Shake it up baby!

It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday Tuesday!

But first, I want to tell you a story.

When I was little, my family would go on holiday every summer. Earlier in the year, my mum would ask us if we had ideas as to where to go. Without fail, my answer would be “I want to go to …..”

The “…..” being wherever we’d spent the previous year’s holiday. Occasionally, we’d go somewhere two years running but usually, we’d go somewhere new and I’d love it. Then I’d ask to go back there the next year.

I haven’t changed much 🙂

When I said, on my about page, that I used to eat the same three meals every day, I wasn’t joking. I can’t believe now that I ate the same breakfast every day for nearly THREE YEARS! Lunches were pretty similar and dinners only rotated between a couple of things.

So it’s a slight understatement to say I know my default setting is to stick to what I like. I’m much better now and I think yesterday’s food sums it up a bit…

Breakfast:

I managed to emerge from the lake of greem smoothies I’d been drowning in to find a new love – fresh strawberries and raspberries with plain soya yoghurt. Apparently, the hot Easter meant a bumper strawberry crop – which means low prices – which makes me happy 🙂

The sweetness of the berries with the delicious creamy yoghurt is perfection, only equalled by my second breakfast, of Genius multiseed bread, toasted and topped with coconut butter and strawberry jam:

I don’t need to tell you how good that was. And, I don’t know whether it’s the combination of lots of protein, fruit and some slow-release carbohydrate, but this breakfast kept me full for hours. Lucky really, as we were so busy at work, I didn’t have lunch till about 2.30pm.

And lunch was a sandwich with the sample of M&S bread I got from the gluten and allergy free expo, which I’d frozen, with chopped hard-boiled egg, a bit of mayonnaise and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast. I usually stick to my pancakes for lunch but this was brilliant. With a crack yoghurt and some salt and vinegar Snack A Jacks (kept at work so not in the picture).

I had an apple on the way home, as always. I’d expected a nice crisp Braeburn but what I actually got, thanks to the open can of deodorant also in my bag, was Braeburn a la Dove for Women. I don’t recommend it.

Dinner was also different, and not only because it wasn’t covered with deodorant. Although I usually change the main attraction, the supporting cast always seems to be roasted butternut chunks and a steamed vegetable mountain.

But today, I had a jacket potato, baked beans and cheese. Kind of.

I “baked” (microwaved then stuck in the oven to crisp up) a sweet potato and had it with home made coleslaw and home made “baked beans”:

I sweated some finely-chopped leeks, then added chopped mushrooms and sauted till they were browned. I then added a (400g) can of chick peas and one of chopped tomatoes and heated them gently together, with 1/2tsp garlic powder and about the same of a dried herb mix, 2tbsp tomato ketchup, 1/2tsp brown sugar and about 1tbsp nutritional yeast…

I’ll never desert Mr Heinz’s finest beans – but these were brilliant. I loved the addition of the veg and the flavour, especially with a dollop of Veganomicon cheezy sauce on top… 🙂

And I may still have had steamed broccoli with it – but it’d take a spell in the Priory to get me off that stuff 🙂 

But possibly the best of What i Ate Yesterday is this:

Yeah, not what’s in the vase, although they are related, this:

I’d written a business story about a new ice cream parlour and sadly, because of the amount of work I had to do, didn’t get down there to, er, research it properly. but the owner was so pleased with the piece, bless him, he brought me those gorgeous flowers AND he brought four of those mini pots of ice cream in.

I think I need to stop saying I can take or leave ice cream 🙂

Simply Ice Cream is a Kent company that uses only fresh, natural, local products. It was started by one woman and she now stocks not only independent shops and restaurants in the southeast but also Waitrose branches in Kent. I had the honeycomb and believe me, those angel’s wings on the pot are no exaggeration. This is the best ice cream in the world.

Fact.

So all in all, I think shaking it up on the diet front worked wonders, so much so that I might have to have the baked sweet potato and beans again tomorrow night… 🙂

Do you get stuck in food ruts? What was the best thing you ate today = or the worst?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Shake it up baby!

  1. AHH AYAYAYAY FOR A WIAW!! umm best thing is ur DINNEr!

  2. I definitely get stuck in food ruts. In fact, the main stuff I eat would be considered a “rut” except it’s exactly what I want. Like for dinner, it’s usually a ton of veggies with eggs or something for protein. Simple and filling. And if I go a day having something else, I actually miss my usual!

  3. I like to go with what Averie from Love yoga and veggies calls a ‘grove’ rather than a rut! Obviously my green smoothies are pretty much the main staple meal in my diet. I’m actually quite good at changing things up as I do like variety – even with my green smoothies! I’m eating a large number of salad beasts at the moment. Thankfully my apple addiction has been reduced so I am no longer eating 3 or 4 a day, now that was a rut!

  4. lindsay says:

    i always see those baked beans, glad to know they are “elle” approved!

  5. applesnoats says:

    your dinner is making my stomach grumble right now!!!!
    I always get in food ruts…hence the cake batter oatmeal ive had for the past two weeks. It’s just so hard to venture away from something that’s so delicious

  6. I’m a food rut queen! Before I started my blog I was eating the same weekly menu over and over again! and everytime It gets cold i’ll make the same soup until I can’t bear the sight of it any longer! haha!

    Good call on not eating the deodorant apple! =) Your dinner looks FAN-flipping-tastic!!!! ❤ yummm!

  7. Maria says:

    Ew deodorant apple does not sound good!
    The ice cream sounds amazing though- I love honeycomb 🙂
    I also like to have the same things because I know I like them!

  8. I get stuck in breakfast ruts, but I can’t when it comes to dinner because I’m cooking for more than just me. But I like the same old same old when it comes to breakfast. 😉

  9. this all looks grand. I sometimes get stuck in food ruts. I mostly always have salad with dinner. I used to freak out if I couldn’t but now I’m okay about it.
    I love the looks of your dinner. jacket potatoes are delish!

    • Thank you! I’d never had a jacket sweet potato like that and it was amazing, especially with the “beans”… and you’re right; once you stop eating something or get out of the habit, you’re fine – me too 🙂

  10. I don’t eat the same things every day, but there’s definitely a lot of repetition over the period of a week or two. The best thing I ate today? Probably a orange pepper and spinach frittata – yummy 🙂

    The “baked beans” are a really good idea – sounds delicious!

  11. Lucy says:

    Im literally running to waitrose now to get the honeycomb….i love hockey pockey!!

  12. I totally get stuck in food ruts! 😛 I am such a habit person I have to make sure to mix it up. Weird bec I also love cooking new things!

    I love that Jacket potato! mmm mmm!

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

