Slightly different

My breakfast this morning was different but only slightly…

I wanted porridge but didn’t have time, as I had to feed the horses and sort out my mum and dad’s dogs as they’re away. I was also down to my last two strawberries (mission number 1 for today) and had eaten all the granola I made the other day (mission number 2) so I supplemented them with blueberries, raspberries from the freezer and crispy rice cereal. Not as keen on the cereal as I am the granola but it did the job and I loved the mix of fruit 🙂

I took the dogs for a walk round the fields once I’d fed the horses.

Something else that was a bit different was this gate:

Notice anything?!

It used to be the way into Dave’s field but I’m glad they fenced off that bit because the gate was too narrow, right in the corner and bang next door to a field full of monsters (According to Dave) but for some reason, they took away the fence, not the gate. Random, – but I like it.

It also seems a bit different to leave one neat rectangle not planted, in a huge field of wheat:

I’m not a farmer but that definitely looks a bit different to me 🙂

And I suppose the weather was different too, in that yesterday’s bright sun is a distant memory, replaced with grey skies, coldness and rain.

One thing that definitely wasn’t different though, is that wind. Hmmph. But at least the horrible weather meant I was inside most of the afternoon, so I accomplished one of my missions:

That jarful of granola should last me at least, ooh, four days, if current consumption is anything to go by! I didn’t accomplish the other, as I was feeling far too lazy to go and get strawberries, but I’m actually thinking, having never been a huge fan of blueberries, that I might now have switched allegiances and, as my dad’s gooseberries are nearly ripe, it looks like happy days!

Favourite type of berry? Or is it all about a mix 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Slightly different

  1. ahah i loe ur different breakki!!! ugh i HATE the wind! it was windy in da city today!! fav berry?.. blackberries!

  2. Maria says:

    I could not choose! I love strawberries, blueberries, blackberries- yum! 🙂 But then I also loved gooseberries when I was little- have not had them for years.

  3. Right now I’m loving juicy strawberries because they are in season and CHEAP! I also love blackberries, raspberries, and bloobs. Ok… I guess I love them all!

  4. I’d have to say strawberries are my favorite! I’ve never had gooseberries before…actually, I don’t think I’ve ever even seen them! Lol

    Love the gate minus the fence!

    • Me too; I love the rest but strawberries rock! Gooseberries are great too though, even though they do look a bit hairy 🙂
      And I love the fact the gate’s open – and I still went through it, not round!

  5. Strawberries are my favorite! I love any kind of berry, but there’s just something about a good, sweet strawberry 🙂

  6. My favorite berry is probably blueberries! Especially frozen. SO good!!

  7. I’m strawberries all the way! I had a big punnet with my lunch today, I can’t get enough of them at this time of year. I’m trying to fill my freezer stash ready to see me through the winter when I want a strawberry smoothie!

  8. ~Jessica~ says:

    It would be strawberries for me, but only by a narrow margin over blueberries. Not a fan of gooseberries, and there are too many pips in raspberries/blackberries! Cranberries are obviously a bit on the sour side, and then too acid/sweet when sugar’s added. Yep, I’m picky about my berries.

    The gate does indeed look quite odd, as if it’s hovering in the horizontal dimension it’s situated in. I wouldn’t have minded if the gates in the race I did on Sunday had been like that, because then I wouldn’t have had to leap over them.

    xxx

    • With you on the cranberries! Don’t think I’ve ever noticed pips in raspberries though; I obviously shovel them in too fast 🙂
      And it does look kind of hovering, especially as the ground line’s not clear!

  9. I really like your picture of the gate! It looks like it’s filled with so much mystery!! 🙂 My favorite berries are definitely raspberries and blackberries!

  10. So the random patch of field that wasn’t planted is definitely different. And I think the gate-without-the-fence is pretty!

  11. I’m loving all kinds of berries at the moment strawberries, blueberries and blackberries are my top faves.

  12. Strawberries are my favourite at the moment, but I really can’t get behind frozen strawberries. They taste funny to me. Blueberries are my other favourite, fresh or frozen!

Thank you for commenting!

