Strange…

It was strange to wake up in half-darkness again this morning. It felt like I should have another hour’s sleep, but sadly not 😦

Stranger though, was the dream I woke up from. It went from my working at the yard where I used to teach riding and continued in a random town in the wake of some apocalyptic disaster, with me somehow acquiring a son along the way. Then the phone rang (apparently the disaster hadn’t affected mobile signal) and it was my dad, who said he was starting up a band with Cheryl Cole and Peter Andre and would I like to join.

Mental.

I banished all thoughts of my dad on stage with those two (wrong) and made my way, via the shower, into the kitchen for….

Another buckwheat bake.

I confess this wasn’t this morning’s, which I smothered in peanut butter and jam, because I was too greedy busy preparing to dive headfirst into the joy that is Monday mornings to take a picture 🙂

It was also made slightly differently, using this:

I’d run out of buckwheat flour, but saw Ashley recommends grinding your own. I can’t believe I bought a bag of flour when I had this! But, fitting perfectly with my using-things-up challenge, I ground it into this:

Amazing how grinding buckwheat turns it into apricot jam… 😉

I quite liked having ground the flour myself; I think it makes the home-madeness of it even more so. I also think the grammar of the previous sentence is, er… Yeah.

It was a strange day too, in that it was bright but chilly, unlike last week. But it was sunny and light long enough for me to get back from work late and cycle to the yard and back without troubling my bike lights.

I’ll take that over dark mornings, any day 🙂

What I’m not so sure about though is that dream…

What’s the weirdest dream you’ve had recently, or ever? Have you ever had that thing when you know it’s a dream but can’t wake up…?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Strange…

  1. I have really weird dreams. Once I was on holiday with a friend and was apparently making chewing noises in my sleep. She asked me what I wad eating and I declared “melon” … that’s how I know it’s my favourite food!
    Another time I was breathing funny, so my bf woke me up to check I was OK … I was dreaming I was scuba diving 🙂

  2. YOU MADE your own flour!!THATS awesome!

  3. Since I get NO sleep because of my lively daughter at 2 in the morning, I am so sleep deprived and have funny dreams all the time. It can be..interesting to say the least haha

  4. It was strange waking up when it was dark. Definitely didn’t make waking up for the gym any easier.

  5. That’s awesome that you made your own flour!! I am horrible at remembering my dreams!!

  6. I have some crazy dreams! Especially when I have a fever. Ugh, I hate when I’m having a scary dream and I can’t wake up!

  7. Ashley says:

    Love your dusty jam. 😉 Grinding fresh flour is so fun!!

  8. Maria says:

    Wow you made your own flour?? IMpressive.
    I have crazy dreams all the time- the other night I dreamt I was set on fire by some people. Not good. I wake up and then don’t want to go back to sleep in case the dream carries on!

  9. I have some buckwheat groats that I was going to try grinding, I just hope my little food processor can cope! Mental dream!

  10. Little Bookworm says:

    I know what you mean about the sleep thing! Amazing that you made your own flour as well. 🙂

  11. ~Jessica~ says:

    Unfortunately to get dreams one has to be able to sleep first! But when I DO sleep, they tend to be nightmares. My dreams are always bizarre though…the only ones I have ever had that have made sense have been related to running!

    xxx

  12. I totally grind my own buckwheat flour too! 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

