Getting older!

Thank you for the birthday wishes yesterday!

I had a great day too, even though it included work. I spent the last hour at a watersports lake, watching two four-year-olds practise waterskiing for a charity event. They were amazing and, as I said to their parents, I can think of worse places than the side of a beautiful lake, in the sun, to spend work time 🙂

Other good things yesterday included this, from my colleagues for my birthday:

That’s the Pimm’s, not the blender – or the 2p jar 🙂

Plus a bag of chocolate-drizzled popcorn with pecans – they know me well.

They also gave me a lovely Cath Kidston mug (with fudge inside) and this beautiful picture:

It’s so apt because it’s not only of a beach I’ve done loads of stories on, about an impending development, but it’s by a local artist I really like, bless them.

I had originally planned to go out for dinner but in the end, with work and childcare commitments, I thought it would be easier to do that this Saturday and just have a few people round to mine last night. I baked chicken breasts, with rosemary, garlic and leek, in foil and served them with asparagus, baby potatoes and mushroom soup, as sauce, followed by meringues with strawberries, raspberries and yoghurt. It seemed to go down well and it was a great evening, aided and abetted by some strawberry Bellini (brought by my friend Emma) and my Pimm’s. It would have been rude not to try it, after all… 🙂

Emma, who also knows me too well, not only gave me this lovely bag:

But then said: “The most important present’s inside”. She had a point:

Then my mum, bless her heart, texted telling me to look in my spare room wardrobe. She’d been here waiting for the plumber for me last Thursday and had left presents! I didn’t see her till today and she wanted me to have them on my birthday, which was so lovely.

I picked up one really big one and, this proves how sad I am, was really pleased whenI opened a Tupperware box…! I’ve inherited my mum’s habit of saving every possible plastic box of any size, just in case, so the real McCoy is always good 🙂

Then I realised that wasn’t all:

She’d wrapped the other presents, which included a smaller Tupperware box with really little presents inside, and put them in the big one 🙂

It was such a lovely thought. She’d given me these:

Can’t wait to try some of those cookie recipes; I’ve only had a quick look through but they look goooood 🙂

But, what I’m really excited about is… I’m going to get a new bike!

I haven’t been given a bike for my birthday or Christmas since I was about 12 but I don’t think I could have been more pleased then than I am now. I’ve been using my friend’s husband’s old bike which is an off-road, man’s one and which gives me backache (and bumache) if I do more than about six miles so I’m looking forward to choosing a new road bike at the weekend.

But enough of this marathon essay post, I’m going to play with my new toys, ie work out what can go in my new Tupperware…

I’m so sad 🙂 But at least my friend Bec agreed with me on the box-saving front, I reckon I’ve got hundreds! Is is just me – or do other people have this thing with Tupperware too??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Getting older!

  1. Danng, you snagged some great birthday loot! Your friends and family really know how to please a foodie. 🙂

  2. I love the cookbooks! I’m dying for the cookie one 🙂 Hope you had a great birthday!

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Happy belated birthday! 😀

  4. Christy says:

    Happyyyy Birthday to you!!~ It seems that a lot of people are celebrating their birthdays in May…it must be a great month..:D

  5. applesnoats says:

    aww your moms so sweet!!!glad you had a great birthday with lots of foodie presents:)

  6. Maria says:

    I love tubs! I love those stackable paperchase ones- so pretty!
    That bag is lovely (and all the contents too!)
    And that cookie book is brilliant- you will love them for sure!
    Glad you had a lovely birthday

    • I haven’t seen the Paperchase ones; might have to investigate!
      And I’m sure it was seeing all the great cookies you’d made from the book on your blog that made me want to get it so thank you!

  7. I love tuppaware. It’s so useful and my kitchen would be a mess without them.

  8. Happy belated birthday! great gifts, bet you can’t wait until you get your bike!

  9. ahhh HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!! awesome gifts!!

  10. Wow – looks like an amazing birthday haul. I love Pimms – it’s a proper summer drink with lemonade, citrus, cucumber and mint. I need some now!

  11. Aww sounds like SUCH a great birthday!! Glad you got to enjoy it so much and got such great gifts. You are surrounded by great people it sounds like! 🙂

  12. Agh, can’t believe I missed your birthday! Happy Belated Birthday, and I love all your presents! So jealous and your family & friends definitely know you well 😉

  13. ~Jessica~ says:

    So sorry I’m late with the birthday wishes!

    Your presents are wonderful, but then again so are you so they are very much deserved. And I am very excited about your new bike: do post a picture! Do you ride a road bike now? If so, any tips on how to balance on them? Being that I can’t run I’m desperate to focus on cycling but still have yet to figure out how not to fall off a road bike with those thin tyres.

    ccc

    • ~Jessica~ says:

      Yep, I’m an idiot.

      I meant to sign off with ‘xxx’

      *blushes*

    • Thank you for such lovely comments! Bike picture coming as soon as, very excited! It’s more a road bike than I had before but I’m not sure about any tips other than making sure it’s all adjusted properly; turns out I’d been too squashed up for ages and if it’s too small, you’d probably struggle to balance?
      And I like “ccc”, much more original than Xs 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

