At the eleventh hour…

I really want some suitably doom-laden music to accompany the post title, but haven’t quite got the computer savvy to add it… 🙂

Anyway, it’s only cos the 11th hour is when I woke up today, oops!

But so needed – I love catching some Zs, especially when I haven’t had as much as I should all week. Technically, I aim to get to bed by 10pm, to get eight hours, but that never happens and I actually aim for 11pm but for the last couple of weeks have been missing that, usually by about half an hour. Six and a half hours’ sleep is NOT enough and then I’m knackered by Friday.

I found it quite funny though because I was reading through yesterday’s post before I put it up and found so many mistakes; missing words and whole sentences that just didn’t make sense, but I still didn’t spot that I’d written the clocks go back instead of forward tonight until Little Bookworm pointed it out! I think I’d better re-check everything I wrote at work on Friday very carefully when I get in on Monday… 🙂

But whatever time you emerge from the pit, it’s always breakfast time.

I wanted to investigate buckwheat’s magic filling power by seeing whether it worked in pancakes so I used this recipe, but with 10g buckwheat and 1tbsp milk added to the other ingredients. I had to take a picture of them in the pan because I was so proud of how they looked – I know that’s very, very sad 🙂

But I’m still quite proud of them… I topped them with last week’s ambrosia-like banana/coconut cream/coconut butter magic:

They were delicious but as far as scientific experimentation goes, this was a big FAIL.

As I had breakfast so late, it wasn’t that long till I had lunch. And although I wasn’t starving by then, it ain’t exactly a fair and balanced investigation…

Just means I’ll have to try it again *deep sigh*. The things I do for the advancement of mankind 🙂

I was supposed to be in the woods right at this minute, as my friend’s got her stepchildren and her sister’s dog so we were going to take them all for a picnic… but picnics in grey drizzle aren’t usually the best plan. So that idea was binned and I’m going round there in a bit, then out on the town tonight 🙂

I still feel tired though so I’m not going to be out till silly o’clock, especially as the clocks are going forward. This is why I really need to get to bed earlier next week, otherwise I spend the whole weekend catching up!

How much sleep do you need? Do you manage to get to bed when you say you’re going to?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to At the eleventh hour…

  1. oo i never get to bed when i want to! i usually need 8 hours.. i usually GET 7-8 hours!

  2. Maria says:

    I think I need around 8 hours- I am an early bird so typically wake up before the alarm/ by 8am at weekends. But I am terrible at going to bed on time- just one more job before I get ready….. Although this morning I was still asleep at 8.30 when the alarm went off so I must have been tired!

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Love the pancakes – I’ve taken a photo of them before because they looked great in the pan. You aren’t the only one. 😛

  4. I sleep for 8 hours no matter what time I go to sleep; it’s weird!

  5. Love the pancakes! 🙂 I usually get around 8 hours but it’s really hard for me to get to sleep and stay asleep. I love mornings but I can hardly get to sleep early enough the night before to make waking up an enjoyable experience.

  6. I need just about exactly 8 hours. Too little or too much and I’m dragging. Except in extreme cases where I get less than 3 and it’s as if I’ve had a full 8. Weird..

  7. I wake up early no matter what, so I try to go to bed at a reasonable time- it doesn’t always happen though 🙂

  8. I’m usually knackered by half 9, 10pm and get my 8 hours (wake up at 6am) for work and don’t feel too bad. I used to survive on 5 hours but the hours have increased as I’ve got older 😉

    I wake up 8am on a weekend no matter what!

    Pancakes look delish, I’m gonna have to make some today with some of my GF flours thrown in 😀 Also got me some squash yey!

    Buckwheat is lovely, I like toasted buckwheat crunchies, they’re really delish 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

