Nakd ambition

As today was a fairly average Monday, this post’s going to be about – yesterday!

Apart from these:

Although even the sweet potato oat pancakes I had for breakfast were made last night 🙂

I used 1tbsp peanut flour instead of the coconut, then microwaved this morning with half a banana sliced on top… and some coconut cream for good measure:

Sadly, that’s the end of my sweet potato *makes mental note for shopping list* so moving swiftly onwards – to yesterday!

I had a great day, which included lots of lovely sunny bike- and horse-riding and a chilled afternoon at home. I pottered about, and then decided to make something, inspired by this:

Buying a bar with oats in it was a bit stupid, as I know I can only eat certified “pure” ones, but I think it was on sale (it was a while ago) and I must have convinced myself that Nakd would use gluten-free oats which, I think from emailing them, isn’t the case 😦

But in the last few years, if I’ve found things I want to try but which aren’t gluten-free, I’ll try to make them myself, which is what I did yesterday:

It was easier than a lot of my efforts, as Nakd not only uses limited ingredients, but also lists the percentage of each. so, sticking fairly closely to the list, I used:

37g dates

24g oats

12g raisins

9g peanut butter

5g cocoa powder

4g cashews

I blended everything in my mini-grinder/mill till it started clumping, put in the fridge for a few hours, then cut into eight mini bites. I was sure I’d like the result, looking at the ingredients, and wasn’t disappointed. They were chocolatey, rich and not over-sweet and the texture from the oats was great… the only thing I can’t tell is whether or not they’re like the original so if you’ve tried the Nakd one and also try these, let me know!

There’s something satisfying about making your own version and the added bonus of saving money 🙂

I think that’s why Kate, of What Kate is Cooking, has started featuring “make it yourself Mondays” on her great blog  – I think these would count!

Do you make your own versions of commercial products? If so, is it because of dietary “restrictions”, wanting to make them healthier, or just because you feel like it?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Nakd ambition

  1. oo how clever!!! i love nakd so these sound great!

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Great sounding recipe. I like making fruit and nut bars (like Katie’s Fudge Babies) as then you can make any flavour you want really. 🙂

  3. littlehealthjunkie says:

    I didn’t realize nakd bars were so similar to larabars! I’ve wanted to try them for soo long and I’m finally going to (just won a giveaway!) Can’t wait to try out a recipe like yours too:)

    • Wow, hope you enjoy them – the real ones and the home made ones if you have a go! I’d love to try Larabars because they do look so similar, Nakd doesn’t do ones like peanut butter cookie dough though … 😦

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    I lack the skill to make decent versions of my favourite bars, and also prefer the bars because they’re pre-portioned and I’d just eat the whole batch of whatever I made.

    I must say that your Nakd bars DO look even better than the real thing though!

    xxx

  5. make it yourself monday is a great idea! I love making Larabar type things because it’s cheaper when I do it. I also make “faux-co crispies” as an alternative to the sugar filled cereal.

  6. Your homemade bars look exactly the same as the original. I’m sure they taste just as good too!

  7. Maria says:

    I bet they are the same. I tried to make my own once, but my food processor was nto good enough at chopping up the dates etc, so the bars were a bit weird in texture. Tasted good though.
    Nakd do make gluten free bars (the nudies which are free from oats) so maybe that is what you were thinking?

    • I like the nudie ones too but I’d wanted to try these ones too, must have been why I convinced myself it would be ok! I wonder if they’d work in yours if you soaked the dates first to make them softer…?

  8. I made some raw vegan brownies which remind me of nakd bars, they are so good! I’m definitely more into trying to make my own snack bars and what not to save cash. I made some amazing cashew lemon hemp bars – again, just like a nakd bar but way cheaper!

  9. Your sweet potato oat pancakes look SO good! I had a similar thing for breakfast yesterday.
    And your version of the nakd bars look sooo good. Once I get a food processor I am totally going to be recreating things like that ALL THE TIME!

    • Thank you! They were great, especially with almond butter and banana… 🙂
      And I think the best thing about food processors is making your own nut butters – but it’s addictive!

  10. It definitely looks a lot like a Nakd bar! Actually looks nicer to be honest 🙂

  11. Lauren says:

    I have this bad habit of picking something up in the store, looking at the ingredients, thinking “I can make THAT” (whirling around tons of substitutions in my head) and placing it back on the shelf. Then forgetting to make it. =)

    Your version looks yummy! Better than if it came in a package!

  12. Thanks for the shout-out 🙂 I love the fact that you made your own bars! I’ve never had a Nakd bar before, but I will definitely try your version. I bet they’re way better than the store bought kind 🙂

  13. These look awesome!! I often make homemade versions of already-made products. It’s wayyy cheaper and often, way better :]

  14. Thank you! They’re usually healthier if you make them yourself too; score all round 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

