Say cheeeeeze!

I was very pleased when this arrived yesterday:

As I’ve said before, I’m not even planning to become vegetarian but I love vegetarian and vegan food. and I’ve heard so much about this book, I had to give it a go.

But I got back so late last night, I knew there wasn’t time to make one of the more complicated recipes… so I just sauted my standard mushroom/spinach/tomato combo (with red pesto added afterwards) and made some of the cheezy sauce…

And on the basis of that one simple recipe, I’m sold πŸ™‚

The sauce is so good! Really creamy and (stupid thing to say alert) cheesy! Mine came out thicker than I expected, which I think is down to my tired brain trying to convert quantities from cups to ml and divide by three at the same time, but that means it’s thick enough, I reckon, to be a spread or sandwich filling in its own right.

I didn’t eat it all last night, but some of it went perfectly on tonight’s to-go dinner:

A “here’s one I made earlier” mushroom stroganoff. I had to have a quick dinner because I’ve got to go back out in about… two seconds (late again, surprise surprise!) but it was still amazing; the sauce was perfect with the mushroomy goodness πŸ™‚

I’m so looking forward to trying out more from this genius book! Have you got it, or any of the others by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero? If so, which recipes would you recommend?

Gotta go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Say cheeeeeze!

  1. I’ve seen that cookbook EVERYWHERE! I SO need to get my hands on it (how convenient that i’m writing my birthday ‘list’ right now ;-)) That cheesy sauce looks mega interesting πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE veganomicon!! appetite for reduction is also FAB and is by isa!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    I really need to get my hands on that cookbook: I’m always a bit intimidated by them as the recipes don’t always have pictures (I need visuals! Hence why I tend to rely on blog-orientated dishes a lot) but having seen that ‘cheese’ sauce I must try that out for myself.

    xxx

  4. Maria says:

    Yay I love that book! Although it needs more pictures.
    I have vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, and every cookie I have made so far has been fantastic- check out the review I did of it- pictures and everything. I am not vegan but I dont always have eggs in the house so it appealed mainly because I could make cookies without eggs!

    • That’s true; I’d like to see more too, although then there might not have been room for as many recipes πŸ™‚
      I’ve seen some of your pictures from the cookie version and they’ve all looked great but I’ll definitely read your review, thanks!

  5. I’ve heard great things about that cookbook! I can’t wait to see what else you make from it. That dish looks incredible!

  6. I’ve wanted that cookbook forever!!! I’m so glad you got to try it! Maybe I will be able to try it one day too πŸ™‚

    I have Vegan with a Vengeance, Vegan Brunch, and Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. I’ve loved everything I’ve tried from them! Especially the orange pudding cupcakes from the cupcake book! πŸ˜€

    • Me too and it was only about Β£10 paperback on Amazon; don’t know why I hadn’t got round to it before!
      The ones you’ve got sound amazing too; definitely the next investment πŸ™‚

  7. moveovercelery says:

    Me too! I’m not vegan but I love to eat vegetarian and vegan every now and then. πŸ™‚

  8. I love veganomicon! In fact I was looking through it the other day making a list of the recipes I still want to try out, chickpea cutlets and tahini miso dressing are high on the list!

  9. Mushroom stragonoff looks so yummy! I’m really obsessed with mushrooms and eat the entire thing of them all the time (cooked though-raw are not my jive.)

  10. lindsay says:

    I love that cookbook! Looks like you put it to use. Great recipe!

Thank you for commenting!

