Cheeseburgers and pizza

It feels like SUMMER!

It’s been so jaw-droppingly, grinmakingly amazingly gorgeous and warm; cycling up to the yard and taking Dave for a lovely chilled ride round the fields in beautiful sunshine after work today was just… perfect. 🙂

Which isn’t something I’d say about this…

Even when my diet was hideously unhealthy, years ago, I rarely ate anything like McDonald’s or Burger King – except if I was really hungover, when it was all about quarterpounders with cheese! – and since my coeliac diagnosis, I can’t.

But even if I could, pictures like that wouldn’t tempt me 🙂

Pictures like this one, however, are a different matter:

Carrying on the tofu lovin’ on Tuesday, I was going to make these “meatballs” but then – really fancied burgers.

So I mixed the tofu with peanut flour, soy sauce, garlic and some oats and made two fat, juicy burgers which, just for authenticity of course, I topped with a good dollop of Veganomicon cheezy sauce:

No offence Ronald,but you can keep yer quarterpounders; I liked mine much better 🙂

On a similar note, a group of us went for dinner at Pizza Express last night where, as you might imagine, there wasn’t a huge range of gluten-free options. But I had a really lovely night and my chicken and roasted ved salad, with honey, mustard and balsamic vinegar dressing, was delicious.

Everyone else had pizza and although that looked and smelt great too, I was glad I couldn’t have it. My meal was lovely and if I’d had pizza, I’d have just eaten the lot and gone home feeling uncomfortably bloated.

Most people’s reaction, when they hear about what I can’t eat, is almost pity and that I’m missing out but I say, honestly, that if a “cure” was suddenly found and I could eat anything, I’d hardly change my way of eating at all. (With the exception of a few things, like that droolworthy uncut seedy wholemeal bread… 🙂  )

I don’t think anyone ever believes me! But it’s true; and although there are parts of my “diet” (hate that word!) that would make a nutritionist shudder (including salt on veg, gallons of no-added-sugar squash and stuffing milk chocolate raisins at bedtime to name just three!) I think it’s generally healthy and I LOVE what I eat… and I reckon that’s all right.

As was my burger:

Ya want broccoli with that? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Cheeseburgers and pizza

  1. Lauren says:

    This burger looks fabulous! Way better than the everlasting “plastic” burgers! =) I’ve never tried making a burger out of tofu. Very cool idea!

    I often get the same reaction when I say what I don’t eat. But I just smile because I know how much I LOVE the food I do eat.

    • It’s weird because I never really ate “traditional” burgers, even when I could, but now I love making them!
      And the second bit of your comment’s spot on; let them think what they like 🙂

  2. omg tofu with peanut flour!?!?!? nice combo!!

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    A veggie burger and broccoli sounds great. 😛 Glad that you were able to have a nice meal at Pizza Express (love roasted vegetables!).

  4. I would take a tofu burger over a meat burger any day 🙂

  5. Maria says:

    Clever way of using tofu- very impressive!
    I am not a fan of fake meats, so I tend to go for bean burgers. I can now make my own which I find very exciting! 🙂

  6. I totally agree with you, lots of people (especially now I’m more vegan) think I’m missing out, I laugh at the very idea as I know I get far more pleasure from what I eat than what they do even though they apparently have unrestricted diets. Those burgers look amazing – even when I wasn’t a veggie I would still choose a veggie burger over a beef one, they just taste so good!

  7. I’m not a fast food person but admit to indulging in a BK during a hellish hangover!

    I’ve also gotten this pity over not being able to eat wheat, dairy or sugar without consequences and I don’t care that I can’t eat all this! I feel like HELL if I do eat it so I’d rather feel better and keep it cut out.

    Pass me that brocc! 😉

    • Yep, BK double cheeseburger with bacon was my other hangover need 😉
      So true and it’s not just what you feel like afterwards either; it’s that you only need to look around a bit to find so many other great food options!

  8. You have such a great attitude about your food needs!
    But you definitely eat some amazing stuff and you are so creative with your meals- you rock!

  9. You obviously don’t live near Chicago – because it sure doesn’t feel like summer here!

    • No, we’re a few miles away 🙂 Nightmare though; you must be sick of winter so hope it warms up soon! (It’s suppposed to be raining here by Tuesday so it won’t be summer for long!)
      Thanks for the comment!

  10. Those tofu burgers look SO good! I will have to try them!!
    I used to love that Pizza Express salad when I wasn’t veggie!

  11. sophia says:

    I would be the one looking at you with pity…bc I love my breads! A lot of my favorite food has gluten. And…I kinda like McD’s. Heh. But sometimes, a good veggie burger totally rocks too.

Thank you for commenting!

