‘Tis the season to be jolly

Β Ok a reference to a Christmas song in an April post is a bit weird… but there is some slight relevance, in a clutching-at-straws kind of way…

I was thinking the other day that I must suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder. I’m not being entirely serious because sometimes I think there’s a tendency to use the word “disorder” when it’s just a way of being. And if I do have SAD, I also could be said to have BAD (Butternut Addiction Disorder) and maybe MAD (Muleheaded Argumentative Disorder) πŸ™‚

But it’s true that, more this year then ever, the coming of spring has just made me so happy. Not that I was a miserable old cow all winter (I hope!) but just feeling warmth in the sun and seeing daylight at 8pm is just… great.

Another great thing about spring and summer is, of course, this sort of thing:

And if you’re not remotely tempted by that vibrant and colourful picture, look a bit more closely:

ASPARAGUS!

I didn’t even realise my dad grew it until the season was nearly over last year so didn’t realise it would be pickable already but check these dudes out:

The stuff you see in supermarkets; expensive and with really woody stems, ain’t nothing to the fresh, local asparagus. It’s also the ingredient chosen by Ricki and KimΒ for this month’s Sweet or Savory challenge – can’t wait to see what recipes (especially sweet ones!) are submitted πŸ™‚

Something else summery I made this week was….

I love coleslaw! This lot was made with red cabbage, spring onion and carrot, in a dressing of plain soya yoghurt with a bit of French mustard and some pepper and it was great. I say “was” because I’ve eaten the lot. Already.

And of course, when you think of summer, you think of… ice cream! I’m not a big fan of it in general but the recipe in Veganomicon, which uses coconut milk and coconut cream, looked so good, I gave it a go. Sadly, because I’m not a huge ice cream-lover and therefore don’t own an ice cream-maker, I just put it in the freezer in a box…

Now I know why the ice cream machines churn to “prevent ice crystals from forming”. Theye ain’t talking about no little diamondy crystals, they’re talking about those Hugh Jass shards which could provide homes for polar bears.

Still, mix it up a bit, and you find the bonus of not machining is, you get solid chunks of coconut in there as well. And when you stir it up, in true five-year-old stylee, you get something not a million miles away from ice cream:

Or, of course, you could just keep it in the fridge and end up with a creamy, coconutty pudding πŸ™‚

Apart from loving the fresh fruit and veg, I don’t tend to change what I eat much in terms of seasons; it’s as much cooked porridge in summer and yoghurt/cereal in winter as the other way round… but I think I might have to get on the salads a bit more this year…

Do you eat differently according to the time of year? What’s your favourite seasonal fresh produce?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ‘Tis the season to be jolly

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Love summer berries when they come into season, and peaches! πŸ™‚ That coleslaw looks great!

  2. I definitely get SAD! 😦 I have one of those Phillips Dawn Simulators. One morning it didn’t go off and I felt like crapola urgh. Won’t go without it again. πŸ™‚

    I’m the same with my mood coming on leaps and bounds in the summer, I love it so much! I definitely crave more salads in summer and fruit when I can manage it but I find my appetite is right off and I have to move about to get an appetite going.

    Your meal looks bloody gorgeous, love the colours πŸ˜€

    PS. does asparagus make your pee smell?!

    • I was tempted by those; interesting to see they make that much of a difference… might have to invest next year because dark mornings suck big time!
      I love red cabbage anyway, but even more because it looks so great, especially with the carrots πŸ™‚
      And I’ve heard people say it makes your wee smell but (hope this isn’t too much information!) I’ve never noticed that… πŸ™‚

  3. lindsay says:

    LOL! I think I have BAD! HOw cool is that asparagus. I love that you have a garden. I eat at ton more fruits in the summer. But who doesn’t?
    πŸ˜‰

  4. I would love to eat as seasonally and locally as possible but cost is a factor. Saying that I tend to buy what is cheap and that tends to be what is in season! Now that I get an organic veg box delivery and shop at my farm shop I’m getting some fab seasonal stuff – this weeks veg box is a good one with asparagus and purple sprouting broc I can’t wait to eat it!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    I do suffer from SAD and unfortunately have to try to manage it out, as my cluster migraines mean that apparently a lightbox could trigger some kind of fit (eep!) I must say that I am incredibly relieved when spring arrives though.

    My eating habits don’t tend to change much, but I do like the fact that the warmer weather gives me an excuse to have even more green smoothies, preferably for dinner as well as breakfast (oh, but it’s just too hot to have anything else hehe)

    xxx

  6. I’m so jealous! I’d love to have freshly grown asparagus at my disposal! Maybe then I’d learn how to cook it.. =)

    • Bless my dad; I’ll be stalking his garden from now till the end of summer! and if you do get it, check out Ricki’s blog; there’s bound to be some great recipes coming in on there πŸ™‚

  7. I’m the same – I love the same types of food year round. One thing I do change more is the temperature of my drinks. In winter I eat salads with a hot cup of tea and in summer I’ll eat stew, followed by chilled water.

    I love ice-cream in the warmer weather, preferably eaten in a cone while sitting in a park πŸ™‚

  8. That asparagus looks awesome! I hope I see some local stuff in our farmer’s market next month!
    And the coleslaw looks so good…I feel like it would be good with raisins in it haha

    • That’s such a good idea! I tried some with raisins in it a while ago and didn’t think I’d like it but it was amazing! It also had cashews and a tiny bit of curry powder which was sooo good so thank you for the reminder πŸ™‚

  9. My tastes usually change with the seasons. No more hot oats and more smoothies!

  10. I get an organic veg box which tends to always have seasonal veggies in it. I like to eat seasonal vegetables but sometimes it can be expensive. I did get some lovely swiss chard, aspargus and purple sprouting brocoli in this weeks box and it looks great!

  11. That coconut ‘ice-cream’ looks delicious! YUM!
    Oh and I totally listen to xmas music all year round… haha…

  12. I could totally get on board with BAD. I do eat differently throughout the year…more raw in summer and more comfort foods in winter. I also TRY to eat seasonaly, but it’s a little difficult.

    • Hee hee or CAD, chocolate-addictive! Some things, like broccoli and other veg, seem the same all year but there’s nothing like fresh seasonal stuff… although is it hard for you to find seasonal produce where you are? I seem to remember someone else in Canada saying that…?

Thank you for commenting!

