Yesterday

I spent some of yesterday watching something beautiful.

Something that embodies the love people can feel, in the most stunning way:

I mean, look at it – the whole thing is COMPLETELY made out of chocolate!

I did watch a couple of people get married too… πŸ™‚

Luckily, our lateness of booking the trip to Bruges meant I got to see most of the royal wedding first. I’d been getting so sick of all the hype but it was great and watching the procession, I did really feel proud to be British/English; it was amazing and they both looked so happy πŸ™‚

I got picked up straight afterwards and we drove to the coast to get on the Eurotunnel train.

We had a picnic on the train:

Champagne in paper cups rocks πŸ™‚

Then we drove to Bruges, which only took about an hour and a quarter. It’s such a stunning town:

With LOTS of stunning chcocolate shops:

Suddenly, we realised it was getting a bit dark:

That was only about 6pm!

Then it POURED.

Luckily, we were in a bar by then, so we thought it safe to stay put. Which of course meant we had to have more drinks, to avoid being rude…

We ended up staying in Bruges for dinner, which we had in a gorgeous, tucked-away restaurant. It had about eight separate little rooms and looked like the gingerbread cottage in Hansel and Gretel.

Sadly, I can’t rave about the food as the others did.

It wasn’t the restaurant’s fault in the slightest; it can be hard enough explaining what gluten is to English people, let alone a Flemish-speaking waiter! He said all I could have was prawns on a giant tomato with boiled potatoes, which was as nice as it sounds… πŸ™‚

But the chocolate more than made up for it.

We also, despite our best intentions, ended up leaving Bruges exactly an hour before what we thought was the last train back to England left. Cue some serious driving on my friend’s part, getting there to find there was another one, almost missing that too somehow… πŸ™‚

It was a brilliant day and the Eurotunnel return is only Β£58 per car, so I think we’re going to be doing more things like this in future.

Did you watch the wedding? Or did you do anything else? If you did watch it, what did you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yesterday

  1. That’d be so cool to see chocolate sculptures like that!! Looks like you had a great day. πŸ™‚

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    I did indeed watch the wedding and was pleasantly surprised by it, although I think some of the ‘we’re normal and like you!’ elements were a bit contrived.

    I’d rather have been in that emporium of chocolate πŸ˜‰ Looks like great value for such a wonderful trip too!

    xxx

    • Yeah, it’s difficult to carry off the “normal people” look when you’re sitting in a solid gold carriage attended by 65 footmen!
      And I couldn’t believe the value – don’t know why we don’t do it more often when it’s so easy πŸ™‚

  3. Yum! I’m loving all the chocolate pictures πŸ˜€

    Haha, our families have so much in common (especially our brothers πŸ˜‰ ) Happy birthday in a week!! I hope it’s a great one! πŸ˜€

    ❀

  4. That looks like chocy heaven! I watched the wedding and actually quite enjoyed it, I guess I’m just a bit soppy πŸ™‚

  5. I would much rather look at something made out of chocolate then the royal wedding πŸ™‚ I actually did watch bits and pieces of it and it totally sucked me in!!

  6. sophia says:

    I didn’t watch it…I can’t stand weddings. Please don’t hate me. >__<

    Hee hee, I've never had champagne in paper cups…I think it would remind everyone of college days. And loving all the chocolate pictures, Eleanor! Now, I need to rummage my Easter candy collection, excuse me…

    • Ha ha, don’t blame you!
      I know champagne is supposed to be better out of a glass, but I think I preferred it like this πŸ™‚ Hope your rummaging discovered some good stuff!

  7. um, THATS alot of chocolate!
    You mentioned on my blog that you liked rain if you didn’t have to go out in it; I hope you didn’t get caught in this downpour!

Thank you for commenting!

