Pickles, vinegar and sprouts

… because that’s what you get loads of at Easter, isn’t that right?

That’s what my mum and dad always told me anyway… 🙂

And, confession time, I didn’t have chocolate for breakfast on Easter Sunday *hangs head in shame*

I don’t know what it is but if it ain’t in a bowl and if it hasn’t got chia seeds in it, I ain’t interested when it comes to breakfast at the moment. And I think I’ve found the perfect chia/porridge combination:

I put 1tbsp chia seeds to soak in 120ml hot water, then cooked the porridge separately. I used Mornflake jumbo oats which make, it’s been proved by clever scientist types me, the best porridge in the known universe. Fact.

I cooked them with 1tbsp peanut flour then, when they were nearly ready, stirred the chia seed gloop in, and kept cooking and stirring for a minute or so more.

It made a porridge so good, so chewy/thick/creamy/magical, I didn’t want it to end. It was also so good, it almost didn’t need mashed banana. But I added it anyway cos that’s how I roll… 🙂

It was a good thing I’d had such a filling breakfast because I ended up doing loads yesterday morning! I’d meant to go and pick up my sister’s birthday present, but then realised (luckily before I left) that everything would be shut for Easter Sunday. Randomly, I washed my car instead. I’ve owned it nearly six years and this is probably only the fourth or fifth time I’ve done it, which would explain why it looked like this:

That would also explain why it was some sort of mission all-body workout to clean it. I don’t know what all the seagulls in the town where I work eat, but I’m guessing Superglue 🙂

Worth it though:

I then did loads of random cycling, ending up at my mum and dad’s for traditional Easter Sunday roast, which we ate outside. It was lovely sitting in the sun, with almost the whole crew (my brother’s still working in South Korea), doing full justice to my mum’s cooking… 🙂

She also helped me make up for the lack of chocolate for breakfast, bless her, with a selection of handmade Linden Lady goodies (some to-die-for fudgy bites) and some eggs. She told us each to pick one and it might be childish, but I went for this one straight away:

It would have been rude not to indulge, although I may have taken the politeness a tiny bit too far… 🙂

I didn’t want much by dinnertime so I just had another green smoothie, with chia (surprise, surprise!) which had the most amazing texture, literally like the fluffiest ice cream ever:

I think I’m in love 🙂

I did loads today too but as it’s going to be mental again at work all this (short) week, I’ll save that for tomorrow – and go and get organised now. I might also have to carry on being polite by eating more Easter chocolate. It’s a hard life…

Hope everyone had a lovely Easter and is looking forward to another short week! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pickles, vinegar and sprouts

  1. I washed my car inside and out every weekend when I first got it and vowed to keep it up through the years. That was 4 years ago…and also the last time I’ve given it an actual wash. 😉 Luckily it’s stayed fairly clean dispite the daily trips down 2 miles of dirt roads, but it could probably still use a good scrub.

  2. I have washed my car a grand total of once in the few years I’ve had it. It’s a mess! I just hate doing it… I share it with my sister so I sucker her into cleaning it 🙂

  3. Maria says:

    I washed my car last week- it was filthy! I gave it 3 goes, and although it is better, it could probably still do with another one! But I consider it defeat to take it to the people in the car parks, so I always think I will do it myself, and then hardly ever get around to it!

  4. I need to get chia in my green smoothies asap! Those oats look so good too!

  5. I’ve never washed my car and I’ve owned it for almost 2 years… oops!

  6. Pingback: I’m so excited… | Eating like a horse

  7. Pingback: Sod’s Law | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

