Waiting for a star to fall

That’s what I’ve been doing today.

Well not exactly – but then neither Waiting For The Vet To Arrive nor Waiting For Your New Phone To Be Delivered has got quite the same ring to it…

Dave needed his annual flu and tetanus injections so I took advantage of my vet’s zone visit scheme. It means that you book for whichever day they’re in your area and then you don’t pay the callout charge. You don’t get told a time, only morning or afternoon, so you’re hanging around but as you’re saving about £40… it’s doable 🙂

I was at the yard about two hours waiting but I used that time to mend two huge rips in Dave’s winter rug, saving myself the £20-odd it would have cost to get it mended – double money-saving result!

Actually, it was triple money-saving, as this came today too:

I managed to break my old phone last week, but one call to a lovely lady at Vodafone and I secured myself a free early upgrade, and £5 less a month on my bill for the same amount of minutes, calls etc. She did try to charge me the £5 delivery, saying it was only free for web orders, but when I pointed out I’d have ordered it on the internet if their site had been working… she laughed and gave in.

But I had to wait for the phone too. So I put the time to good use, making something for this:

Ricki, of Diet, Dessert and Dogs, and Kim, of Affairs of Living, have chosen carob as the ingredient for the Sweet or Savory Challenge for May. I’d bought some carob powder a while ago but hadn’t really used it, so this was my opportunity.

The first thing that came to mind was 9Bars, because I love the carob topping, combined with the seedy flavour of the bars. So I made essentially my own version of those:

8tbsp (90g)sunflower seeds

2tbsp (24g) shelled hemp seed

2tbsp (14g) ground flax seed

2tbsp and 4tsp agave, divided

2tbsp carob powder

1tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/2tbsp water

Blend seeds and 4tsp agave in a food processor or grinder until clumping together. Spread on cling film and put in the freezer for about 10 minutes. Hunt everywhere for the carob you know you’ve got, somewhere, eventually finding it in a really stupid place (optional)

Combine (newly-discovered) carob powder with the coconut oil, 2tbsp agave and water and whisk really well together. The oil and the water won’t want to mix (that’s science, that is) but use the whisk and make ’em. Take the seedy bar out of the freezer, pour the topping over it and put back in the freezer till set. Refrain from scooping excess topping up with a spoon and tipping it down your throat (optional)

Put back in the freezer for 15-20 minutes, until set, then cut into pieces and eat the lot sample.

I was hopeful as soon as I tasted the topping. I used a chocolate one Ricki came up with for her raw Milky Way bars (which are amazing) and just subbed carob and agave for the cocoa and maple… and…

And do they taste like 9Bars?  Kind of! I’ve got a mega-sweet tooth but even I thought the agave could be toned down a bit in the topping. Next time, I’d start with 1tbsp and add the other tbsp of liquid as water or sweetener to taste. I’d also make the bar bit thicker because these were a bit too flat to get the full crunch and amzing flavour of the seeds… having said that; they weren’t a million miles away  -which could be even more money saved!

I’ve also saved about £60 just from not driving to work this week (mental petrol prices alert) so it’s cashish saved all round – perfect for the shopping spree my friend Emma and I have planned for Thursday… 🙂

Carob – tried it? Love it? Hate it? Not fussed about it? what do you reckon?!

(Apologies for the lack of linkage – I can’t seem to get WordPress to do it. It’s either WordPress being an arse or me being blonde, probably the latter, but as soon as I can do all the links, I will!)

Edit – managed it, but only through Firefox – grrr… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Waiting for a star to fall

  1. I’ve never tried carob before- I’ve heard very mixed things about it!

  2. Maria says:

    Yum that looks good! I like carob- I like it with things but on it’s own not so much. 🙂 It’s alright on it’s own, but not as good as chocolate

  3. I love that – take a whisk and make em! haha! Home made 9 bars is such a good idea!

  4. Sonia says:

    The bar looks so good! I am a huuuge fan of carob 🙂

  5. OMGOMGOMG genius! i LOVEEEE 9 bars!! and carob rocks! but i cnt eat it alone!

  6. I’ve only really tried carob on top of 9 bars and they taste great! I’m a chocolate-loving girl, so I don’t think I’d ever choose carob over chocolate.

    The bars look really good – great idea 🙂

  7. Ricki says:

    I’ve never heard of 9Bars, but they sure do sound yummy! Yours look great–and packed with ingredients I know I’d love. Thanks so much for submitting these to the SOS Challenge this month! 😀

  8. Personally, I love carob. 🙂 It’s been my chocolate substitute for years. I host a weekly link-up event at my blog called Slightly Indulgent Tuesday – I’d love for your to join in. Your spin on food would be a great addition to the other recipes there.

    Hugs,
    Amy

    • I will do, thank you very much! And thank you for the comment 🙂
      I’m definitely on the carob thing now so maybe I’ll do something with that and submit it… thanks again.

Thank you for commenting!

