Bicycle! Bicycle!

 

Freddie Mercury had it spot on with that song 🙂

But first things first…

I went out for a lovely meal at Elvey Farm, a converted farmhouse in the middle of beautiful countryside, last night. It’s a stunning old house, complete with low beams and small rooms, and the atmosphere, the music, the lovely staff were all perfect.

The food was to-die-for too. I’d spoken to the owner on the phone and he said anything could be made gluten-free for me but as soon as he told me the fish of the day was sea bass with tarragon sauce and asparagus, I was sold. It came with baby potatoes, pureed Jerusalem artichoke, broccoli and carrots and was out of this world, as was the locally-made ice cream that came after. Happy days.

A couple of the people that came hadn’t come on Monday. I love celebrating a birthday on the day and at the weekend because you get a double one 🙂

One of my friends bought me these:

I’m really starting to worry about this addiction now – EVERYONE I know seems to know about it. Oops 🙂

The raisins also came with this genius mini door-hanger:

On the other side, it says: “Please wake me up! Chocolate needed – send supplies!”

It was a great night – and not a bad day either: meet my new friend:

I chose it yesterday but couldn’t bring it back because a) it wasn’t ready and b) I cycled to the shop. I may do a lot of cycling but I’m not quite up to the two-bikes-at-once thing. Yet.

The bloke in the shop recommended I get a man’s bike because they’re bigger and I’m tallish with long legs. I also went for a “hybrid” one, ie not quite a road bike but much less like a mountain bike than the one I had been riding. The man told me exactly what made it different; something about wheel size, gear cogs, tyres etc… but I can’t really remember the details 🙂

I can remember one of the pearls of wisdom he let slip – that men and women have different bike sadlles because “we’re different down there”. Really? Who knew?!

But I got it at a bargain price and today, having cycled my mum’s bike to hers, my dad gave me a lift and I cycled it home, the long way. Then to the farm shop. Then up the yard 🙂 I love it!

It makes you sit a lot more upright than you do on a mountain bike, which I like because I get backache otherwise. It’s also really smooth and, like the bloke said although I can’t remember why, the gears are more suited to roads, so I don’t run out of them when I’m going downhill. Lots of happy cycling to come on this baby…

Sad to admit but I also like the fact it’s got room to attach a carrier thing on the back. I’m such an old woman.

The rest of the day included a great ride on Dave and speaking to my brother. He’d been trying to ring to wish me happy birthday but because he’s still working in South Korea, it’s been difficult. I hadn’t spoken to him for ages so it was great to hear his voice 🙂

Off to get myself organised for a mad busy week (again)! But, before I do, UK readers who haven’t seen Laura’s great blog lately should get over there double quick because she’s having an amazing Nakd, Vivapure and The Raw Chocolate Company giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bicycle! Bicycle!

  1. I LOVE your bike! I have a hybrid- not really sure what that means but I can sit nice and upright, because you’re right… my back aches otherwise! I tried riding my dad’s road bike and I couldn’t balance. I fell off twice!

  2. Maria says:

    Yay for the new bike!
    And I love that door hanger 🙂

  3. Thanks for the giveaway shout out! That bike looks wonderful, I would love to have a bike one day. Don’t get me started on hotel chocolat, its amazing in there – they had some wonderful dark chocolate covered ginger – I had to show major restraint! Hope you enjoy those raisins!

  4. Great looking bike 🙂 It’s so exciting – just like being a kid again!

    I have a massive Hotel Chocolat problem, I just can’t walk past without going in and buying something. I love the free samples, I get very upset if they don’t have any!

    • That’s exactly what it was like! I remember getting a bike one Christmas and finding it on the landing on Christmas day – but I think I’m more excited now 🙂
      And free Hotel Chocolat samples?? Sounds like something I might be interested in… 🙂

  5. She’s bringing sexy bike!

    Oh yes, I went there.

  6. Those raisons souns dive. I got some Hotel Chocolat dark chocolate pink champagne truffles for my birthday that still haven’t started. They look so tempting!

  7. YAY for the new bike!! That’s so exciting, girl! I love that the bike guy explained why boys/girls bikes are different, hehe! Good he could enlighten you there. 😉 Also, I love the chocolate door hanger!

  8. Awesome! I just recently got a bike too! I love them 😉 So great for random exercise even when you’re just making a trip to the library or grocery store, hehe.

Thank you for commenting!

