Great unexplained mysteries of the world

Stonehenge.

The Pyramids.

How it was I was struggling against a gale force wind on the bike ride to the tack shop AND on the way back (10 minutes later) today.

Why Dave is still terrified by the sight of another horse standing in the ditch to eat trees, even though he’s seen it more times than I’ve had hot dinners.

How come this loaf of bread came out like a 1cm high slab of granite:

At least I can explain the last one 🙂

I never bother about whether a recipe’s gluten-free or not; I just use my GF flour, adjust a bit if necessary, and steam on regardless. Usually it works.

It doesn’t work for bread. Because gluten is what gives bread its elasticity, ya can’t just use normal recipes.

And this one tasted as good as it looked, ie not very. But I wanted bread.

And as I ain’t paying the best part of £3 for a GF loaf, I really went on a bread-making mission, after that effort. I researched in books and on t’internet, came up with a likely-sounding combination, dug out the “dough blade” on my food processor and…

It rose almost to the top of the tin:

It smelt amazing while it was in the oven…

It’s ridiculous to be so excited by something that looks that much like “normal” bread.

And, when I sliced it…

It’s closer to the texture and taste of normal bread than I’ve ever made! I was in heaven AND two gluten-eating testers even said they liked it 🙂

It’s still not big enough, but all I’ve got to do now is make a couple of tweaks to quantities and tin size and I’ll post the recipe, although I’m looking forward to scoffing that lot this week.

Other baking of the weekend included a cake for my friend, who was celebrating today because she was away for all her birthday yesterday:

Another of my favourite coconut cakes, from Harry Eastwood’s book, topped with Alisa’s amazing icing, which she loved.

One of the brilliant things about that icing is, you have to use coconut cream but don’t need the whole lot. And, as I’d managed to forget to put on the strawberries I’d saved for the cake, I had strawberries and cream:

On top of a crumbled caramel rice cake, as I didn’t have any meringues 🙂

I also mixed the cream with coconut butter and jam for an amazing oat pancake topping:

It may not stay put on the pancakes… but damn that’s good 🙂

I used 1tbsp coconut cream, 1tsp coconut butter and 1tsp St Dalfour strawberry *drool*

It was notable for another reason, in that that’s my first chia-free breakfast for… quite a while. I think I’m starting to get withdrawal symptoms…

Back to work tomorrow after a brilliantly chilled (in all senses of the word with that freezing wind!) weekend. Hope everyone has a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Great unexplained mysteries of the world

  1. That strawberry, rice cake and coconut cream looks so good, as does that cake. Glad your bread was better!

    • I love that combination and think it would be great on meringues too – but I’m loving the caramel rice cakes at the moment!
      And the coconut cake is one of my favourites; I think there could be a common theme here… 🙂

  2. That’s so cool that you made your own GF bread! It’s so expensive in stores, so that’s definitely a plus 🙂

  3. Glad your second attempt worked out! It looks amazing. I haven’t ventured into GF baking for the very reason that gluten’s what helps bond the bread, like you mentioned..so it can often times come out strange. Those who’ve mastered it really have something to say for their work!

  4. Little Bookworm says:

    Glad the bread worked out in the end! 🙂 That pancake topping sounds amazing too!

  5. wow – lots of baking! That cake looks amazing!

  6. Maria says:

    Glad the bread worked out better 🙂

  7. Glad the bread worked out for you! I know how difficult it can be to cook for special dietary needs so I hear ya on being excited when it works out! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Happy Star Wars Day | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

