’ swap at Celery and Cupcakes – very excited about choosing what to send, thank you Jemma!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Slightly indulgent

  1. Oooh, that recipe looks great! Bookmarking it for the next family birthday! 🙂 love the idea of using ground nuts instead of flour, I’ve used part ground almonds in a lemon drizzle cake before, but alongside flour rather than as the main ingredient.

    I love berries but if I did a chocolate icing for this instead then Liam would eat it too – it could be a healthier Nutella cake! He hates fruit in desserts which is rubbish as I don’t want to make things that only I’ll eat as then I’ll never fit into my wedding dress!!! 😀

    • Thank you! Let me know if you do try it 🙂
      Lemon and almonds sounds like an amazing combination too, thank you! And I bet chocolate would be amazing on this – exactly like Nutella! I bet you could even use that coconut cream icing with cocoa powder, then it’s still be healthy!

  2. Hahahaha at the quote! It’s so true!!

  3. Awww thanks so much for the mention! It’s all really exciting! I cannot wait to see what you get. 🙂 Your cake looks lovely, such a simple ingredients list too!

    • I had to keep checking when it was written out like that, in case I’d forgotten to list anything!
      And me too – I haven’t had time to go shopping yet but can’t wait 🙂

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yum! What a beautiful cake: the people at work are so lucky to have you. It’s great when so many recipes that are healthy/allergy friendly taste and look as good as their ‘normal’ counterparts. I wish more companies or restaurants etc. would adjust their menus to accommodate food that everyone can enjoy, but I suppose the costs and effort involved put them off.

    xxxx

    • Thank you! I love making them too though, so everyone’s a winner! And that’s exactly it – people always expect not “normal” things to be worse by default – I love proving them wrong!

  5. Pingback: Another day – another cake | Eating like a horse

  6. Pingback: From hangover to banoffee | Eating like a horse

  7. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like an unoriginal post title | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

