Dream a little (Rice) Dream

As I was putting one of the horses’ rugs on yesterday, a gust of wind caught it and whipped it back in my face.

I suppose that, given the relative sizes of the rug and the metal clip on it, it’s actually quite impressive that whenever this sort of thing happens, the (small but heavy) clip manages to smack you right on the side of the head. But I wouldn’t exactly say I was impressed…

I could use that as a springboard to a rant about the nastiness of this wind, that we’ve been curse with just about every day since Easter Monday – but I won’t 🙂

The evening improved, by my meeting my best friend for a couple of drinks afterwards. Then, this morning, I woke up to find a parcel was waiting for me:

A lovely lady called Niamh had emailed me a couple of weeks ago, asking whether I’d like to try, and review, some Rice Dream milk.

Never one to turn down free stuff, I said I’d think about it… 🙂

I haven’t tried them yet but I will review them once I do.

Other good things about today were these…

I don’t know why I’m so into my biscuits at the moment but what I do know is, if you’ve got coeliac disease and keep buying the GF ones,  you’re going to get poorer, quickly.

Lindsay also asked, on my last post, whether the Trufree digestives were available in America. I still had their website open so I sent them a message and they said no.

So in those cases, ya just gotta do it yourself. I looked up a few different brands and they all seemed to use wholegrain flour, some also used oats or oatmeal, and not that much sugar. I’ve had some luck with polenta making crunchy biscuits in the past sooooo:

50g polenta

25g oat bran

25g buckwheat flour

50g icing sugar

50g butter/margarine

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp baking powder

Mix the dry ingredients together with a spoon, then add the margarine or butter and rub in (or mix in a food processor) till the dough looks like fine breadcrumbs. Add the yolk and mix together then form into a ball, wrap in cling film and chill for half an hour.

Preheat oven to 180C and line a baking sheet. Roll the dough out thinly between two sheets of baking paper or silicone and get cutting out 🙂

Bake in the middle of the oven for 10-12 minutes, until golden.

And the verdict?

They’re not bad! Not exactly like the  original of course – but then I haven’t got the patience to carve “digestive” into each biscuit…

The flavour’s pretty close – and the polenta gives them that lovely crunchiness; always good in a biscuit, I reckon.

Apparently, these biscuits got their name because people originally thought they’d help your digestion. And although I can’t say these actually help, with the buckwheat, polenta and oat bran, and relatively small amount of sugar, they probably won’t hurt nearly as much as some biscuits.

And, more to the point, they won’t hurt my wallet nearly as much either 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dream a little (Rice) Dream

  1. those look yummy! my mom makes a really great polenta and craisin cookie. such a unique flavor.

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Sorry about the rug incident – I’ve had that happen before! Great sounding biscuit recipe! 🙂

  3. Brilliant biscuits!!! 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    Those biscuits look good 🙂
    And yay for rice dream 🙂 I just tried some of the hazelnut and almond stuff- pretty yummy indeed!

  5. Glad your ok after the rug thing! I love rice milk, especially the vanilla one 🙂

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    I love Rice Dream very much. It’s a bit on the sweet side, and I do prefer soy milk but tend to avoid it as I eat a lot of tofu/soy yoghurt anyway and my body can’t handle a lot of it.

    Biscuits look so yummy too 🙂 You’re really innovative with your GF recipes…a cookbook needs to be in the making!

    Thanks for the e-mail: I really hope to submit something once the PhD madness of next week has subsided, and if there are any sample reviews at any point that would be fantastic.

    Hope you had/are having a lovely Sunday.

    xxx

    • I’ve got a major sweet tooth so that sounds good to me! And thank you so much, although you kind of have to just chuck things in and see what happens when you’re GF, with the price of shop stuff!
      That’s a pleasure, I’ll try to remember to send some and there’s no rush because we print two every week 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

