Cream crackered

I used to love Jacob’s cream crackers… when I was younger, I’d spread ’em with Dairylea and get through packets and packets of them (although never three dry in a minute – has anyone ever done that?!)

Sadly, they ain’t exactly gluten-free, although I might have to have a go at a GF version at some point…

But the post title actually refers to myself; I am knackered. 🙂

It’s been a looong week.

But it’s weird how much less I mind long days at work when it’s as gorgeous, sunny and springlike as it has been all week. Even when you’re in the office most of the day, seeing the sun coming through the windows, and little things like needing sunglasses rather than headlights on the way home, make mornings like this one:

Almost worth it.

Almost.

And I can’t wait till the clocks go back on Sunday 🙂

Edit: Thanks Little Bookworm; I wrote back – I meant forward! It’s been a very long week 🙂

On a food note, I’ve been going back to some tried and tested favourites:

I hadn’t had a bowl of standard porridge (with flax and banana) for ages and it was so good.

So good, I had another one this morning:

I pureed the last of my kabocha, added it to water and brought them both to the boil before I added the oats. It’s probably blasphemous to say but I wasn’t sorry it was the last of the kabocha; I’ve been roasting it and don’t think it’s a patch on butternut in that sense.

But that’s probably because it tastes sweeter because it was the daddy-o in this porridge.

Cooked with cinnamon and with banana and almond butter on the top, this was definitely one of those “I don’t want it to end – ever.” bowls. Now I just wish I’d saved the kabocha for this and bought butternut for roasting… 🙂

Dinner’s been the return of old favourites too.

This aubergine bake is so easy and delicious and I got into the habit of having it so much – it was like the default “I don’t know what to have” dinner. I just saute mushrooms and tomato with garlic then mix with wilted spinach, pesto and cheese and stick in the oven, covered with foil. I added some nutritional yeast this time too…

And again, I think it’s like the old saying, “absence makes the heart grow fonder” definitely applies. Having not had this for a week or two, I enjoyed it so much more than if I’d had it yesterday.

Maybe that’s the key to making anything taste better – just don’t have it for ages, although with things like veg, chocolate raisins, butternut, coconut…

Nah, ain’t worth the risk.

Plus, it’s not like I could really like any of the above any more than I do already…

Definitely post-ending time as I’m so cream crackered, even I can tell I’m rambling. But on the cream cracker theme, has anyone ever actually managed the three-in-a-minute challenge?! If so, I salute you 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cream crackered

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Love the sound of that aubergine bake! Though don’t the clocks go forward on Sunday?

  2. Ha ha, thanks for alerting me – hadn’t realised I’d written “back”! I said I was rambling, aka brain dead after a week 🙂
    Yes they do go forward!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    I did indeed attempt that challenge when I was about ten and failed miserably. I just choked and sprayed crumbs everywhere.

    Hope you have a suitably relaxing week-end and the spring weather and sunshine sticks around.

    I’m still hunting for Kabocha…I am afraid I have to disagree about its inferiority to Butternut, but perhaps that’s because I always have access to the latter whilst the former tends to elude me…so I appreciate it more 🙂

    xxxx

    • Ha ha, that’s what I did – it seems easy when you start!
      have you tried Asda for the kabocha? They still had it in the one near me this week… it’s weird how it comes and goes… and I did like it, just not in the savoury recipes; weird that they taste so different! But so true that you appreciate things more when you can’t have them as much 🙂

  4. I want to eat all your mushrooms. They look amazing! I have the weirdest addiction to mushrooms for real.

    • They were soooo good! Me too; I went to the farm shop last sunday and almost bought their whole stock! I’ve eaten them all though and am kind of embarrassed about going back for more tomorrow 🙂

  5. Ahh the cream cracker challenge! Me and an ex did it once, I won bwahaha. Men suck 😉

    I need to get in on this squash action, I’m craving me some!

  6. I’m do prefer kabocha over butternut for soups and dinners but I love butternut in smoothies and would love it in porridge! I roasted some and froze it yesterday for my next smoothie fix!

  7. Maria says:

    That aubergine bake looks lovely 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

