No such thing as a free lunch

Well that’s definitely not true!

I took a jacket and scarf with me today, to the Gluten and Allergy Free show, and I didn’t need them because it was roasting.

I took a sandwich too… and I really didn’t need that either.

There were so many stands, so many free and delicious samples, practically being thrust on you; what’s a girl to do?

She gets stuck well in there, that’s what πŸ™‚

I’d like to hand out some awards, based on my (extensive) sampling. First up, the Completely Addictive Award, which goes jointly to Fria’s chocolate brownie cake and Trufree’s Chocolate Nobbles (not just because of the genius name):

I can’t show you the brownie cake because I didn’t get any of it but even if I had, it wouldn’t have lasted long enough for me to take a picture. It’s gluten-free and dairy free but it’s the richest, most chocolatey (but not sickly) cake I’ve ever tasted (and tasted, and tasted). It’s just the cake side of mousse and it was un-believably good.

I did succumb to the Nobbles though πŸ™‚

They call ’em irrestistible and they’re not wrong – crunchy, chocolatey and a bit coconutty? Oh yes. And lest anyone think I’m handing out these awards lightly, I’d like to make it clear that I’m no irresponsible blogger who just sampled a mere corner of either of these; I went back for seconds (and thirds) only to make entirely sure I was endorsing an appropriate product, in my unending journalistic quest to get the truth to YOU, dear reader.

Ahem.

The Most Interesting Gluten Free Product Award is joint too, partly going to Nairns with this lot:

I’d coveted the Nairns oat biscuits for a long time and the bloke on the stand today hinted that GF ones ofΒ those could be in the pipeline, woop! But these oatcakes were delicious too and only 50p for the little packets (he chucked a box of the plain ones in free, which was even better…) I love the fact that more companies are getting on the GF oats thang πŸ™‚

The other winner is Genius, with this:

I’d heard good things about Genius bread, but hadn’t tried it. But this seeded loaf is new, not out for a couple of weeks, and was on offer today – and it tasted pretty good to me. The fruit loaf and brown rolls were brilliant too and I love that this is a small company, started by one mum whose children have food intolerances and who spent years coming up with her recipes πŸ™‚

Also great was the M&S range:

I didn’t even know they did GF stuff but this bread was really good. and, as well as the plates of little samples, they were giving away proper packs like these – lunch sorted for a couple of days!

Best Dairy-Free has to go to Celtic Chocolates:

That’s the closest dairy-free version of milk chocolate I’ve ever tasted – it’s a dead ringer for Terry’s Chocolate Orange, which I used to love but which isn’t GF – result!

But Best all-Round Company (and Top Dude) Award has to go to Rude Health. I got into conversation with the bloke on the stand when I spotted the Multi Grain Thin crackers, which I’ve had and enjoyed. We were talking about healthy food in general and I remarked that the GF honey rice flake cereal was surprisingly low in sugar content (8.5 % I think) and he said how appalled he was at the high content of some other products.

I mentioned the conversation I’d had with my dad about Special K and he looked disgusted. He agreeed that “low-fat” labelling can be so misleading and we got on to a really interesting conversation…. he just seems like such a top bloke, who cares more about health than he does making money (did you know the reason most rice cakes are so fat is because that’s the cheap way to make them? The Rude Health ones are thin…)

It turned out he’s the boss of the company!

And when it’s in hands like that, I think this is a company that’s going places πŸ™‚

By the time I left, I’d eaten a LOT. And although a lot of it was healthy, there was also a lot of chocolate, biscuits, cakes…… πŸ™‚

I’d like to say I won’t be eating any of that for a bit – but it’s my birthday tomorrow, so I might as well just go with the flow on that one *sigh*

Hope everyone’s had a great Sunday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to No such thing as a free lunch

  1. what nice goodies!! i think a gluten free diet would be awesome! i wna try !

  2. The guy Rude Health sounds really grounded – it’s good to know that there are companies out there that really do care about health … and can make some money along the way.

  3. I’d have a ball in a place like that!! So many healthy goodies to choose from..ahhh I can only imagine!

  4. Jessica says:

    What a cool show. Great looking food!

    http://www.birdietobe.blogspot.com

  5. Maria says:

    Happy birthday πŸ™‚

  6. I looks like you had such a fun time! Happy Birthday!!! πŸ˜€

  7. Happy birthday πŸ™‚ Those treats looks really great!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  8. Emma R says:

    Hello Eating Like A Horse!! I went to the Olympia show too and I agree – it was heaven in terms of good free food. I also loved the chocolate cake from Fria. And their seeded rolls and cinnamon buns were amazing too. Best gluten free breads I’ve tried actually!!
    However, the Fria stuff seems hard to get hold of. Do you know where I can buy it?
    Thanks for a great blog,
    Emma R.

  9. I still can’t believe how much I ate! I do vaguely remember the Fria rolls being good but the brownie cake eclipsed all the rest πŸ™‚
    Thank you for the lovely comment and the link is below. If for some reason it doesn’t take you straight there, just put Fria in the search box – enjoy!

    http://www.gffdirect.co.uk/frozen/breads-and-bake-offs/fria-kladdkaka-swedish-style-chocolate-brownie

  10. Pingback: Cor blimey Guv’nor | Eating like a horse

  11. Pingback: Being Rude | Eating like a horse

  12. Pingback: Fria: Tucking in | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

