Learning from my mistakes

Or not, as the case may be.

First there was chargrilled Nakd bar au plastique:

I (rightly) felt like an idot. But did I learn?

Did I b*****ks.

Three days later, almost exactly the same thing happened, only this time it involved chocolate.

I’d only been preheating the oven for a few minutes so there’s hope for the chocolate. I only wish I could say the same for me πŸ™‚

So moving swiftly on to some intentionally-baked food…

I bought another kabocha the other day and, using Heather’s slow-roasting method (perfect because you can be lazy and just stick it in the oven, as long as there isn’t any random chocolate hiding in there, and just leave it – and it makes the house smell delicious!)

Taking a tip from a comment Laura left on here, I pureed it all then froze most of it except enough to make breakfast for today:

Baked porridge, with less water and a couple of tablespoons of kabocha puree, topped with banana and almond butter…. πŸ™‚

This evening’s dinner was something I’ve never had before:

Weirdly, although I love chowing down on some silken tofu, I’d never cottoned on that you can get the proper stuff in Sainsbury’s! I just soaked it in some soya sauce, garlic and broth, sauteed with mushrooms and served with spinach, the ususal supporting acts and some more Veganomicon cheezy sauce…

I know that’s really simple and boring… but it was so good! Looking forward to more tofu joy, including these great-looking “meatballs”

Do you cook with tofu? What’s your favourite way of cooking it?

And, before I go, if you haven’t already seen it, please check out the blog bake sale Katie’s having to raise funds for Japan. It’s a lovely idea and will help a really good cause πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Learning from my mistakes

  1. Thank u so much for spreading the word. You are a sweetheart!!

  2. woops!! made me laugh though, great post!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Haha, your oven-burning sagas are something I look forward to at the end of every day now! Glad your chocolate survived though πŸ™‚

    I like to freeze tofu, then defrost it and marinade (marinate…I cannot spell?) it overnight in soy sauce, sesame oil and ginger…oh, and a smidge of agave. Then I bake it in the oven in cubes. Freezing it gives it a firmer texture: I hate gelatinous tofu!

    xxx

  4. So glad you like the slow roasting method. You’re right, it is so easy, and fills my house with such a lovely aroma…much better than steamed broccoli! πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I’ve had many a mishaps in my kitchen. It happens.

  5. I want to take a spoon to that pureed kabocha πŸ™‚ Is there anything better than the smell of a kabocha in the oven?! My family thinks they hate squash, but every time I roast it, everyone asks me what smells so good!

    • I had to stop myself just eating it all straight!
      And I love the looks on people’s faces when that sort of thing happens – or when they find out afterwards what they’ve eaten πŸ™‚

  6. I bought my first kobocha squash this week. I can’t wait to try it!!!

  7. Maria says:

    So funny! I like tofu blended up (eg in pumpkin tofu pasta).
    I like the basil stuff sliced and cold, other than that I dont really cook it.

  8. I love love love tofu! I just bought some of the plain cauldron stuff too – try freezing it the defrosting it and pressing the water out, marinading it and then baking it, so meaty and yummy! That kabocha looks amazing too! Glad you tried pureeing it πŸ™‚

  9. movesnmunchies says:

    im still laughing over that nakd bar incident!! HoLY moly can i eat that meal please!!

  10. This Italian Family says:

    Ooh those tofu “meat” balls look so yummy! Let us know if you try them, and if so, how you like them. I haven’t tried cooking with tofu, but those look yummy enough to try!

    • I’ve just made something along those lines and will definitely post it! I’d never tried it before and can’t believe how good it is – I feel a new addiction coming on πŸ™‚

  11. oh no!! That’s terrible!! good to be able to laugh at yourself though, for sure.
    those meals look so good! esp the porridge!

    • Hee hee thank you; I have to laugh at myself because this sort of thing happens a lot! And the porridge was delicious; love the squash/oats combination πŸ™‚
      Thanks for commenting!

  12. at least you have a sense of humor about your oven dilemmas! I was once storing a bag of cookies I’d baked in the oven (I wanted them to dry out a bit and it seemed like a good place at the time!) and my boyfriend preheated the oven to make something…the plastic bag the cookies were in somehow melted away and disappeared! I couldn’t see any trace of plastic but I was scared to eat the cookies afterwards…
    And I love to cook with tofu too! My fave thing has to by my tofu-quiche πŸ™‚

  13. Mmm I LOVE tofu! I normally just press it and marinade it in some sort of soy sauce mix then stir fry it πŸ˜€
    I’m really loving the pre-flavoured versions you can get in health food shops at the moment, though. They are soo firm and the flavours are spot on (or maybe i’m just lazy) πŸ˜€

  14. Yesss, I love cooking with tofu!! I love just cubing it, pan-frying it and then making a quick glazy to simmer it in πŸ™‚ Favorite is probably honey-curry or balsamic honey! In fact, I could go for some right now…

Thank you for commenting!