Oops

Spill!

That was my reward for being cocky; thinking I was clever for getting everything together for a breakfast smoothie last night – but then managing to unscrew just the jug instead of the whole top unit.

I didn’t feel so clever scraping it all off the side. And the blender.

And yes, those are my socks on the counter. I don’t know what they’re doing there. But they are clean. Odd, but clean.

With a start like that, I had a feeling today would be along the same lines… but it was actually the most stress-free deadline day ever, for some reason. I might suggest to the editor that four-day weekends are clearly the way forward πŸ™‚

Today also included cake:

My friend Mel’s leaving work and as she’s said a couple of times how much she liked the fat-free apple cake, I made her one.

And although I also somehow managed to leave it in the oven too long yesterday, even though I was cooking something on the hob at the same time and it was therefore slightly over-done…

… I think the slight, er, crispyness of the apple slices made my attempted artistic pattern look better. Kind of πŸ™‚

Luckily the cake itself was fine.

I also achieved another milestone today.

I thought my latest bottle of Mr Heinz’s nectar had lasted a lot longer than the last one – but when I checked, it was onlyΒ 32 days. And as this one was half as big again as the last one, it means I’m getting slightly worse.

Oops.

But at least I got to do this (yet)Β again:

It was a good thing too that today was good, as Thursday is going to be slightly more of a mission. I’m covering the count for the local elections and the council is doing itΒ the traditional way, by starting to count votes straight after the polling stations close at 10pm.

They did the same for the general elections last year and the result wasn’t declared till gone 2am. And as that was one seat and this is more than 120…. eeek!

I’m going to come back from work, sleep from about 7.30-11pm ish, then have dinner and drive back to the count for about 1am, which should be interesting if nothing else πŸ™‚

Anyone got any good ideas for high-energy snacks that might help keep me awake? I think I might need them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Oops

  1. applesnoats says:

    hahah glad to find another ketchup addict!
    ps-i think the slightly overcooked apples look gorgeous!!!

  2. Ahhh that’s one major spill!! I’d be lying through me teeth if I said I hadn’t done the exact same thing though.
    That cake looks delicious!! And since it’s fat free, you can eat more of it. πŸ˜‰

  3. I hate when my smoothies explode! I think I need a new blender, it’s been happening to me a lot lately 😦

  4. homemade trail mix!! Dried fruit, popcorn, mixed nuts, and some chocolate!

    Or a peanut butter and banana sandwich on whole wheat bread?

    those are my favorites πŸ™‚

  5. sophia says:

    High energy snacks = chocolate-covered espresso beans. Gotta go for the double win! πŸ˜‰

  6. Oops indeed! I’ve had so many oops moments with my blender – covering my walls and cupboards with exploded smoothies and what not! High energy snacks for me have to be dates! My chai almond energy balls would do the job nicely too!

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    Doh! I had a similar experience yesterday when my blender broke (turns out it had just burnt itself out on too much frozen mango and is back to working now thankfully) and although I salvaged most of the smoothie (uh, still filled two bowls and a glass!) I had a minor panic attack over it.

    And I think I might be rivalling you in the ketchup addiction stakes with the amount I put on my roasted veggies last night!

    Snack-wise I’d say perhaps avoid caffeine? Just thinking of crashes later on. Perhaps slow-release stuff combined with some sugars like nut butter and dates on (GF) oatcakes? Or Pulsin and Bounce balls do some ginseng-infused stuff, but they’re a bit too pricey for me…

    Good luck with the busy schedule!

    xxx

    • I saw that on your blog – glad it recovered! I’d be lost now without my blender!
      Nut butter and dates sound great; I’m off to get some of those organised almost as we speak, thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Maria says:

    Oops indeed! πŸ™‚
    Hope you manage to stay awake- my trick is to drink lots (water, whatever) coz then I need the toilet and so cannot nod off! πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

